Author Topic: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7  (Read 4039 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jess221091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« on: June 07, 2013, 10:06:10 AM »
So i downloaded AVAST PRO nearly two weeks ago and i can't get it to open.
I have been talking to the tech team and they haven't been able to help me!
So far they have to me to:
Download avast! uninstall utility (aswclear.exe) located on this page:
http://files.avast.com/files/eng/aswclear.exe

and follow these instructions:

1. Download aswClear.exe on to your desktop
2. Start Windows in Safe Mode (http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/boot_failsafe.mspx?mfr=true) or disable self-defence module:
- Start avast! program
- Click on the right side on SETTINGS
- Choose "Troubleshooting" and untick option "Enable avast! self-defence module"

3. Open (execute) the uninstall utility
4. If you installed avast! in a different folder than the default, browse for it. (Note: Be careful! The content of any folder you choose will be deleted!)
5. Click REMOVE
6. Restart your computer

To install avast! Premier onto your computer, kindly follow these steps:

1) Download avast! Premier http://www.avast.com/download-thank-you.php?product=PRE&locale=en-ww
2) Save it onto your desktop
3) Doubleclick on the file downloaded (avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe)
4) Follow the instructions on the screen
5) Reboot your computer

That didn't work so then they asked me to:
- What Windows version are you using?
Windows 7

- What version of avast! is installed on your computer? You can find this information by right-clicking on the avast! icon in your system tray and then selecting the "About avast!..." dialog option.
avast! Premier

- How do you connect to Internet?
I especially need to know if you're using some firewall (and which one), and if you connected via dial-
up, LAN or ADSL etc.
We connect via wifi and no firewall

- What are your basic your system parameters? (processor type, amount of RAM...)
Processor Intel (R) Core (TM) i 5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz 2.30GHz
Ram 4 GB
System type 64 bit operating system

- Is there any other antivirus or firewall installed on your computer?
No

- Once we have all the information, we'll try to simulate your problem in our testing labs. We therefore need you to describe as accurately as you can what actions cause the problem to appear.

Then:

1) Download HiJackThis, (http://public.avast.com/~zrubecky/hijackthis.exe) save it onto your desktop

2) Run the HiJackThis program and select "Do a system scan and save log file"

3) Send me the created log file as an email attachment (by default it's located on your desktop and should be named hijackthis.log - it looks like a text file)

With this information and with the hijackthis.log file we can try to resolve your problem.

And then they emailed me today to:
Thank you for contacting AVAST Software company with your concerns.
Please try to:
-recognize your browser, whether it is firefox, or google chrome, or internet explorer...
-recognize the version of your browser....
-remember.... different browsers have different ways of finding the version...
-and than you need to clear the cache files and the recent browse history, and cookies...
-im just explaining this to you generally...
- just follow through the guide here at this link.
- it'll help. hope it works for you.
.

And nothing is working for me!
I got one of my friends to look at my computer for me and he removed all of the other antivirus stuff (as after doing the first thing i couldn't connect to the internet)
I will attach what the is coming up when he tried to open AVAST.

Can you please help and if not can i please get my money back! I got the 3 year pro AVAST.
Kind regards,
Jess

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 25928
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 12:02:13 PM »
Quote
- Is there any other antivirus or firewall installed on your computer?
what AV did you use before avast?
did you run the vendors removal tool after uninstall to make sure all conflicting files are gone?

tools found here.  http://singularlabs.com/uninstallers/security-software/
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Jess221091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2013, 12:09:56 PM »
I used McAfee before hand but all have been uninstalled.
And i just did the steps that i was told to do so i guess not?!
I really suck with technology!

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 25928
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2013, 12:13:41 PM »
run McAfee removal tool..(and for any other you may have used).....reboot and see if there is any change
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 632

Offline Jess221091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2013, 12:29:46 PM »
No change :(

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 25928
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2013, 12:55:12 PM »
OK, last try

see guide here  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0
scroll down to OTL ....follow instructions and attach the diagnostic log

i will notifie one of the removal experts, he will check your log when he arrive later today. maybe he can see a problem
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Jess221091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2013, 12:57:01 PM »
Thank you!
I am in another country so i will be going to bed soon so i wont be able to provide much more info tonight
But thanks for all your help :D

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 25928
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2013, 01:01:07 PM »
OK, essexboy is usually here after work hours european time....so check back tomorrow with the log   ;)
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Jess221091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2013, 01:08:41 PM »
Haha ok!
I just downloaded it and i can't open it either! I am not having any luck..
Is it because i have windows 7 or is my computer just crazy..

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 25928
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2013, 01:23:31 PM »
try run it from safe mode

essexboy is notified and will check when he arrive, he does have more tools if no success...

Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 35191
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2013, 01:37:52 PM »
Are you able to boot to safe mode ? 

If so then try   Farbar Recovery Scan Tool x64  or for 32bit system Farbar Recovery Scan Tool  

Run the tool and press the scan button
Attach the generated log on completion

Offline Jess221091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2013, 01:52:11 PM »
OK so is this what you need?

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 35191
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2013, 02:35:17 PM »
OK I reckon that you are unable to start any antivirus or antimalware programme at all...  Lets fix that

Download the attached fixlist.txt to the same location as FRST
Run FRST and press fix
A log will be generated on completion please post that.

Then run OTL

Offline Jess221091

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: I can't get AVAST PRO to open on Windows 7
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2013, 12:22:58 AM »
I have on OTL thing but it is telling me it is too big to load!