Author Topic: Java Question  (Read 9164 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86551
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Java Question
« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2013, 01:07:08 AM »
As I never installed Java that I know of can I just assume it was there from the get go.(don't know if it matters but i have windows 7) Can someone tell me the biggest reason Java is used for. It sounds like i don't even need it.

No JAVA isn't part of the OS, someone had to have installed it. I don't believe it would come pre-installed on a new notebook, etc. as it is non-essential.

Some programs are JAVA based and require it, some websites use JAVA (not to be confused with JavaScript). So unless you have a program/s that require it or visit a website that requires it and you absolutely have to use them. Then JAVA isn't required and can be uninstalled.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

fire

  • Guest
Re: Java Question
« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2013, 06:04:27 PM »
If I uncheck the "enable java content in the browser" which is in the security tab of the java control panel,,,,would that surfice until I find out I don't need java for anything I use?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11156
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Java Question
« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2013, 06:17:40 PM »
If I uncheck the "enable java content in the browser" which is in the security tab of the java control panel,,,,would that surfice until I find out I don't need java for anything I use?
It's a start :) its quite likely that if you don't know why its on the system or why you need it then it's is highly probable that you don't need it.

As you said you can disable Java content from the browser so test that for a few days and if there is no problems the next step is deleting Java all together and if you find out it is needed then it is a pretty simple process to re-install it :)

fire

  • Guest
Re: Java Question
« Reply #18 on: July 13, 2013, 06:28:00 PM »
Craig thats what I plan on doing for a few days,,check most of my usual sites. Thanks for the reply.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11156
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Java Question
« Reply #19 on: July 13, 2013, 06:31:25 PM »
No problem, with any luck you'll be Java free in a few days and a lot safer on the net :)

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Java Question
« Reply #20 on: July 13, 2013, 08:32:09 PM »
Be sure to disable Java in the browsers for both 32 and 64 bit using the correct Java Control Panel.  http://www.java.com/en/download/help/disable_browser.xml.  Since I only have one Java icon in Windows Control Panel, I navigated to the appropriate file as indicated in the above link.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40605
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Java Question
« Reply #21 on: July 13, 2013, 08:50:28 PM »

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Java Question
« Reply #22 on: July 13, 2013, 09:00:11 PM »
Or use this for IE http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2751647

Am I correct in that this IE fix is not needed if Java is disabled in the browsers using the Java Control Panel?  I haven't opted to apply the fix-it yet.  Is it still necessary to apply this fix-it?
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40605
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Java Question
« Reply #23 on: July 14, 2013, 12:08:30 AM »
There is still a javascript element in IE even if Java is not installed

Quote
Java is a unique form of extensibility because it can be invoked in the following two ways:
•By using an applet element
•By using an object element that has a CLSID of a Java virtual machine (JVM)
These two invocation methods are subject to different security controls. This Knowledge Base Article contains a Fix it solution to disable the Java web plug-in from being loaded through these controls. The Fix it solution will also disable the Java Network Launching Protocol (JNLP) handler.

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Java Question
« Reply #24 on: July 14, 2013, 04:50:47 AM »
There is still a javascript element in IE even if Java is not installed

Quote
Java is a unique form of extensibility because it can be invoked in the following two ways:
•By using an applet element
•By using an object element that has a CLSID of a Java virtual machine (JVM)
These two invocation methods are subject to different security controls. This Knowledge Base Article contains a Fix it solution to disable the Java web plug-in from being loaded through these controls. The Fix it solution will also disable the Java Network Launching Protocol (JNLP) handler.

There is a JavaScript element in all browsers.  The bigger question is whether Java can be exploited even when it is disabled in all browsers via the Java Control Panel.  Can ActiveX enable Java in IE somehow?  Can an applet element somehow call a Java function?  I realize that IE is closely integrated in the Windows OS.  That's why I don't use it for my normal browser.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

fire

  • Guest
Re: Java Question
« Reply #25 on: July 15, 2013, 08:39:29 PM »
I have one last question. If I uninstall java and I happen upon a site that requires java will I be prompted to install it, or will the site just not load.

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Java Question
« Reply #26 on: July 15, 2013, 10:52:26 PM »
There usually is a notice about a missing plug-in.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

fire

  • Guest
Re: Java Question
« Reply #27 on: July 16, 2013, 07:42:43 PM »
Well I uninstalled Java and when I tried to load the forums to let you know it said I needed java to continue,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,only kidding,,now Java free,,have to see if anything else I use requires it but so far all seems OK. Thanks for everyones help

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11156
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Java Question
« Reply #28 on: July 16, 2013, 08:52:53 PM »
Good to see fire, welcome to the Java free club :)