Author Topic: very big problem!  (Read 5161 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FIVE_one

  • Guest
very big problem!
« on: May 08, 2005, 03:09:30 PM »
Hi all

I'm using Avast! for 4 months and I have a real problem now :
when i want to launch avast! by right click on the tray icon and shortcuts, it show me some errors message :
(in french, because i'm french)"Un espace de stockage n'a pu être crée pour la tache "Splash" "
In english : "Stocking space can't be created for "Splash" task"

What is the problem???
ANd when I want to launch a quick scan by right click on a file, the same problem comes....
Can you help me please bacause, in that situation, my computer is defence less and virus must be happy now!
Please help me!

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2005, 03:17:07 PM »
You never mentioned which version of OS you have, which version of avast! ?

Help us to help you...
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2005, 03:23:33 PM »
If you know how, you have to edit your avast4.ini file. Default location (if you haven't changed it during the installation of avast!) of that file is:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\avast4.ini

Opet that file with your NOTEPAD, and change this line under [COMMON] section:

Database=ODBC

to this:

Database=XML

NOTE: SAVE YOUR new INI FILE AND YOU MUST RESTART YOUR SYSTEM AFTER YOU SAVED YOUR NEW VERSION OF AVAST4.INI FILE ! DO NOT FORGET TO DO THAT !

That should do the trick...

Cheers !
« Last Edit: May 08, 2005, 03:51:54 PM by /szc\ »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

FIVE_one

  • Guest
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2005, 03:43:08 PM »
i use a XP pro version of Windows

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2005, 03:51:25 PM »
OK, this problem, regardless of version of your OS (I made an overlook, so don't pay attention to my question regarding the version of your OS)... do as I suggested, but first tell me what's the version of your avast!

Professional or Home Edition ? There is a difference since database value for avast! Professional is better to be ODBC... for Home Edition, it's better to change it to XML if you experience such a problems like you mentioned...
« Last Edit: May 08, 2005, 04:00:36 PM by /szc\ »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

FIVE_one

  • Guest
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2005, 04:03:45 PM »
XP professional version

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2005, 04:08:10 PM »
I didn't ask you what's the version of your OS FIVE_one... XP means you are talking about your Operating System Windows.\

avast! doesn't have XP in it's name. Avast! (in this case) can be just Professional or Home Edition... which one is yours ? The version of avast you are using, I need to know what's the version of avast! antivirus program installed on your computer...

Right click avast! blue ball icon in your system tray, and choose ABOUT avast!... at the top of the window that pops-out, you'll see what's the version of your avast!...
« Last Edit: May 08, 2005, 04:10:22 PM by /szc\ »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

FIVE_one

  • Guest
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2005, 04:09:29 PM »
it's the Home Edition of Avast! 4.6

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2005, 04:11:56 PM »
Good, there you go... now, go back to my reply number 2 in this thread or just click here:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=13355.msg112672#msg112672

...and do exactly as I suggested. After you change that line from ODBC to XML, you MUST save your INI file to accept those changes.

After that, even more important, REBOOT your computer... when you are back in Windows again, everything should be fine.

Cheers !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

FIVE_one

  • Guest
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2005, 04:34:26 PM »
well i've done what you said and the Avast! 4.6 is now runnig perfectly!
Thanks for your help man!

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2005, 04:36:15 PM »
No problem, I'm glad I could help you.

And...

WELCOME to the best forum on the web !!!
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

FIVE_one

  • Guest
Re: very big problem!
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2005, 04:59:07 PM »
yeah right my friend!