Author Topic: Asked to update latest Java  (Read 8451 times)

ycc

Asked to update latest Java
« on: June 28, 2013, 12:40:41 PM »
Hi,

I really like Avast for my PC it has helped me many times.
I just have a short question.
I run the latest Java v. 7, verified to need no updates on Oracle home page.
But Avast believes that I run v. 6 (not the latest subversion, it asks me to update to latest v.6 subversion). So it tells me that my system needs a "critical update".
I am no expert on this, but I think there is an error sending me this message, so I turned it off. Maybe Avast needs a small fix?

Thanks for a good av program.

ycc
« Last Edit: June 28, 2013, 12:52:13 PM by ycc »

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
Re: Asked to update latest Java
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 01:22:57 PM »
take a look in ad/remove programs.... is there a old java listed there?
if so, remove it and reboot

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2013, 01:29:57 PM »
If avast says that you have version 6 of JAVA, it is still installed (or may have remnants) or it wouldn't find references that you have java V6, having the latest JAVA 7 may not remove old versions.

Personally if you don't absolutely need JAVA and if you don't know if you do, then it is most likely that you don't. It isn't an essential application, it isn't part of the operating system and it is a big target for malware. So if you don't have an application that uses JAVA or visit websites that use JAVA (not JavaScript), then I would uninstall versions using the windows add remove programs/programs and features.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

ycc

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2013, 02:15:07 PM »
Thanks for detailed replies, I appreciate.