Author Topic: 300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?  (Read 9698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« on: September 22, 2003, 10:19:29 PM »
Hi,

I clicked prog-update on my avast 4.1.268 with VPS 0309-2
and it started a 300 KB download



and it changed avast.setup (detected by Kerio 2.1.5 on Win2000-SP4, all critical patches)

Afterwards, avast tells me:
- Programm already uptodate (as I knew it to be)

this happened quite some times now with 4.1.268

Why so ?

(Logged in admin-user, not "Administrator"; usual avast installation, no tweaks or so:

extension-list is scanned on open, write/create and prohibited formatting)

 ??? ???

Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2003, 01:42:12 AM »
Hi,

does it happen every time you try a program update?

I so, can you please send me:

setup.ini
setup.log
a directory listing of a directory (dir *.* >setup.lst)

All of this should be in avast4\setup directory.

Thanks,
Jindrich Kubec

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2003, 10:01:20 AM »
Hi kubecj,

PM

 :)

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 979
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2003, 01:48:34 AM »
i experienced this once...knowing my program and virus definitions are most updated.....i still tried to update again by right-clicking on the avast icon..."updating-program update"....surprising there's something to download...after downloading the 300k....the report shows that everything is already up to date....strange...

 ??? ???

but it only hapeens once...now everything is fine and normal
 ;D ;D
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2003, 02:02:38 AM »
Hi, I clicked prog-update on my avast 4.1.268 with VPS 0309-2
and it started a 300 KB download

I found nothing (4.1.268 VPS 0309-3)  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline drahnier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2003, 06:41:42 AM »
same thing happened here too on two systems. but it was a one-time incident.
_____________________
drahnier

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 979
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2003, 01:36:01 PM »
maybe vlk would like to comment on this?? 8)
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2003, 01:38:04 PM »
According to kubecj, it was a one-time incident and has now been fixed

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 979
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2003, 01:39:29 PM »
got it....awesome.. ;D
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2003, 01:45:50 PM »
maybe vlk would like to comment on this?? 8)
Thanks Vlk, we are not all crazy  :o
The best things in life are free.

Offline Amerk_5

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2003, 05:41:46 PM »
Just a small thing I noticed. It's not 300KB, it's 300 bytes.

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 979
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2003, 02:23:09 AM »
really?...but it doesn't matter anymore.. :)
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2003, 09:33:53 AM »
Hi Amerk, if you check my 1st post, you'll see that it was 300 KB = 300000 Bytes indeed

Hi Kubecj,

seems fixed; files are on their way 2u

 :)

Offline shgoh

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 979
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2003, 03:09:50 PM »
Just a small thing I noticed. It's not 300KB, it's 300 bytes.

  :o ;D :P
lIfE iS sAd...yOu NeVeR kNoW wHaT yOu GoNnA gEt... :'(

Offline Amerk_5

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re:300K-DL on prog-Update, although avast IS uptodate ?
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2003, 04:01:15 PM »
Hi Amerk, if you check my 1st post, you'll see that it was 300 KB = 300000 Bytes indeed

Hi Kubecj,

seems fixed; files are on their way 2u

 :)

My mistake. You're right  ::)