Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 324152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #75 on: October 15, 2013, 08:45:23 PM »
I installed this yet as a beta version. I can not watch movies with translation from the following web address .... does not allow run plugin

http://www.filmovizija.com/
http://www.film-club.net/
http://www.filmovin.com/

After uninstalling Avast films normally go ....
That does not look a healthy site, it tried to get me to upgrade my flash and codecs...  I left at that stage

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #76 on: October 15, 2013, 08:45:59 PM »
Updated AIS thru AvastUI from 8.0.1497 to 2014 9.0.2006 on both machines.  Restarted windows when requested and was presented with the opt-out for Google Chrome.  I opted out and Chrome was not installed.  All settings were preserved.  Ran a quick scan.  So far, all seems fine.  I'm still exploring the new interface, and like it thus far.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #78 on: October 15, 2013, 08:49:43 PM »
Did a clean install on Windows 8..  AIS and no sign of the chrome option, and it did not install unseen.  That should now reduce a lot of Chrome mutters :)

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #79 on: October 15, 2013, 08:59:06 PM »
just updated, so far i like it, the system tray icon is a little distracting with the blue colour animating all the time, one thing i dont like is when we do a scan , there is no longer the green progress bar on the taskbar, so i have to keep looking which % has been scanned, i really hope they bring this back, i loved knowing at a glance where my scan progression has gone just by looking at the taskbar without opening the UI  menu
It's still there, just look closely at the throbbing circle and around the "outer ring" is your progress indicator.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #80 on: October 15, 2013, 09:02:03 PM »
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline jimb11

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #81 on: October 15, 2013, 09:06:47 PM »
I don't see them in the first post only the full installers.

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1554
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #82 on: October 15, 2013, 09:13:31 PM »
Removing old avast version and doing a clean install of avast  :D
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #83 on: October 15, 2013, 09:20:22 PM »
I installed this yet as a beta version. I can not watch movies with translation from the following web address .... does not allow run plugin

http://www.filmovizija.com/
http://www.film-club.net/
http://www.filmovin.com/
I did some a quick check of the websites you listed and found...
https://asafaweb.com/Scan?Url=www.filmovizija.com
https://asafaweb.com/Scan?Url=www.film-club.net
https://asafaweb.com/Scan?Url=www.filmovin.com

essexboy is correct they are not the safest sites to visit.
With excessive headers (easily exploited) and clickjacking (malicious redirects) being the biggest issues.
Clickjacking explained here:)

edit: If you need more info let me know.  :)
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 09:23:46 PM by Para-Noid »
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #84 on: October 15, 2013, 09:22:40 PM »
I don't see them in the first post only the full installers.
That is all that is available for now. I'm sure that when most users download the full installers avast will
post the stub installers.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline twl845

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #85 on: October 15, 2013, 09:25:13 PM »
Great! Thanks for the new release.  ;)
A clear conscience is a sign of a bad memory.

DELL8300 - WIN7 64x, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB HD, Avast! PRO 2014, Outpost Pro FW,  MBAM PRO real time, SpywareBlaster 5, Superantispyware on demand

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1554
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #86 on: October 15, 2013, 09:37:50 PM »
I'm now instlling avast 2014 but now wondering what is the simple management connector?
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #87 on: October 15, 2013, 09:51:22 PM »
If I remember correctly it has something to do with the business edition/version.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Lyon :))

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #88 on: October 15, 2013, 09:54:26 PM »
Update button :D

Thank you avast! :)

Yes its there and when you add it, then click, it does a program update check.

I would have thought if having this option it would either, just display the Update section or do a virus definitions (and engines) update.

+1 :)

Agree :D
« Last Edit: October 15, 2013, 09:56:56 PM by Lyon :)) »

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1554
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #89 on: October 15, 2013, 10:00:41 PM »
Avast 2014 up and running on my computer.. I have tried right clicking the avast tray icon for the context menu that you would see in avast 8 from right clicking the tray icon but it don't show.. Did avast remove that context menu?  By the way i really like how avast icon goes from orange to blue now when it is scanning.

EDIT: I am now seeing the context menu on my computer so no worries ;D
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 02:42:35 AM by Coolmario88 »
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox