Author Topic: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?  (Read 12896 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« on: October 14, 2013, 11:18:01 PM »
Hi,

I had something suspicious on my computer. Malwarebytes found it and I deleted it. A full Avast scan was then done and gave the all clear. But the computer was still freezing, so I went into Safe Mode Networking and tried to update the Avast Engine / Programme versions. But Avast would not update :(

Is this correct please, will Avast not update in Safe Mode Networking? Malwarebytes will do though.

Thanks,

AV

Offline grinlord

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 12:31:33 AM »
AFAIK, Malwarebytes does not install a driver or depend on any other Windows services, so it can indeed update and run in Safe Mode.

Avast like all anti-virus programs, can only run it's real time protection driver in Normal mode.

You can probably use the manual VPS update from here: http://www.avast.com/download-update
Perhaps somebody more important can confirm this?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 12:45:32 AM »
Avast by default doesn't run in safe mode.

So if you go into safe mode, you would have to manually start avast (avast! desktop shortcut or Start, All Programs, avast!), did you do that ?

Then you could try a manual virus definitions update (program update isn't something I would consider), did you try that ?
If so what errors did you get ?

The download and install of the manual download of the complete virus definitions update (from the link given), should also work, but that is approximately 103mb download. This could take some time and you may be vulnerable on-line for that time if you have a slow connection, you could download it using another computer and transfer using a USB/CD/DVD.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2013, 10:39:09 AM »
Many thanks,

That is helpful. I am away from the desktop just now but will resume shortly. When I open Avast in Safe Network Mode there is that row of little icons showing all the Avast functions. Normally they are all green but in Safe Network they each have a red line under them, meaning that they are disabled.

AV

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2013, 11:25:31 PM »
I have downloded AVAST Software Setup Engine and saved at Desktop to another computer. Will I burn this download to disc please?

Would I then insert the disc into the problem computer in Safe Mode, then run it from the disc?

Thanks,

AV

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2013, 11:36:11 PM »
The file can be copied to the system and run (double click) it from normal mode.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2013, 11:45:14 PM »
Negative, the affected computer boots normally then freezes, eventually the hour glass appears over whatever you ask to open. It only runs in Safe Mode.

Can I run the download from the cd in Safe Mode please?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2013, 01:07:58 AM »
Avast doesn't run from safe mode, so I don't know if when you try to run this vps update nothing will happen as avast isn't running to recognise it. You can try to start avast in safe mode, if it starts then you can try to run the vps update file.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2013, 01:15:26 AM »
 :o getting scared. Am positive have run Avast in Safe Mode before. When you open Avast in SM, Avast has a  :-| smiley face and a title saying 'Resolve Issues' or something?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2013, 01:20:49 AM »
As I said if you are able to start it in safe mode then try and run the update from safe mode.

That said if you can't run your system in normal mode, that really is something that you should be trying to resolve.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2013, 01:29:56 AM »
...if you can't run your system in normal mode, that really is something that you should be trying to resolve.

Many thanks, & hence my thread.

AV

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84922
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2013, 01:45:54 AM »
Yes, but the title is misleading, as it is more about not being able to get avast updates from safe mode. Rather than emphasising the greater problem problem of not being able to boot into normal mode. In all honesty even if you manage to install the virus definitions update I don't believe that will resolve the greater problem.

If you are able to post the contents of the mbam scan log it might help us, if what has been removed is crucial or even a false positive.

So this will probably require specialist help by one of the malware removal specialists. It is almost 1am in the UK and a little later in Europe, so many of the volunteer specialists will be in bed.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2013, 02:11:36 AM »
Thank you. My computer almost certainly has an infection which has disabled it. Any help and / or advice more than welcome please.

Best regards,

AV

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31309
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2013, 02:19:18 AM »
What os (service packs) do you have?
What exact version of avast?
Are you getting a error or something when trying to boot in normal mode?
Have you waited e.g. 30 minutes when trying to boot in normal mode? (it can take a while before a error appears)
And please follow these instructions (if possible): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

Offline a_vast

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 213
Re: Safe Mode Networking - No Updates?
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2013, 12:31:15 PM »
Thanks David and Eddy,

Pretty sure I am running Avast Pro on that 2core, but it's bundled up now, will resume work on it in a couple of days.

The 2core boots normally but then slowly starts to freeze from that moment on, with everything you point to with the cursor yielding the hourglass icon, so you never get past the desktop. Eventually everything freezes, no mouse control or anything. In Safe Mode there is full control of whatever is enabled in SM.

Just had a thought, if all else fails (I now have that Avast download burned to CD) could I not remove the 2core 'C' drive, place it in an external casing, then run it - as an external drive - with a full Avast scan from a healthy computer please?

Thanks again,

AV