Author Topic: Bug: Notification says "New version available" (false)  (Read 4412 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline beerslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Making the world a little bit weirder...
Bug: Notification says "New version available" (false)
« on: September 22, 2003, 11:21:10 PM »
I'm pretty sure this is a bug, since I can't see why the program would be designed this way...

Running avast! 4 v4.1.268, in Settings: Update (basic), I click the "Details..." button, bringing up the iAVS update details dialog.  At the bottom, to the left of the Proxy... button, it says "New version available!".  But I've run through every update option I can find and I see no evidence of any update available anywhere.

The update dialog reports:

Quote
Information about current update:
Total time: 12 s

- Program: Already up to date
  (current version 4.1.268)
- Vps: Already up to date
  (current version 0309-2)

Server: www.asw.cz/iavs4x/part-setup_av_pro-10c.vpu.stamp (195.70.130.34:80)
Downloaded files: 7 (0.07 KB)
Download time: 5 s

Is there truly some update that could be performed at this time (and how do I get to it?), or is this iAVS dialog wrong?   ???

If you need more information, just ask.

TIA,

-- Jeff
-- aka The Beerslayer
There is nothing so dangerous as an idea when it is the only one you have. - Unknown

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re:Bug: Notification says "New version available" (false)
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2003, 06:39:46 PM »
yes it's ok
when a new program updater , a blue box will notice you
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline beerslayer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Making the world a little bit weirder...
Re:Bug: Notification says "New version available" (false)
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2003, 08:41:50 AM »
yes it's ok
when a new program updater , a blue box will notice you

So what you're saying is that my original observation above is correct and that this is, in fact, a bug.  This options window is telling me there's an update available when, in fact, there is none.

If so, it needs to be fixed, since it is definitely misleading.

-- Jeff
-- aka The Beerslayer
« Last Edit: September 24, 2003, 08:42:56 AM by beerslayer »
There is nothing so dangerous as an idea when it is the only one you have. - Unknown

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re:Bug: Notification says "New version available" (false)
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2003, 12:27:10 PM »
i want to say this is the same to me
and i will be fix soon!
 ;D
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Bug: Notification says "New version available" (false)
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2003, 12:32:27 PM »
You bet it's a bug if you have this line there! :)
If you still have that line there, please send me the file <avast>\setup\setup.ini (via email).

Thanks,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re:Bug: Notification says "New version available" (false)
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2003, 01:50:39 PM »
sorry vlk
i had this line in the last version!
now is perfect!
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK