Author Topic: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall  (Read 15933 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tonyfs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall
« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2013, 07:28:06 AM »
I have no possibility to install Avast on my laptop. It is just not possible. It denies to access the internet and almost prevent me from using my laptop.
When I install it I get some questions from ZoneAlarm and one of them is that a program want to prevent Avast update, I think, from running and when I have the Avirus installed everything goes wrong. I cannot find an issue in ZoneA that I can change into positive and the OS ask me to start the AA but nothing happens.
Well, I installed the new antivirus application from ZA and will try with that until someone can give me a solution.

Have a nice day.
OS - Win 7
ZA - Ver. 11

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82724
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall
« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2013, 02:07:12 PM »
Read my Reply #4 http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=137016.msg1002238#msg1002238 as it is most likely ZA blocking one or both of those files.

EDIT:
You don't say what avast version you are using ?
« Last Edit: October 24, 2013, 02:08:54 PM by DavidR »
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.561) UI-1.0.502/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline tosna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Since 2006 AVAST free user -Japan-
Re: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall
« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2013, 03:22:19 PM »
Hi,
I really like the new look to avast free anti-virus :)

Before the update I was running Avast 8 free anti-virus  with no problems :)

Since the update I have had to remove zone-alarm free firewall as I could not get avast & zone-alarm to load
And show the icons on the tray -

After a PC reset to an earlier time - and uni-stalled zone-alarm firewall
Then a re-install of avast 2014 - the avast 2014 runs and works perfectly -

But I cant seem to get zone-alarm free firewall to work with avast 2014 free anti-virus

Is avast 2014 free anti-virus not compatible with zone-alarm free firewall?

Thanks - Steve

 Just for your reference, I use avast! free anti-virus together with ZoneAlarm free firewall during the past almost 7 years without problem. Recently I upgaded avast! free 8.0.1497 to avast! free 2014.9.0.2006 under ZoneAlarm Free Firewall 11.0.768.000, and they function well.
 
 Regarding ZoneAlarm Free Firewall, I erroneously updated first the old version to a new ZoneAlarm Security because the new free firewall is a part of the same. So I uninstalled it and applied ZoneAlarm "clean.exe" before reinstalling the ZoneAlarm Free Firewall. But it was about 3 months before upgrading avast! free.
Win7 Home SP1 32bit/ Avast Free 19.8.2393→20.1.2397/ (WindosFirewall)Comodo Firewall 12/ / (Windows Defender)

Offline KCPTECH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall
« Reply #18 on: October 28, 2013, 11:52:56 AM »
Hi,
I really like the new look to avast free anti-virus :)

Before the update I was running Avast 8 free anti-virus  with no problems :)

Since the update I have had to remove zone-alarm free firewall as I could not get avast & zone-alarm to load
And show the icons on the tray -

After a PC reset to an earlier time - and uni-stalled zone-alarm firewall
Then a re-install of avast 2014 - the avast 2014 runs and works perfectly -

But I cant seem to get zone-alarm free firewall to work with avast 2014 free anti-virus

Is avast 2014 free anti-virus not compatible with zone-alarm free firewall?

Thanks - Steve

Same problem here. I have over 224 office systems of various configurations around the campus where I work with this compatibility issue. Getting Avast and Zone Alarm to consider there is a compatibility issue is like having Apple help Microsoft. I've spent over 40 hours with customer service from both companies and all I get is they don't have a problem. I'm not trying find if they have a problem, I'm trying to let them know I have a problem. I've sent system specs, even offered to send in via Registered Air a common system for them to experience the problem.

Basically, all the systems worked well with Avast 8 latest version and latest version of Zone Alarm. After trying to upgrade to Avast 9, an error occurred claiming Avast needs to restart to continue the upgrade. After the restart, the error was there again and prompted for another restart. After a day of restarts, yes same error. Uninstalling didn't work as the OS couldn't find the avast.  Only work around was removing Zone Alarm, then restart and pop there's Avast 9. Then uninstall Avast 9, re-install Avast 8 and put Zone Alarm back on. Then both worked. Doing this for 224 systems wasn't good. Especially when I just recommended last week for Queens University to consider a site License for 32K systems for Avast Enterprise. I need this problem to be replicated and fixed please.


Offline roboz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2013, 01:02:15 PM »
windows 8.1, I've the last version of ZA free firewall 12.0.104.000 and Avast free antivirus 2014 9.2006, I'm unable to setting ZA, if I unistall Avast all work fine, it's a bug of Avast. fix it please.

Offline roboz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall
« Reply #20 on: November 02, 2013, 01:48:21 PM »
some issue with avast 2014 9.0.2007

Offline KCPTECH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New avast 2014 & zone-alarm free firewall
« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2014, 04:46:31 PM »
Systems are currently running version 8.0.1497 as anything with build 9 just isn't ironed out yet. I'm glad that Avast is still supporting Build 8. I will keep trying every few months to see if updates to Build 9 touch on the problem.