Author Topic: Avast Problem  (Read 14809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44915
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #30 on: August 04, 2013, 10:32:17 PM »
okey but how do i fix these things with slow loading/not loading?
Hopefully you have an image backup available that was created before you allowed Advanced System Care
"fixed" your computer and can restore it to that state.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #31 on: August 04, 2013, 10:34:52 PM »
Hi could you explain clearly exactly what problems you are experiencing

Please try not to use slang terms or text speak as I am a silly old duffer :)

Download OTL  to your Desktop
Secondary link
  • Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.


  • Select All Users
  • Under the Custom Scan box paste this in
netsvcs
BASESERVICES
%SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.exe
/md5start
services.*
explorer.exe
winlogon.exe
Userinit.exe
svchost.exe
/md5stop
c:\program files (x86)\Google\Desktop /s
c:\program files\Google\Desktop /sdir "%systemdrive%\*" /S /A:L /C
CREATERESTOREPOINT


  • Click the Run Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
    • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows. OTL.Txt and Extras.Txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
    • Post  both logs

Offline 782458

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #32 on: August 05, 2013, 03:30:36 PM »
Here take a look there are 2 logs in same pastebin post

http://pastebin.com/NdY8xaaJ


oh and btw just to comment this

Quote
[ Application Events ]
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.
OTL encountered an error while reading this event log. It may be corrupt.

it's because i don't have windows event log service on,i disabled it because it makes some of my games lagg.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 03:32:17 PM by 782458 »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #33 on: August 05, 2013, 07:46:20 PM »
You have MSES on at the moment running.  When you try to install Avast what errors do you get ?

I see that you have not yet installed SP1 and are still running IE8 I would recommend upgrading both to enhance your security

Offline 782458

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #34 on: August 05, 2013, 09:01:52 PM »
You have MSES on at the moment running.  When you try to install Avast what errors do you get ?

I see that you have not yet installed SP1 and are still running IE8 I would recommend upgrading both to enhance your security

actually,I Never had any errors when i installed avast
and i'll re install it right now.(hopefully it will give me same license that i had before uninstallation without using 3rd computer in the license)

oh and yeah few months ago when i installed windows update SP1 my computer was laggy as hell and i had to re install windows to fix that so i'm afraid to download that update.More like instead of afraid it would be "not sure".

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #35 on: August 05, 2013, 09:22:53 PM »
Prior to updating to SP1 it may be worth running the system update readiness tool http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=20858
This will ensure that the system is OK prior to installation

Offline 782458

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #36 on: August 05, 2013, 09:27:57 PM »
okey.I'm downloading that
and i installed and putted inside my license.
so it used 2nd computer in license now?because i uninstalled it once(yesterday) and one computer was not used

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #37 on: August 05, 2013, 09:30:07 PM »
Yes it is only active installations that count on the licence

Offline 782458

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #38 on: August 05, 2013, 09:41:18 PM »
now it says this

Quote
Initializing installation... done!
Installing Hotfix for Windows (KB947821) (update 1 of 1)...

and the loading bar is almost at the end but it doesn't move at all for now.I'll edit this post when it's done.

EDIT:

It installed successfully now i go to reboot computer because i need to reboot it to install avast completely
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 09:47:48 PM by 782458 »

Offline 782458

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #39 on: August 05, 2013, 09:53:37 PM »
now my computer is a lot SLOWER because of the UPDATE
what can i do now to fix that lagg and slow loading/boot ?

also to comment avast core version is  130805-0
and program version is 8.0.1489

and for some reason i don't see avast icon,it looks like this

« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 09:57:46 PM by 782458 »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #40 on: August 05, 2013, 11:31:27 PM »
For the lag clear all the temporary files and defrag the hard drive, there is also the possibility that "fixing" the registry with Iobit may have damaged the system


Offline 782458

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #41 on: August 06, 2013, 02:25:56 PM »
it went 4 hours already now it's at pass 10 consolidated 3%

it's done i'm going to reboot the computer.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 02:37:57 PM by 782458 »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #42 on: August 06, 2013, 02:38:28 PM »
That means it was severely fragmented, even at the worst mine only hit 5 passes

Offline 782458

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #43 on: August 06, 2013, 02:42:41 PM »
ok but my computer is still slow and the updates made it slow...
what should i do now?

and i can see service pack 1 is available to download in updates too
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 02:49:37 PM by 782458 »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast Problem
« Reply #44 on: August 06, 2013, 03:27:58 PM »
You have Iobit and torrent starting with the system , these take up resources during the startup phase also I should imagine that torrent is searching for files/updates on start as well.  I would recommend disabling both from the start up

Once everything is installed  then run the windows boot speed manager

Download the SDK web installer from here
Run the installer and select the following:

Leave the location to default


Windows Performance Toolkit 


You must reboot on completion of the install

After reboot set aside about 30 minutes when you will not need the computer

When ready start an elevated command prompt :

Go Start > All Programs > Accessories
Right click Command Prompt and select Run as Administrator

Then copy and paste the following command into the black box :

xbootmgr -trace boot -prepSystem -verboseReadyBoot



Now your PC will be restarted 6 times. With a two minute pause before the tool runs after the desktop loads
After the second reboot the MS defragmentation program is running and is placing the files into an optimized layout, so that Windows will boot up faster
The last Reboots are training of readyBoot. After the training is finished, you'll notice a huge improvement in startup.

Readyboot

Quote
The logical prefetching described above is used when the system has less than 512MB of memory. If the system has 700MB or more then an in-RAM cache is used to further optimize the boot process (it’s not clear from the book whether or not this ReadyBoot cache completely replaces the logical prefetching approach or just builds on it, my assumption is that both work together).
After each boot the system generates a boot caching plan for the next boot using file trace information from up to the five previous boots which contains details of which files were accessed and where on the disk they were located. These traces are stored as .fx files in the