Author Topic: help me deciper a full scan report?  (Read 3603 times)

vespr

help me deciper a full scan report?
« on: September 04, 2013, 03:16:50 PM »
hi. i'm new to Avast! having used MacKeeper all these years until they upgraded their virus definitions and required me to upgrade my 'lifetime' license, which i did not do.

so, there was a period of about  6 months to a year where i was completely without protection.

last week, something really odd happened: while working on my my Mac, it suddenly demanded to be force shut down, in english and several other languages. i've been a Mac user for 12+ years and this has never happened, so the first thing that came to mind was, did my Mac just detect malware?

sometime before the alert and up till now, my Mac has been really slow, if it has not been crashing repeatedly due to Shockwave, although i doubt this is due to conflicting flash (I've enabled Shockwave in my /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/Flash Player.plugin, disabled the one that came with Chrome and set it to Always Allowed) i understand viruses can be a cause for freezing and crashes.

so, i downloaded Avast, and this is the report that came up. i don't understand a thing, so i don't know how to proceed. Pondus, in my first accidental post to a non-Mac section said it appears to be a scan of errors.

first of all, is it a scan of errors? is it something else? thanks much.

Offline specimen9999

Re: help me deciper a full scan report?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2013, 08:34:21 PM »
If the screen you saw is the one attached to this message, that's just how Macs crash, most likely hardware related.

Your scan report is just a bunch of files that gave out errors while reading them, but they aren't malware related, you can ignore them.

vespr

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2013, 09:54:05 PM »
yup, that's exactly what it looked like. believe it or not, for 12 years, i had never seen my own macs crash until now:)