Author Topic: Buildahome  (Read 25807 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #30 on: July 21, 2013, 12:52:29 PM »
OK lets test the hard drive

Perform a Hard Drive test
To perform the Hard Drive Test in the System Diagnostics (F2) environment, do the following steps:

Turn on the computer and immediately press the esc key to display the Startup Menu.
Press the System Diagnostics (F2) key, and then select the Hard Drive Test option.
Allow the Hard Drive Test to complete.
Test may take thirty to sixty minutes or more to complete depending on the size of the drive and the extent of the problems.

Outcomes of the Hard Drive test
When the Hard Drive disk test is complete, a message is displayed to indicate what actions have been taken.
Please make a note of that and post here please

If it is good we will then do a clean boot to check out the drivers

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #31 on: July 21, 2013, 01:16:11 PM »
15 mins so far on 'initialising system diagnostics' page, not yet got to Hard Drive test option  :-\

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #32 on: July 21, 2013, 01:20:46 PM »
Definitely something amiss here, I think a clean boot will be the next option.  You can either hang on or stop and then move to clean boot ..Your choice although I feel the hard drive may be the problem

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #33 on: July 21, 2013, 01:24:10 PM »
still no change, whats the risk with clean boot (I know I don't want to hear this really ..)

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #34 on: July 21, 2013, 01:33:20 PM »
None at all, basically we will stop all services and drivers bar the ones required to run windows.  If that improves the performance we will then try to determine which driver/service is causing the problem

 Next we will check for driver conflicts

Step 1: Start MSConfig

Click Start, type msconfig in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER.
If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a confirmation, type the password, or provide confirmation.

Step 2: Configure Selective Startup options

1.In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click Selective Startup on the General tab.



2.Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box.
Note The Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.

3.Click the Services tab.



4.Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
5.Click Disable All, and then click OK.
6. When you are prompted, click Restart.

Once back in windows does the problem still occur ?

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #35 on: July 21, 2013, 02:36:38 PM »
Its certainly waking up faster! However, the screen has gone darker and there's no internet connection. Drunk mouse is also sober, no delay.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #36 on: July 21, 2013, 02:39:07 PM »
OK run msconfig again and enable half of the services and reboot
Is it the same or slower

We need to run a process of elimination to determine the one causing the slowdown/hanging

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #37 on: July 21, 2013, 02:43:45 PM »
ok so far, but still darker screen and no internet
 can I just check, on the general tab I should have only the selective start up checked, no others - your instructions conflict with the screen shot
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 02:47:34 PM by Redberry »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #38 on: July 21, 2013, 02:52:53 PM »
That is correct the screenshot is before I did changes

How many services are left to re-enable and what are they ?

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #39 on: July 21, 2013, 02:58:22 PM »
sorry to be stupid but should the load system services be ticked

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #40 on: July 21, 2013, 03:03:56 PM »
intel(R) Rapid Storage Technology
Kodak AIO Network Discovery
Lightscribe service
Intel R Management and security
cyberlink rich video service
Skype updater
tabletservicepen
intel r management and security
vtoolbarupdater 15.2.0
WTouch service

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #41 on: July 21, 2013, 03:12:24 PM »
I think it might be the cyberlink Rich Video Service Unknown publisher, I have enabled all other services except that one, and so far so good, but could it be the start up items? (listen to me! like I have a clue!!)

Just trying the system diagnostics now but that still wont load
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 03:17:19 PM by Redberry »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #42 on: July 21, 2013, 03:43:37 PM »
So without the cyberlink programme everything is running properly now ?

Do you use the cyberlink programme ? (video editing suite)

Disable the vtoolbar updater as you do not need that one :)

What we will do is use windows to do a check disc.  Could you follow the instructions here  http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/67612-check-disk-chkdsk.html  use method 1

Redberry

  • Guest
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #43 on: July 21, 2013, 03:58:38 PM »
well, I went back  to msconfig and enabled start up items too, have restarted, but still dark screen and no volume or internet, should I continue with your suggestion like this or return to no start up items? Or even ms config - normal start up?

Have done the checkdisk, it ran at restart but don't know where report went?  System seems ok except darker screen, no volume and still no connection
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 04:23:03 PM by Redberry »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Buildahome
« Reply #44 on: July 21, 2013, 04:30:50 PM »
Run Msconfig again and tick normal startup, but deselect the Rich Video Service