Author Topic: HELP - please  (Read 2900 times)

minnow71

HELP - please
« on: April 11, 2005, 05:54:38 AM »
Okay - I've had Avast for awhile and tried to figure this out on my own, but haven't gotten anywhere.

I have several programs that Avast seems to interfere with and/or recognize as a virus, but they are not.  Some of these programs are ones that are supposed to run all the time in the background on my computer.

When Avast recognizes these files/programs, there are only options for deleting or moving to the chest, etc.  I used to use McAfee and there was an option to 'ignore' that indicated that this was a program or file that I trusted and it would not alert me again.  I cannot seem to find an option for this, but I am not a programmer and perhaps am looking right at it and just not understanding what I am seeing.

Advice and direction would be immensely appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!
- Jo

neiby

Re: HELP - please
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2005, 06:47:25 AM »
A little more information would be helpful. What other programs are you talking about?

Offline szc

• Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2005, 02:02:03 PM »
Yes, without your system specifications, and brief list of what you run on your system, it's almost impossible to give any kind of answer. I run tens of "background" tasks and avast! never reported any of those applications as malicious. So, tell us what are those names, and send zipped examples to Vlk or someone from Alwil team.

Are you 100% sure those are not really infected onesd ?  ;) We can't be so sure always... That's why we have antivirus, to warn us when possible malicious code runs on penetrates our systems...
« Last Edit: April 11, 2005, 02:03:45 PM by S.Z.Craftec »