Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 324477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Things happen
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #45 on: October 15, 2013, 06:55:27 PM »
•Dramatic reduction in product size (full installer < 60MB, compared to today’s 120MB) and memory footprint. By default, install is done through a new stub installer though (which has the advantage of always installing the most up-to-date version).
ok, but the real size of full installer is 81 MB for free version...

I did a clean install but still can't make bootable USB with avast! Rescue Disk. 
When I tried to run AvastPE2.exe from RescueDisk folder I got this error message: "The program can't start because HTMLayout.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.".
I think that's why downloading of rescue disk is not starting and I can't make a bootable USB since the first beta too.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #46 on: October 15, 2013, 06:58:19 PM »
I'm sorry, but this version just sucks.

First, the horrible win8-like UI. What the hell is wrong with everyone making their programs look like this PoS?

Second, I installed over my previous version (8.0.1497), rebooted and
a)no tray icon
b)double-clicking the avast shortcut on the desktop did absolutely nothing. NOTHING.
c)windows said no AV installed.

third, uninstalled, rebooted, re-installed and
a)the GUI took more than 5 minutes to appear, as well as the tray icon and the no AV installed notification.
b)Upon opening, the gui said that the avast service was not running, had to click on "start" to make it start. Should be automatic.

I'm REALLY not liking this version, too many issues.

+ 1. Exact same problem. My Avast however doesn't even start.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline Andyonline

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #47 on: October 15, 2013, 07:05:33 PM »
All OK here except Google Chrome not showing in the browser cleanup for some reason.
Avast Internet Security (all zones ) - MBAM Pro(real time ) - Winpatrol PLUS - Keyscrambler Premium - Sandboxie(paid) - Cyberghost VPN -  Secunia PSI on demand

Offline Populous

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 978
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #48 on: October 15, 2013, 07:09:19 PM »
Hi!

I've installed it by a clean install procedure and all seems to be ok! :)

Congratulations once more to all avast! team! :)

Greetings from Spanish Users Forums

Populous! :)
Avast Premium Security 20.2.2401 (compilación 20.2.5130.565) |CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 4,06GHz, 6 procesadores principales, 12 procesadores lógicos | RAM: 32GB -DDR4-2666 | T.Gráfica: GeForce GTX 1060 | SO: Win 10 Pro Versión 1909 Build (18363.752) - 64 Bits

Offline jvidal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #49 on: October 15, 2013, 07:10:21 PM »
Oh, another problem. Upon checking my email using Thunderbird, I had to "confirm exception" because of some certificate issue. Was working just fine with previous avast.

Forgot to mention: AMD Phenom II X4 945, 3.0Ghz, 8 GB RAM, Win7 x64. 300GB free disk space.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 07:13:22 PM by jvidal »

Offline dsekirka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #50 on: October 15, 2013, 07:18:19 PM »
I was having the same problem with no tray Icon and action center saying no Antivirus installed.   You need to reboot a 2nd time and you will get your tray icon and Avast will be recognized in action center.   I am running Windows 7 home premium 64 bit.

Offline Populous

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 978
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #51 on: October 15, 2013, 07:19:39 PM »
All OK here except Google Chrome not showing in the browser cleanup for some reason.

In my case it appears correctly.

See the attached screen shoot.

I'm using Win 8 X64.



Avast Premium Security 20.2.2401 (compilación 20.2.5130.565) |CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 4,06GHz, 6 procesadores principales, 12 procesadores lógicos | RAM: 32GB -DDR4-2666 | T.Gráfica: GeForce GTX 1060 | SO: Win 10 Pro Versión 1909 Build (18363.752) - 64 Bits

Offline Lyon :))

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #52 on: October 15, 2013, 07:23:15 PM »
Update button :D

Thank you avast! :)

Offline GTX66

  • AIS User Today
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 460
  • AIS User Till Today
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #53 on: October 15, 2013, 07:26:16 PM »
Great Job Avast! Thanks so far so good.

Offline Gap51

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #54 on: October 15, 2013, 07:28:28 PM »
http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/5635/a9ln.jpg
and i can't turn avast firewall on.
win8.1x64 :facepalm:
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 07:31:19 PM by Gap51 »

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Things happen
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #55 on: October 15, 2013, 07:29:05 PM »
Avast IS - Tools - firewall - network connections - while trying to get information about the ip or tracing crash bug (check failed GeoIP - 0h20000004 error), and so I had all the betas in 2014 and AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  >:(
some users from Russia confirmed this bug, need to be fixed
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=136796.msg1000673#msg1000673
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 07:30:49 PM by Andrey,pro »

Offline jvidal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #56 on: October 15, 2013, 07:30:23 PM »
On the other hand, I must say that I installed over 8.0.1497 on my laptop and it went just fine. Also running win7 x64, AMD E2-2000, 4GB RAM.

Edit: No so smooth, after all. Even though avast is enabled, the action center prompts me to "enable avast".
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 07:34:14 PM by jvidal »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #57 on: October 15, 2013, 07:31:07 PM »
Update button :D

Thank you avast! :)

Yes its there and when you add it, then click, it does a program update check.

I would have thought if having this option it would either, just display the Update section or do a virus definitions (and engines) update.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline aztony

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #58 on: October 15, 2013, 07:35:31 PM »
Updated thru UI, seamless without a hitch with initial install. Will report back with any issues of note. Meanwhile, thanks to Avast for their hard work to keep us safe.
Optiplex Dual core, 2.60GHz, 2GB RAM, Win 7 (32 bit) Avast 10.2.2215 free, PC Tools FW+, MBAM Pro, Winpatrol+, VoodooShield, Dashlane

Offline fardeen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #59 on: October 15, 2013, 07:40:52 PM »
just updated, so far i like it, the system tray icon is a little distracting with the blue colour animating all the time, one thing i dont like is when we do a scan , there is no longer the green progress bar on the taskbar, so i have to keep looking which % has been scanned, i really hope they bring this back, i loved knowing at a glance where my scan progression has gone just by looking at the taskbar without opening the UI  menu