Author Topic: Resident Protection - how to stay on?  (Read 8511 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

safenut

  • Guest
Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« on: May 01, 2005, 03:13:40 AM »
I'm newly installed 4.6. Use WindowsXP.
How do I know if the Resident Protection is on? When I access the "Simple User Interface" it shows it's off. If I set it to "standard" or "high" is it now running?
How do I have it run automatically?
In the services in WinXP control center, only the iAVS4 Control Serice is running.
The other three are not running:
Anitivus
Mail Scanning
Web Scanner.
When I try to turn them on I get "Error 1068 - dependency service or group failed to start"
All four services are set to start automatically.

Any help appreciatied.

kalpik

  • Guest
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2005, 04:55:55 AM »
The resident protection should start automatically. Try left clicking on the avast icon in the taskbar once. There you should see the status of resident protection. Click on details. Now you should see all the different providers. Here start all the providers if they are not running already. Avast should ask you weather you want to persist the changes, click yes there. That should do the trick. If this does not work, try a repair from add/remove programs. Otherwise do a uninstall then re-install.

Welocme to Avast forums!

Kalpik

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2005, 04:57:04 AM »
How do I know if the Resident Protection is on?
Do you have a blue 'a' icon in the system tray without a red cross in it?

When I access the "Simple User Interface" it shows it's off.
Where? Can you post a screenshot?
Which provider is off?

If I set it to "standard" or "high" is it now running?
Maybe... Depends on what do you answered in the first question.
Do you have a process called ashServ.exe running? (click ctrl+alt+del to see).

How do I have it run automatically?
If you don't mess your installation, running automatically is the default.
You will see some avast! services running automatically on Windows XP start.

The other three are not running:
Antivirus
Mail Scanning
Web Scanner
Did you boot after the installation? Do you have (or had in the past) any other antivirus in this machine?

All four services are set to start automatically.
Strange, Mail service should be configurated to 'manual' start... Did you change it?
The best things in life are free.

safenut

  • Guest
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2005, 05:49:20 PM »
Re-installed. Re-booted.
The "!avast On Access Scanner" icon has the red circle with slash.
If I left-click I get message "AAVM Subsystem detected a rpc error."
That is the message I followed to do the re-install.


Services are:
Remote Procedure Call (RPC} -I have changed to automatic and runnning
avast! Antivirus - not running - automatic
iAVS4 Control Service - running - automatic
Mail Scanner - not running - manual
Web Scanner - not running  - manual


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2005, 12:58:48 AM »
The "!avast On Access Scanner" icon has the red circle with slash.
Do you have any other antivirus in your system?
Do you have a startup monitor (ad-watch, prevx, processguard, teatimer, etc.)?

If I left-click I get message "AAVM Services are:
Remote Procedure Call (RPC} -I have changed to automatic and runnning
Man, RPC is Windows... I mean, without it you won't even logon... It must be automatic ever and for ever... which changed it?
The best things in life are free.

safenut

  • Guest
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2005, 02:39:06 AM »
Thanks for the replies so far - I'm still trying.
In Services > avast! Antivirus (which I cannot start - get the 1068  message) one of dependents is "avast! Standard shield support". I don't find this anywhere. Can you tell me where to locate it?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2005, 03:02:45 AM »
Thanks for the replies so far - I'm still trying.
In Services > avast! Antivirus (which I cannot start - get the 1068  message) one of dependents is "avast! Standard shield support". I don't find this anywhere. Can you tell me where to locate it?
Look, your avast! installation seems to be corrupted. You're trying to solve the problem and not the cause of it.
Do you use another antivirus, any startup control program (prevx, teatimer, adwatch, etc.)?
Do you try uninstall / boot / install again / boot?
The best things in life are free.

safenut

  • Guest
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2005, 05:14:08 PM »
I use Spybot, Zoltctl, and the firewall comes with WinXP.
Was using Antivir until there was problems doing the update, needed to reinstall each time instead. It was deleted before having any problem here.
I deleted avast yesterday, downloaded again, re-booted, still have the problem.
 Standard Shield Support seems to be a requirement to start avast! Antivirus.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2005, 07:28:43 PM »
Standard Shield Support seems to be a requirement to start avast! Antivirus.

Well, it should be installed but could be disabled (not running).
What did you do? Did you install it and disable it or just did not install it?
The best things in life are free.

safenut

  • Guest
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2005, 08:29:13 PM »
only these four have ever appeared  in the Services anytime I have done the Avast install. Each time I the only selection was to take the recommended install.

avast! Antivirus - not running - automatic
iAVS4 Control Service - running - automatic
Mail Scanner - not running - manual
Web Scanner - not running  - manual

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2005, 08:39:34 PM »
Safenut, definetively your avast is not running  :'( :'(

Maybe the better will be:
1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot
3. Use Avast Uninstall for complete desinstallation.
4. Boot
5. Install again by this command on the folder you've donwload and save the install file: setupeng.exe /forceinstall
    Where setupeng.exe is the name of the executable
The best things in life are free.

safenut

  • Guest
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2005, 09:27:58 PM »
Removed avast as instructed.
Initiated the install from "Run". By appending /forceinstall following ".exe", either with or witout a space, windows could not find the file.
I took off /forceinstall, ran the install from there, with the same problem results.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2005, 09:32:48 PM »
You should run:
"setupeng.exe" /forceinstall
or, maybe,
"setupeng.exe /forceinstall"
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86650
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2005, 09:37:23 PM »
Removed avast as instructed.
Initiated the install from "Run". By appending /forceinstall following ".exe", either with or witout a space, windows could not find the file.
I took off /forceinstall, ran the install from there, with the same problem results.

Did you give the full path to the setupeng.exe /forceinstall file or did you enter just that?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

safenut

  • Guest
Re: Resident Protection - how to stay on?
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2005, 11:45:42 PM »
I ran the full path. I know this because after trying / forceinstall
/forceinstall \forceinstall and \ forceinstall
I took off the forceinstall and completed  the re-install (with same results).