Author Topic: System Will Not Standby  (Read 9339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rwaterhouse

  • Guest
System Will Not Standby
« on: September 27, 2003, 07:13:00 AM »
Hi;

I have a Dell Latitude CPI PII300 with Windows 2000 and avast 4. Unless I stop the avast On-Access Protection this system will not go into standby when the Power Management Timer expires. All BIOS, patches, SP's etc are all up to date. Manual standby works fine so this suggests that avast is doing something in the background which keeps reseting the timer.

Looking for suggestions as to where to go next....

Cheers
Roger

techie101

  • Guest
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2003, 08:51:07 AM »
rw,

By its' very nature, the On Access Protection will monitor system activity and check anyprogram or file that the system attempts to use including your power monitor.

Once Avast starts to check the file/s that are being accessed, your system senses that an application is running and will not go into standby.

I do not know of anyway around this other than to shut Avast OAP down first ......unless one of the senior Avast Team members has other comments.

Good luck
 :D

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2003, 01:36:37 PM »
Roger I'd very much like to help you but I'd need to do some examination of what exactly is causing the problem.

You're saying
Quote
Unless I stop the avast On-Access Protection...

and my question is how do you stop it? And what happens if you only stop part of it? The goal is to find the components that's causing the problem.

The on-access scanner, the VRDB generator, the auto-updater, the GUI synchro-timer -- all and any of them can be guilty here... You see, avast has a number of background components and it's quite natural for them to do some work, from time to time ;)... God knows what exactly is messing up the power management timer...

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

rwaterhouse

  • Guest
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2003, 03:36:20 PM »
Hey;

Thanks for the quick replies!

Roger I'd very much like to help you but I'd need to do some examination of what exactly is causing the problem.

You're saying
Quote
Unless I stop the avast On-Access Protection...

and my question is how do you stop it? And what happens if you only stop part of it? The goal is to find the components that's causing the problem.

All I am doing is clicking on  the icon in the system tray and choosing "Stop On-Access Protection and Exit". How do I shut down part of it?

BTW, this is the Home (free) version.

Cheers
Roger

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2003, 03:37:56 PM »
Hmmm, strange...
I´m in a XP system and it goes to Standby naturally without any crash or turning off avast! modules...  ::)
I have no troubles with it...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2003, 04:38:39 PM »
Quote
All I am doing is clicking on  the icon in the system tray and choosing "Stop On-Access Protection and Exit".


Oh, this is good to know. It means that the auto-updater, the VRDB generator, the Virus Chest server etc. are innocent because these do not actually get shut down when you do this...

So it's probably the resident shield itself. Can you please confirm or deny this? Instead of selecting "Stop On-Access Protection and Exit", use "Stop Provider", select "Standard Shield" and see if the problem persists...

Thanks for your co-op,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

rwaterhouse

  • Guest
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2003, 02:26:16 PM »

So it's probably the resident shield itself. Can you please confirm or deny this? Instead of selecting "Stop On-Access Protection and Exit", use "Stop Provider", select "Standard Shield" and see if the problem persists...

Thanks for your co-op,
Vlk

Hi;

The problem persists if either the "Standard Shield" or "Internet Mail" providers are running (I didn't test the others as they are not needed).

Cheers
Roger

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2003, 06:21:48 PM »
I'm not sure I understand your implication correctly. What you said is

Standard Shield running (+ nothing else) ==> we got a problem
Internet Mail running (+ nothing else) ==> we got a problem

Is this what you meant?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

rwaterhouse

  • Guest
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2003, 06:48:38 PM »
I'm not sure I understand your implication correctly. What you said is

Standard Shield running (+ nothing else) ==> we got a problem
Internet Mail running (+ nothing else) ==> we got a problem

Is this what you meant?

That is exactly what I meant....

Roger

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2003, 06:55:00 PM »
OK, is the following implication valid as well?

No provider running ==> we got a problem

??

Thanks
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2003, 03:01:54 AM »
Just a guess... I don´t know if there is anything related with your trouble but I had a similar synthom some time ago and it was related with the updater trying to connect the Internet...

How do you connect to the Internet? Do you have a dial-up or you´re permanently connected?
What is defined into your avast4.ini file for the [InetWD] section?
Something like this?

UpdatePeriod=60
UseRAS=0
AssumeAlwaysConnected=0
« Last Edit: October 02, 2003, 03:03:44 AM by Technical »
The best things in life are free.

rwaterhouse

  • Guest
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2003, 07:18:44 AM »
OK, is the following implication valid as well?

No provider running ==> we got a problem

Hmmm, I don't seem to be able to reproduce the problem at this point. No matter what I do, it will not go on standby.

I'll get back on here if I can pin it down.

Roger

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:System Will Not Standby
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2003, 02:08:08 PM »
Hmmm, I don't seem to be able to reproduce the problem at this point. No matter what I do, it will not go on standby.
I'll get back on here if I can pin it down.
Roger

Good luck, we´ll be here to help and learn with this trouble...  ;D
The best things in life are free.