Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 321282 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dim@rik

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 670
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #30 on: October 15, 2013, 05:32:49 PM »
Avast IS - Tools - firewall - network connections - while trying to get information about the ip or tracing crash bug (check failed GeoIP - 0h20000004 error), and so I had all the betas in 2014 and AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  >:(
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 05:34:48 PM by Dim@rik »

Offline BODUL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • avast! beta tests [screenshots]:
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #31 on: October 15, 2013, 05:33:00 PM »
Hi

First of all congratulation for this release 2014 and for made avast! so light that looks like there is no AV installed at all. This is the most important reason why I use it.

I did a clean install and everything went good.

PS. Corrupted downloads fixed... :)

Take care...

[my_dev:Win8prox64_i5-2410M]

Offline ilove

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #32 on: October 15, 2013, 05:33:22 PM »
Hello everyone. I want to report a bug with new avast on windows xp sp3.
After update i run quick scan. Avast found 2 rotkit virus and he moved it to chest. After that i restart a system but i cant run any programrs because avast deleted dll files that are ok from system32 folder (dhhcpmon.dll and dot3svcc.dll). I run safe mode and back up dll and now works.
Every time i run quick scan , avast  recognize different dll from system32 as rottkit. Please fix that bug, avast deleted files that are clean!

Here is screenshot of virus chest and clean dll that avast deleted



Sorry for my bad english...
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 08:45:44 PM by ilove »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11141
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #33 on: October 15, 2013, 05:38:04 PM »
Installed and running good here, thanks for the job well done avast team :)

One thing I should point out is it was mentioned in the first post that the new installer only being 60Mb, the free version I just downloaded was 81Mb so that information in the first post of this thread might need to be edited.

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #34 on: October 15, 2013, 05:43:29 PM »
Congrats with final version of brand new avast!  :)

Offline 1024GBofRAM

  • Beta Tester
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #35 on: October 15, 2013, 05:46:47 PM »
Hi avast .
Just downloaded the files .. and your servers are extremely fast .. downloaded 81 MB in 1.2 seconds ..
its highly appreciatable that you guys had kept the servers live while new release .
-Good Luck Avast !

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3650
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #36 on: October 15, 2013, 05:52:24 PM »
Where was also an hacking attempt some days ago, but it hasnt worked. ;)
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2337
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #37 on: October 15, 2013, 05:54:27 PM »
Website blocking doesn't work anymore.
I turned it off and on and it doesn't work anymore.It worked before I did that.
I cannot turned it on permanently.
I did that often with Avast 8.0.1497.
Edit:
I used website blocking to block certain apps from connecting to the internet by blocking certain URLs
because Windows Firewall outbound rules didn't work with Web Shield (they are not working with
version 9.0.2006 also). So now I cannot block those apps anymore.
Tomorrow I will reinstall version 8.0.1497.I am very disappointed.
Edit 2:
Actually,some URLs are blocked and some are not blocked.All URLS are http.
Weird.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 07:05:13 PM by abruptum »

Offline Coyote76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #38 on: October 15, 2013, 05:55:07 PM »
Thank you Avast for the new version! It works very well. I had 1 minor issue: after the reboot in Win7 to finish the installation, the notification icon complained that Win7 didn't have an anti-virus program installed. I then rebooted a second time and all was ok.

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3650
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #39 on: October 15, 2013, 05:56:11 PM »
There are some bugs, i dont know why they released the Final version already.

Does everyone know what Dyna.Gen is?
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline Bluesman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 907
  • Amiga Power!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #40 on: October 15, 2013, 06:05:59 PM »
Just updated avast here on my computers, everything is working just fine! Good work avast guys! :)
"The blues are the roots, everything else is the fruits" -Willie Dixon

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2337
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #41 on: October 15, 2013, 06:09:53 PM »
Where is avast online security ?
I didn't use it before,but I would like to try it.
I don't think it was installed.I updated to this version through UI.

Offline Graig

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #42 on: October 15, 2013, 06:27:47 PM »
I installed this morning by updater, now I'm getting " Internet Explorer has stopped working" error messages.

Offline Rohugh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #43 on: October 15, 2013, 06:48:03 PM »
Where is avast online security ?
I didn't use it before,but I would like to try it.
I don't think it was installed.I updated to this version through UI.

It is a plug-in for Chrome,  if you have Google Chrome installed it should ask if you want it - or maybe it has installed it in the past?

Offline jvidal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #44 on: October 15, 2013, 06:53:57 PM »
I'm sorry, but this version just sucks.

First, the horrible win8-like UI. What the hell is wrong with everyone making their programs look like this PoS?

Second, I installed over my previous version (8.0.1497), rebooted and
a)no tray icon
b)double-clicking the avast shortcut on the desktop did absolutely nothing. NOTHING.
c)windows said no AV installed.

third, uninstalled, rebooted, re-installed and
a)the GUI took more than 5 minutes to appear, as well as the tray icon and the no AV installed notification.
b)Upon opening, the gui said that the avast service was not running, had to click on "start" to make it start. Should be automatic.

I'm REALLY not liking this version, too many issues.