Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 321111 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #330 on: October 20, 2013, 11:13:06 AM »
Hi, I installed avast internet security, firewall does not work, an error firewall is disabled and does not turn on. Installed on a clean windows 8.1 operating system, what could be wrong? Thank you for your help.
I had exact same error on premier, I used the uninstall software in safemode, then manually removed the left overs, rebooted, set windows firewall to default settings and then turned it off (not in services), continued to install avast, worked for me, although, ive come across some bugs in premier, like tracing doesn't work, blocks teredo Ipv6(found a workaround for that, just restart windows firewall inservices even though its started already, then go and switch off again). All in all, seems a lot quicker thn previous build, on startup and surfing. Anyone notice how messed up networking is in windows 8.1?, non of the miniport drivers ever load until its to late, used be enabled all the time in windows 8, theres no turn sharing on or off option in the network list when you click on the icon either, what the hell are you supposed to do lol.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:16:24 AM by boe323 »

Offline combiroro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #331 on: October 20, 2013, 11:19:33 AM »
I have exactly the same problem as  Reply #250 on: October 18, 2013, 01:23:56 AM.  After installing Avast 2014 Internet Security (Windows Ultimate 64Bit Sp1) I was not able to access my shared files from other workstations of my network.  Even when I turned Avast off, the network shares did not work.  After uninstalling Avast 2014 and installing the earlier version 8.0.1497 everything works again.  Also it seems that Avast firewall is in some way integrated with Windows firewall in 2014 version.  It is no more possible to turn off either Windows or Avast firewall as it is in version 8.

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Things happen
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #332 on: October 20, 2013, 11:58:43 AM »
[Bug] Hardened mode exclusions are not woking.
Can't add exclusions in Hardened mode because they are not saving, after adding exclusion I press the "OK" button then I close all settings and there is no any exclusions in Hardened mode. Is it a GUI bug or exclusions are not saving?

Offline avastreally?

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #333 on: October 20, 2013, 01:36:59 PM »
edit: installed and working fine (though during installing service.exe went haywire with cpu cycles), going through the default settings, which im not too sure about as mail shield is set to if: virus is found then automatically fix if not do nothing.
if possible could you make a tutorial to help users config it better?
the full scan setting has a neat future , where you can choose where a full scan searches by default
which leads to my other query, when i had version 8 and ran a full scan it would scan svc: xxx (network) first then go unto drives, with the setting in 9 it doesnt scan the network
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 01:47:22 PM by avastreally? »
Intel Celeron E3300 Dual Core/ 3GB Ram/ Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit SP1/ Avast Free 2013 9.0.2006/ Comodo Firewall 6.3/ Google Chrome 30.0.1599.101/ Adblock Plus/ Web of Trust/ Bitdefender Traffic Light/ DoNotTrackMe/ LastPass/ Malwarebytes Pro 1.75/ SuperAntiSpyware Free 5.6/ SpywareBlaster/ Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit/ Key Scrambler Free/ Sandboxie 4.04/

Offline Anacunga

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #334 on: October 20, 2013, 04:12:52 PM »
NO, not all settings are preserved! Having had "ask and notify if virus database is updated" is changed to "automatically update virus database"!

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #335 on: October 20, 2013, 06:55:33 PM »
What are the sizes of the Virus updates?
The vps update size varies dependent upon the viruses and/or malware.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #336 on: October 21, 2013, 01:56:05 AM »
I like the new version very much except for one thing - the Windows 7 Firewall outbound protection is not working with Avast. I tought it would be fixed in v9.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=128791.0

Avast team, are there any plans to fix this in the near future?

Thank you!
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Gorg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #337 on: October 21, 2013, 03:32:19 AM »
Are there any plans to expand the console's controls for other PC's on your account? Like scanning or other options? That would probably be the one thing that would launch this puppy in to space for me and cement me as a lifetime customer.

Offline shurik.shin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #338 on: October 21, 2013, 08:49:56 AM »
Hello

I like new version of AVAST.
But I have a problem: I try to install actsoft clickonce product but I get avast error that executable file is virus sys-gen susp and file moved to the chest.
I tried to scan file with virustotal and avast manually but it doesn't find any viruses.


Thank you,
Alex S.

Offline roger.pman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #339 on: October 21, 2013, 09:42:49 AM »
Although I am receiving the streaming updates my last VPS update shows as 131019-1 and when I do a manual update Avast tells me it is already up to date. Is this correct in that no VPS updates have occurred for the last 2 days?
Avast 2014.9.0.2006 on Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit computer.

Offline Foxfan100

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006) - Taskbar icon problem
« Reply #340 on: October 21, 2013, 10:01:30 AM »
I'm running the paid version of Avast Internet Security 2014.9.0.2006.160 on Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit, on a desktop machine.

This version was installed via an online update from version 8. This all seemed to go smoothly, although I had the problems others have reported, of Windows not seeing Avast as installed/running/protecting in Control Panel Security settings. This also happened on another laptop machine running a Home version of Win 7. However, I did resolve these problems.

Now, the Avast taskbar icon has disappeared from those loaded at startup on my desktop. It works fine on the other laptop machine, which is set up the same way.

My machine is configured to boot and start, without password needed, to my "standard" Admin account. It does this as normal, but the Avast icon doesn't appear in the taskbar (all the others do). A check via Taskmanager shows that the UI IS running, as are the services, and Control Panel confirms this. The laptop requires a password at startup.

IF I log off my "standard" admin account and log on to my Win 7 "Super Administrator" account (the only other account I have configured on this machine), and then log back to the usual account, the Taskbar icons are reloaded and this time INCLUDE the animated Avast icon.

My machine is being protected, but the downside is that I cannot access Avast to change settings, scan etc, if the icon isn't present in taskbar. Trying to run Avast from the desktop link (i.e. start another instance), doesn't do anything.

Any ideas?

I'd prefer not to reinstall Avast, with all the possible problems with the license file etc.

Offline drummerman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006) - Taskbar icon problem
« Reply #341 on: October 21, 2013, 11:19:30 AM »
I'm running the paid version of Avast Internet Security 2014.9.0.2006.160 on Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit, on a desktop machine.

This version was installed via an online update from version 8. This all seemed to go smoothly, although I had the problems others have reported, of Windows not seeing Avast as installed/running/protecting in Control Panel Security settings. This also happened on another laptop machine running a Home version of Win 7. However, I did resolve these problems.

Now, the Avast taskbar icon has disappeared from those loaded at startup on my desktop. It works fine on the other laptop machine, which is set up the same way.

My machine is configured to boot and start, without password needed, to my "standard" Admin account. It does this as normal, but the Avast icon doesn't appear in the taskbar (all the others do). A check via Taskmanager shows that the UI IS running, as are the services, and Control Panel confirms this. The laptop requires a password at startup.

IF I log off my "standard" admin account and log on to my Win 7 "Super Administrator" account (the only other account I have configured on this machine), and then log back to the usual account, the Taskbar icons are reloaded and this time INCLUDE the animated Avast icon.

My machine is being protected, but the downside is that I cannot access Avast to change settings, scan etc, if the icon isn't present in taskbar. Trying to run Avast from the desktop link (i.e. start another instance), doesn't do anything.

Any ideas?

I'd prefer not to reinstall Avast, with all the possible problems with the license file etc.

Same problem here. See my thread 'Missing AVAST taskbar icon' in the general section.

Seems like a bug.

regards
« Last Edit: October 21, 2013, 11:21:05 AM by drummerman »

Offline lilidurhone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #342 on: October 21, 2013, 11:42:37 AM »
Hi

I don't reinstall avast after removing from safe mode with avast clear

This error is "Fail to load langage 1033"

i 'm not secure !

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85757
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #343 on: October 21, 2013, 02:01:47 PM »
I like new version of AVAST.
But I have a problem: I try to install actsoft clickonce product but I get avast error that executable file is virus sys-gen susp and file moved to the chest.
I tried to scan file with virustotal and avast manually but it doesn't find any viruses..

Can you start a new topic of your own in the viruses and worms forum, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=4.0 click the new topic button at the top of that listing page and we will try to help.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85757
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #344 on: October 21, 2013, 02:05:59 PM »
Although I am receiving the streaming updates my last VPS update shows as 131019-1 and when I do a manual update Avast tells me it is already up to date. Is this correct in that no VPS updates have occurred for the last 2 days?
Avast 2014.9.0.2006 on Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit computer.

131020-0 was released later than normal, avast 9 is on a different VPS update stream from avast 8. So you should have that now and hopefully more for today later.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security