Author Topic: New user  (Read 9506 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mindi313

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Live Today Like Theres No Tomorrow
Re: New user
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2005, 04:02:33 AM »
Does anyone know why it will not let me enter my license number? I copied it and pasted it and it still won't work????

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45426
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: New user
« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2005, 04:54:22 AM »
Does anyone know why it will not let me enter my license number? I copied it and pasted it and it still won't work????

Mindi313
Welcome to the forum.
If your having a problem it's usually because when your doing the copying, your getting an extra blank character in the copy operation.
Make sure you only highlight the actual Registration Number and no extra spaces.
Let us know how you make out.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline xistenz

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 632
Re: New user
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2005, 10:07:07 AM »
@ Mindi313

http://www.avast.com/eng/i_was_successfully_r.html

Are you logged in as an administrator?
Is your Date and Time set correctly?

Offline rabind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: New user
« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2005, 02:34:50 PM »

Hi FF

>You said previously that you have AVG on your computer, >but you haven't said if you have uninstalled this.

>Just to confirm, are you only running one anti-virus program >now? Two running at the same time could conflict and >cause problems.

Quite some days back I had disabled AVG as I was not yet sure of Avast. Three days back I tried to uninstall it, but it wouldn't due to some of its files failures. So I went ahead and deleted all The AVG files. It does not exist anymore in Startup and Services.msc.
Thanks


Hi Technical

>Do you always use the same installation folder or you've >installed avast in more than one folder?

Yes, I checked again and there is no other instance of it in any other folder.

>Isn't it on the bottom of the left side column? If not, it's >weird and stange...
>Are you connected to the Internet while trying to update?

No its not there. There sure are weild things going on in my computer. I went to Search for Avast. It seems all OK there, but the installation icon is not like the normal ones. It is the "Open With" type. The one if you click on it, MS informs you that there isn't an application to open it, and you'll have to choose one from the "Open With" box. I think there is a problem there.
I'm on cable broadband. Connection to the Internet is "always on".

Otherwise Avast is operating fine, except the icons in the Sys Tray are gone, but it is operating. If you tell me. I'll reinstall again.

>What about AVG or any other antivirus?

AVG, as I said is gone. I have the links for Panda, Symantec,
Trend Micro, and RAV which I do use sometimes. Do you have any links for some good free Trojan hunters. I'd like to do that. I do use Ad-aware. Spybot, and MSAntiSpyware often.
Thanks

















Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: New user
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2005, 02:54:20 PM »
No its not there. There sure are weild things going on in my computer. I went to Search for Avast. It seems all OK there, but the installation icon is not like the normal ones. It is the "Open With" type. The one if you click on it, MS informs you that there isn't an application to open it, and you'll have to choose one from the "Open With" box. I think there is a problem there.
I'm on cable broadband. Connection to the Internet is "always on".
These are infection sympthoms...  :'( :-\

Otherwise Avast is operating fine, except the icons in the Sys Tray are gone, but it is operating. If you tell me. I'll reinstall again.
Fix tool for missing tray icons!

Download it here: http://freeweb.siol.net/razor256/downloads/aswTrayIconFix.zip
Download it and extract aswTrayIconFix.exe anywhere you want.
Run it and just click Fix button. Log off and log in again or simply restart your PC and icons should be back again. The program is standalone extract&use (although it looks like installer).
The best things in life are free.

Offline rabind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: New user
« Reply #20 on: May 05, 2005, 06:31:33 PM »
Testing the line.

I sent out my replies to FF  and Technical several hours ago and I still do not see my post in the "rabind" folder.

Will try again later.

Offline FreewheelinFrank

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4872
  • I'm a GNU
    • Don't Surf in the Nude!
Re: New user
« Reply #21 on: May 05, 2005, 06:54:24 PM »
Hi again Rabind,

Good Trojan hunters with a free trial are:

TDS-3 (Download the definitions file and move to the program folder.)



http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/

and TrojanHunter



http://www.trojanhunter.com/

Wallop your 'puter with these and see if they find anything.

I am slightly alarmed at the number of anti-virus programs you mention. These are just links to online scanners, right?



     Bambleweeny 57 sub-meson brain     Don't Surf in the Nude Blog

Offline rabind

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: New user
« Reply #22 on: May 09, 2005, 05:25:29 AM »

Hi Technical

Sorry for the delay. Had to go offshore for a bit.

>These are infection sympthoms...

I tend to feel that they are corruptions symptoms.

>Download it here: >http://freeweb.siol.net/razor256/downloads/aswTrayIconFix>.zip
>Download it and extract aswTrayIconFix.exe anywhere you >want.
>Run it and just click Fix button.

It worked very well, and thanks. But the symbols did not remain for more than a day, whereas previously they had remaimed for not more than two hours. I had to go back and "Fix" again.

Today I saw that the 'Repair" tab was available at "Add/Remove Programs. Did it and will report back results later.
TIA


Hi FF

>http://www.trojanhunter.com/

>Wallop your 'puter with these and see if they find anything.

>I am slightly alarmed at the number of anti-virus programs >you mention. These are just links to online scanners, right?

Did the "Wallop". No Trojans found.

Yes, the the anti-virus programs are just links to online scanners. i have read up that one needs to have a couple, as some viruses are so smart these days that they can disenable/bypass the resident anti-virus scanner. So one needs to scan with other scanners too to do a more thorough job.
TIA