Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 324558 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zebrdee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #240 on: October 17, 2013, 10:05:10 PM »
Using the context menu to scan an individual 122MB mp4 movie file used to take a few seconds on v8  but now v9 takes maybe hours. A small blank window opens in the centre of the screen and a smaller progress window opens near the clock bottom right, with ???? (4 question marks - not a smiley face) / Running

Is this normal?
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 10:08:46 PM by Zebrdee »

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #241 on: October 17, 2013, 10:24:07 PM »
Using the context menu to scan an individual 122MB mp4 movie file used to take a few seconds on v8  but now v9 takes maybe hours. A small blank window opens in the centre of the screen and a smaller progress window opens near the clock bottom right, with ???? (4 question marks - not a smiley face) / Running

Is this normal?
No.

Suggest you reboot your system up to four times to see if that clears it up. 

The minimized toaster scan window is a new feature. 

If that doesn't fix it, then you are looking at a repair and/or clean install.  This depends on whether you updated thru the gui or did an uninstall/clean install of the new version when migrating to a newer version number (Version 8.0 > 9.0).  Always recommend a clean install when moving up a version as changes between can be major.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #242 on: October 17, 2013, 10:27:37 PM »
I cant get the firwall to start on avast premier 2014, looks like the driver installed ok, just wont start, in services I can manually start it but still doesn't register in avast, ive just updated to windows 8.1, which lead to the deletion of my avast premier. I have a feeling that the 8.1 update hasn't deleted something properly from thre previous install, if id of known avast wasn't going to be there after the update I would of uninstalled first, didn't have any messages telling me whats being deleted or anything, all I did was press the download button in the store, and 8.1 installed itself. Made a total mess of nearly all my desktop apps,many of them needed repairing and overwriting.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2013, 10:30:34 PM by boe323 »

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #243 on: October 17, 2013, 10:28:44 PM »
where the v9 uninstaller so I can make sure its all gone?. the uninstaller only goes to v8.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #244 on: October 17, 2013, 10:32:09 PM »
where the v9 uninstaller so I can make sure its all gone?. the uninstaller only goes to v8.

http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avastclear.exe
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline Zebrdee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #245 on: October 17, 2013, 11:01:22 PM »
OK, just to say I tried the reboot several times - no change. Did an uninstall and installed using the 81MB installer not the gui like last time. Scans that mp4 file quickly now now. Thanks mchain.

Offline Plus8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #246 on: October 18, 2013, 12:26:21 AM »
A brand new version will always have issues.I find it better to wait after an bugfix update before installing an entirely new upgrade and this applies to most software.
Tried updating from 8.0.1497 as part of routine maintenance today in XP SP3 Pro and my system shutdown and start-up times became horribly slow. On restart Avast doesn't even load in the tray nor did a couple of other things. Fortunately a system restore to two days ago appears (touch wood) to have fixed my machine. THIS AVAST 9 IS NOT READY FOR PRIME TIME sadly. Not crazy about the new GUI either. At last for me it's LESS intuitive...

Until I can replace this laptop with a new one running Win7 Pro or Ultimate, let me know when Avast 9 is fixed for XP!

Offline noelrojasc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • Usuario desde la versión 5
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #247 on: October 18, 2013, 02:51:18 AM »
Yo quisiera saber si el avast Internet segurity funciona con windows falcificado?

Hola, veo que eres nuevo en el Foro. No soy experto en Avast pero voy a tratar de responder tu pregunta y darte algunas sugerencias.

Lo primero es que, si vas a escribir en Español, lo hagas en la sección en Español del Foro. Allí hay personas expertas que pueden contestar cualquier duda.

En segundo lugar, es probable que Avast sí funcione en un Windows crackeado. Sin embargo, te aconsejo que consigas una versión legal de Windows para evitar problemas.

Otra cosa, aquí en el Foro no son muy amigos de versiones crackeadas de software ni de Sistemas Operativos :-)

Recibe un cordial saludo, y bienvenido al Foro de Avast!
DELL Optiplex 790, Intel Core i5, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bits, Avast Free.

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7458
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #248 on: October 18, 2013, 02:55:50 AM »
Noel unfortunately no one is going to answer him since he is running a pirated OS copy. Even if he goes to the Spanish Forum I will not help him now

Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline tn89131

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #249 on: October 18, 2013, 03:23:56 AM »
Sorry to say I'm having a problem with the new update. I've updated two of my networked computers (Win7 64bit SP1) with the latest version today. Those two can still access shared folders on two other computers that haven't been updated. But, they can't access shared folders on each other. Nor can the computers that haven't been updated access shared folders on the updated computers. I've tried adding the IPs of the other computers to Friends and even tried turning off the firewall. Neither helped. The folders still show as shared. Even tried sharing a new folder. No good either. Please help!

Offline ammy69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #250 on: October 18, 2013, 04:41:17 AM »
I have just installed tuneup 2014 IS....it is creating problems to me as i ue another software tuneup utilities 2014 to switch from balanced mode to power saving mode automatically as soon as the main power is removed....and avast is preventing this automatic switch...pls help

Offline noelrojasc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • Usuario desde la versión 5
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #251 on: October 18, 2013, 05:34:47 AM »
Noel unfortunately no one is going to answer him since he is running a pirated OS copy. Even if he goes to the Spanish Forum I will not help him now

Ok, I think that is the rigth thing to do. Thanks for your concern.
DELL Optiplex 790, Intel Core i5, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bits, Avast Free.

Offline EmoHobo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #252 on: October 18, 2013, 05:42:21 AM »
The amount of memory usage on the new Avast seems high just for the UI.  It quickly goes up to using 100,000 K of virtual memory if I open the UI up anytime.

Offline Mike-avast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #253 on: October 18, 2013, 09:12:17 AM »
Thx for the new version runs more smooth, but I really do not like the new interface, its a real mess.

Also there is no direct path to Global Exclusions via the GUI, one has to use the "link" provided 

found in Settings/Active protection/Web Shield/Web Shield settings/Exclusions

finally you get a link "This component is also applying global exclusions, you can check them here"

Offline csheenas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #254 on: October 18, 2013, 10:10:45 AM »
Some of the software I am using is blocked my Avast`s firewall....I cannot find the function anymore where I can unblock them and make exceptions....can anyone help me please?