Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 324535 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46319
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #195 on: October 17, 2013, 04:23:19 AM »
Congrats to the Avast team on the new version. I have been trying to use 1483 because , the later versions seem to have an issue with the wireless adapter, choking it. Is the issue solved . Thanks!
I'm on WiFi without any problems. :) Does that help ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Juannes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #196 on: October 17, 2013, 04:32:20 AM »
I installed the version 9,the UI is simply Horrible!!! Along with Windows 8 Avast have now a horrible UI!
I had some trouble installing it with Outpost firewall pro 8.1.1. Outpost didn't allow Avast to update even when I specified it to allow all Avast services to access internet.
So I make a downgrade to Avast 8.
Very disappointed....

Offline noelrojasc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • Usuario desde la versión 5
Issues with Spanish Translation
« Reply #197 on: October 17, 2013, 04:41:00 AM »
Hello, Avast Team,

I just installed the Spanish version of Avast 2014. There still are some items that have not been translated to Spanish. This is the first time this happens, as far as I know. Please fix this.

Thanks!
DELL Optiplex 790, Intel Core i5, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bits, Avast Free.

Offline Darkwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #198 on: October 17, 2013, 05:24:34 AM »
New(?) bug: I installed Avast on an XP Home SP2, it will not allow anything to run and it will not let me remove that option in Hardened Mode.  Noticed that It changed the Control Panel layout and will not let it be changes back.  Also it is choking down download and upload speeds on that XP.

Offline div_dib

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #199 on: October 17, 2013, 05:31:30 AM »
Great Move!!!!! :) :) :)

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #200 on: October 17, 2013, 07:05:53 AM »
so avast! free 2014 comes with less shields?

(snip)

3shields left? then which version should i use now to get the other 5 shields i used to get?
(script shield, network shield, network shield, behaviour shield, im shield)
Answer:
Why does Avast 9 only have three shields?

From the FAQ: http://www.avast.com/faq.php

The number of real-time shields in avast! 2014 is reduced by merging some of them to another. The P2P Shield, IM Shield and Behavior Shield are now a part of the File System Shield, while the Network Shield with Script Shield are a part of the Web Shield.

ok thanks.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 07:08:50 AM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3349
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #201 on: October 17, 2013, 07:31:53 AM »
I love the new version of Avast Free 2014 because I'm so please to see Rescue Disk bootable media is back from the dead since we had Avast BartCD in the past, which is a huge plus for users you can create a Rescue Disk bootable media (USB, CD, ISO) for offline scanning and cleaning. The tool is built on Windows PE (pre-installation environment) and, as such, it is recommended to create the media on a clean machine.

Basically, you will be able to boot into a new environment loaded with avast! Antivirus, which can be used to scan and clean the infected machine. It is a very light version of the application that can only scan defined areas.

I'm very happy with this release along side with my other security features side by side with Avast, great job Avast.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 07:40:07 AM by SpeedyPC »
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.9.2493 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline S@uDepp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • I'm a llama!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #202 on: October 17, 2013, 08:05:07 AM »
Can´t open the AvastUI, neither by left click nor right clicking the icon - have to start the AvastUI  by myself through the explorer.....

...looks like the automated start of dropbox(2.4.2) - incl. explorer refreshing! - kills avast!´s ballon window as well as the option to open the UI via right/leftclick.
No dropbox at startup and avast is accessible as it should be... at least at my machine.... ;)

Greetings
S@uDepp

Offline Martin Kudlicka

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #203 on: October 17, 2013, 08:09:48 AM »
Why do you run the AvastPe2.exe manually?
http://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB114#articleContent

If the creation of USB or ISO fails send me rescuedisk.log from c:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\log\

When I run it manually, an error message pops-up...

Well, there's no log folder...

Hello,
logs are in "c:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\log\"

Milos

Found it!!!
Thanks a lot!!! ;)

"16/10/2013   10:02:25   Antivirus state 0 updatedSign 1
16/10/2013   10:02:25   Antispyware state 0 updatedSign 1
16/10/2013   10:44:34   Rescue Disc - WinPE2 creator prepare failed, EC 00000002"

P.S. It's a clean installation.

Hello,
can you please check if the copype.cmd file in Program Files folder exists on your computer? If you have Windows XP there should be Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\copype.cmd. On Windows Vista and newer Windows Kits\8.0\Assessment and Deployment Kit\Windows Preinstallation Environment\copype.cmd. And what OS do you have - XP/Vista/7/8 x86 or x64 ?

Thank you,
Martin
Avast Support Tool - https://www.avast.com/en-eu/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle
Avast support - https://support.avast.com - submit a support ticket

Offline winactive

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #204 on: October 17, 2013, 08:45:29 AM »
Can´t open the AvastUI, neither by left click nor right clicking the icon - have to start the AvastUI  by myself through the explorer.....

...looks like the automated start of dropbox(2.4.2) - incl. explorer refreshing! - kills avast!´s ballon window as well as the option to open the UI via right/leftclick.
No dropbox at startup and avast is accessible as it should be... at least at my machine.... ;)

Greetings
S@uDepp

Dropbox 2.0.22 working fine here, will upgrade and try to replicate.

Updated to 2.4.2, works fine, although I have disabled the Browser Protection plug-in as it is causing IE10 to hit an endless loop 'A problem with this page caused Internet Explorer to close and re-open the tab' on search results (DuckDuckGo).
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 09:46:51 AM by winactive »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #205 on: October 17, 2013, 08:57:11 AM »
I had some trouble installing it with Outpost firewall pro 8.1.1. Outpost didn't allow Avast to update even when I specified it to allow all Avast services to access internet.
So I make a downgrade to Avast 8.
Very disappointed....
The new avast and Outpost Firewall 8.1.1 work perfectly fine here, there are several other members of this forum who also use Outpost firewall with no problems.

"Note" you cant use the web control module of Outpost with the new avast if you have that activated.

Any further issues regarding this matter should be started in a new topic so not to be lost in this thread.

Offline Erroneus

  • Former recommender of Avast
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • RIP Avast
    • Personal blog
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #206 on: October 17, 2013, 09:43:34 AM »
Who ever did the Danish translation of Avast 2014, needs to go over it again. There a lot's missing translations and very bad translations.
Homebuild machine - Intel I5 3570K@4,3 Ghz
Lenovo T460s
Windows 10 1709 Enterprise 64bit: Panda Pro

Offline S@uDepp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • I'm a llama!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #207 on: October 17, 2013, 10:27:52 AM »
Can´t open the AvastUI, neither by left click nor right clicking the icon - have to start the AvastUI  by myself through the explorer.....

...looks like the automated start of dropbox(2.4.2) - incl. explorer refreshing! - kills avast!´s ballon window as well as the option to open the UI via right/leftclick.
No dropbox at startup and avast is accessible as it should be... at least at my machine.... ;)

Greetings
S@uDepp

Dropbox 2.0.22 working fine here, will upgrade and try to replicate.

Updated to 2.4.2, works fine, although I have disabled the Browser Protection plug-in as it is causing IE10 to hit an endless loop 'A problem with this page caused Internet Explorer to close and re-open the tab' on search results (DuckDuckGo).

...which BS are You on? Win8?

Offline shohruh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #208 on: October 17, 2013, 11:44:30 AM »
Where is module "Blocking websites" on avast 9.0.2006 ?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #209 on: October 17, 2013, 12:11:58 PM »
Where is module "Blocking websites" on avast 9.0.2006 ?
Settings/ Active Protection/ Webshield Settings/ Siteblocking