Author Topic: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all  (Read 12254 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« on: June 27, 2013, 11:23:17 PM »
I typically install Avast on any computer that I do repairs on and I've never had any issues with it whatsoever. I use it on my own system (Purchase version) but the free version works great for every other system I've encountered. Recently I started to work on my brother-in-law's system for him to try and fix it. After finally getting it to a point where it would run programs again I ran a malwarebytes scan. It came up with 822 infected objects (I am not even joking.) And I removed them. Now here's the problem:

I installed Avast perfectly, no issues whatsoever.
When I click on the icon, even when running it as admin nothing happens. Nada. No error message or loading symbol at all. The process isn't running and I cannot even do a manual start through the services menu. I tried completely uninstalling it with the utility in safe mode then reinstalling but it still didn't work.

Any suggestions or help would be welcome, I'm about at my wits end here. I've done everything else but I refuse to give the computer back to him without having it scanned by Avast and able to use it easily.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2013, 01:05:44 AM by Namea »

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37027
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2013, 11:47:35 PM »
Quote
It came up with 822 infected objects (I am not even joking.) And I removed them.
maybe the computer is still not clean....

see the guide at top in virus and worms forum section "logs to assist in cleaning malware"
attach the requested logs and a removal expert will help you

AdwCleaner / Malwarebytes / OTL / aswMBR


Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2013, 12:08:19 AM »
What were the infections that were found ?

Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2013, 12:24:42 AM »
Mostly basic toolbar adware and registry changing stuff. I double checked to see and I haven't noticed any lingering effects but I'll double check with the guide posted above and get back to you guys.

Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2013, 12:48:49 AM »
Attached three of the four still waiting on OTL to finish.

Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2013, 01:05:58 AM »
All attached.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37027
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2013, 01:13:35 AM »
hmm....i was about to ask where.... when i see you have edited and attached to first post....

anyway, guess essexboy is in bed now so check back late tomorrow.   ;)


Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2013, 02:11:02 PM »
Hi if you edit your post I will not receive a notification for it..

OK Avast has been targeted using the IFEO debug check, on completion of this run let me know if Avast starts properly

Warning This fix is only relevant for this system and no other, using on another computer may cause problems

Be advised that when the fix commences it will shut down all running processes and you may lose the desktop and icons, they will return on reboot

Run OTL
  • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following


Code: [Select]
:Commands
[CREATERESTOREPOINT]

:OTL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1036AD63-AEAC-460B-9060-C96005D4DC86} - No CLSID value found.
O3:64bit: - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - !{318A227B-5E9F-45bd-8999-7F8F10CA4CF5} - No CLSID value found.
O3:64bit: - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - !{95B7759C-8C7F-4BF1-B163-73684A933233} - No CLSID value found.
O3:64bit: - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - Locked - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - !{318A227B-5E9F-45bd-8999-7F8F10CA4CF5} - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - !{95B7759C-8C7F-4BF1-B163-73684A933233} - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - Locked - No CLSID value found.
O4 - HKLM..\Run: [ROC_roc_ssl_v12] "C:\Program Files (x86)\AVG Secure Search\ROC_roc_ssl_v12.exe" / /PROMPT /CMPID=roc_ssl_v12 File not found
O27:64bit: - HKLM IFEO\avastSvc.exe: Debugger - C:\Windows\SysNative\svchost.exe (Microsoft Corporation)
O27:64bit: - HKLM IFEO\avastUI.exe: Debugger - C:\Windows\SysNative\svchost.exe (Microsoft Corporation)
O27 - HKLM IFEO\avastSvc.exe: Debugger - C:\Windows\SysWow64\svchost.exe (Microsoft Corporation)
O27 - HKLM IFEO\avastUI.exe: Debugger - C:\Windows\SysWow64\svchost.exe (Microsoft Corporation)
O33 - MountPoints2\{9e4541d0-d07a-11de-a3ba-806e6f6e6963}\Shell - "" = AutoRun
O33 - MountPoints2\{9e4541d0-d07a-11de-a3ba-806e6f6e6963}\Shell\AutoRun\command - "" = D:\install.EXE id= ver=1.0.0.0

:Commands
[resethosts]
[emptytemp]
[Reboot]
  • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
  • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
  • Open OTL again and click the Quick Scan button. Post the log it produces in your next reply.

Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2013, 07:52:55 PM »
Here's the new OTL report after running that fix.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2013, 07:59:50 PM »
Are you able to start Avast now ?


Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2013, 08:04:34 PM »
Nope. Here's the newest OTL Log, that one was the report after the fix ran.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2013, 08:56:16 PM »
OK the IFEO's are still there, lets try a stronger tool 

Download and Install Combofix
 
Download ComboFix from one of the following locations:
Link 1
Link 2
 
VERY IMPORTANT !!! Save ComboFix.exe to your Desktop
 
* IMPORTANT - Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools. If you have difficulty properly disabling your protective programs, refer to this link here
  • Double click on ComboFix.exe & follow the prompts.
  • Accept the disclaimer and allow to update if it asks




  • When finished, it shall produce a log for you.
  • Please include the C:\ComboFix.txt in your next reply.[/b]
Notes:
1. Do not mouse-click Combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.
2. Do not "re-run" Combofix. If you have a problem, reply back for further instructions.

3.  If after the reboot you get errors about programmes being marked for deletion then reboot, that will cure it.


Please make sure you include the combo fix log in your next reply as well as describe how your computer is running now

Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2013, 10:53:42 PM »
It's still running fine although explorer.exe and related processes seem to have slowed immensely. Also I suddenly can't connect to the internet on that computer. I had to put the log onto a thumbdrive to get it here. It seems that the laptop can no longer detect proxy settings. Anyway, here's the log from the last program, still no avast though.

Also new Malwarebytes log. It was at 0 threats last night but 3 as of today.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2013, 10:56:51 PM by Namea »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2013, 11:45:46 PM »
OK lets now kill those IFEO's they are resilient. What error are you getting when you try to connect ?

1. Close any open browsers.
 
2. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix. 
 
3. Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:
 
Quote

Registry::
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\wow6432node\microsoft\windows nt\currentversion\image file execution options\avastSvc.exe]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\wow6432node\microsoft\windows nt\currentversion\image file execution options\avastUI.exe]
 

 
Save this as CFScript.txt, in the same location as ComboFix.exe
 
 
 
 
Refering to the picture above, drag CFScript into ComboFix.exe
 
When finished, it will produce a log for you at C:\ComboFix.txt which I will require in your next reply.

Offline Namea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Here's a puzzle for you - Avast won't run at all
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2013, 12:32:05 AM »
Just that it won't detect the networks proxy settings. Here's the new log.