Author Topic: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)  (Read 5216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Petr[CZ]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« on: October 25, 2013, 12:39:37 AM »
Hello,

Does not work Mozilla Thunderbird

(I use Avast 2014 free edition)





I tried to add the certificate that I exported from avast but to no avail...
(maybe doing something wrong)


Here is a test email:

Email: TEST8958@email.cz
Password: TEST4486

POP3: ON
IMAP: ON

Can someone please advise in detail but thx...

Offline justinlee

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 01:07:18 AM »
What are your incoming and outgoing ports?
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) SP1,
Intel Core i5-2410M @2.30GHz, 6GB RAM
AvastFree Antivirus & ZoneAlarm Free.

Offline Petr[CZ]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 01:11:15 AM »
What ports you mean?

May be more specific where to find it?

Offline justinlee

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2013, 01:14:44 AM »
This is a snapshot from Google images. The incoming is the first page when you click account settings and you'll see there is an option on the left for Outgoing Server.

Also i notice you have both POP, and IMAP on.. Why?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2013, 01:16:15 AM by justinlee »
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) SP1,
Intel Core i5-2410M @2.30GHz, 6GB RAM
AvastFree Antivirus & ZoneAlarm Free.

Offline Petr[CZ]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2013, 01:23:35 AM »
How do I get to the account settings...

When you can not add your account?

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2013, 01:26:17 AM »
How do I get to the account settings... When you can not add your account?

Simply click the manual settings button (Ruční nastavení), instead of using the broken and absolutely obnoxious TB "autoconfiguration".

Offline justinlee

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2013, 01:27:49 AM »
i no longer use Thunderbird, but as far as i remember on the left you see your email accounts. If you right click on your email account in the left pane and click properties it should take you there.

As its a POP3 account also turn IMAP off if you have it seleted. Although i wasn't aware you could even select both. My guess is that you either have the wrong port numbers, or Avast has started to block them. This only happened since last update, yes?
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) SP1,
Intel Core i5-2410M @2.30GHz, 6GB RAM
AvastFree Antivirus & ZoneAlarm Free.

Offline Petr[CZ]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2013, 01:28:24 AM »
OK,



What do I do next?


EDIT:

I have never before this program did not use

Today I've installed the first time
« Last Edit: October 25, 2013, 01:31:26 AM by Petr[CZ] »

Offline justinlee

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2013, 01:29:37 AM »
Click on Outgoing Server at the bottom left The sentence with (SMTP). What is your port number for the outgoing server?
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) SP1,
Intel Core i5-2410M @2.30GHz, 6GB RAM
AvastFree Antivirus & ZoneAlarm Free.

Offline justinlee

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2013, 01:34:35 AM »
Also just thought. i can't understand the first warning box as it's in Polish, but you can try turning off SSL. Let Avast handle the security. That has caused me problems in the past.
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) SP1,
Intel Core i5-2410M @2.30GHz, 6GB RAM
AvastFree Antivirus & ZoneAlarm Free.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #10 on: October 25, 2013, 01:36:04 AM »
Also just thought. i can't understand the first warning box as it's in Polish, but you can try turning off SSL. Let Avast handle the security. That has caused me problems in the past.

It's actually Czech (says incorrect username or password.) And yeah, mostly all the trouble is there because TB is trying "smart" automated things.

Offline justinlee

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2013, 01:37:35 AM »
Also just thought. i can't understand the first warning box as it's in Polish, but you can try turning off SSL. Let Avast handle the security. That has caused me problems in the past.

It's actually Czech (says incorrect username or password.) And yeah, mostly all the trouble is there because TB is trying "smart" automated things.

Oops my apologies. I meant Czech ;)

That's one thing I always found annoying with Thunderbird, but you get used to it eventually.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2013, 01:39:07 AM by justinlee »
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) SP1,
Intel Core i5-2410M @2.30GHz, 6GB RAM
AvastFree Antivirus & ZoneAlarm Free.

Offline Petr[CZ]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #12 on: October 25, 2013, 01:43:51 AM »
I want to ask if I'm alright certificate settings?




There's outbound port:



So I turn off SSL in avast? (for checking mail)

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #13 on: October 25, 2013, 01:46:44 AM »
So I turn off SSL in avast? (for checking mail)

You'd better turn off TLS/SSL in TB and let Avast handle it.

http://napoveda.seznam.cz/cz/imap-pop3-smtp.html
« Last Edit: October 25, 2013, 01:57:05 AM by doktornotor »

Offline Petr[CZ]

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Mozilla Thunderbird (not working)
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2013, 01:53:56 AM »
Have it works  ;D

Off SSl + I've had to change the set encryption password




Thank you all for your help

I am glad that avast forum  are so capable people is a (compliment)  ;)