Author Topic: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network  (Read 30304 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline beringer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #75 on: November 02, 2013, 12:12:25 PM »
Avast 2014 is blocking port forwarding. Did not happened before 2014.

@ Jont,

Go ahead !

Grtz,  André.

I solved my problem by removing the Avast firewall (via control panel\uninstall program, selected change and removed the tick from the firewall) now using the win7 firewall.

This worked for me as well. Since I installed Avast 2014 my home network was fubar, could not connect with RDP, etc.

Uninstalling the new Avast 2014 firewall fixed it.

@ Jont, great tip, thanks for sharing mate!

@ Avast, this new release is not an improvement! The firewall is wrecking home networks, better fix it soon please.

@ beringer,

Perhaps you can explain me, step by step, how you switched off the avast! Firewall.

André.

Start -> Control Panel -> Programs and features -> Avast! Internet Security (click once/make it blue) -> Uninstall/Change -> Change -> Continue -> untick avast! Firewall in the middle column -> Continue -> Finish/restart

So don't look for it in the Avast settings, but get this done in your Windows control panel.

Good luck André :)

Offline -André-

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #76 on: November 02, 2013, 02:09:13 PM »
@ beringer,


Thanks.

Never had so much choice in the uninstall/change of a software.  Didn't know this.

But right now my system is stable and everything works with the avast! Firewall active on one of my PC's.

In 5 minutes I will install AIS on my 2nd PC (WiFi) and let it stabilize it selves for a day.

If OK, tomorrow I'll do the 3rd PC.  In case of troubles, now I can disable the avast Firewall.


Grtz,  André.

Offline -André-

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #77 on: November 02, 2013, 05:53:59 PM »
Hi All,


I installed AIS on my 2nd PC and everything looked stable, so I did the same on my 3rd PC.

Now, 2 hours later, with the program 2014.9.0.2007 and virus definitions up to date and the avast Firewall active, everything is very OK.

All PC's are approachable and I can print from my 3 PC's.

Thanks to everyone.


Good Luck,  André.

Offline dbrisendine

  • Malware Fighter
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1258
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #78 on: November 02, 2013, 06:34:22 PM »
Good to hear that the latest version fixed your problems.  ;D
Win7 x32 Ult. SP1, Brain 2.0 / Win10 x64, Brain2.5
My help is always free but if you would like to help encourage me or show your thanks -----> DONATE

Offline jneveaux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #79 on: November 11, 2013, 08:41:53 PM »
NEW! NEW! NEW!
installed automatic upgrade of 2014.9.0.226
now my network scanner from a sharp 350 all in one cannot access my hard drive with scans.
anyone else have this problem and know a solution?
thanks.

Offline -André-

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #80 on: November 11, 2013, 10:13:02 PM »
NEW! NEW! NEW!
installed automatic upgrade of 2014.9.0.226
now my network scanner from a sharp 350 all in one cannot access my hard drive with scans.
anyone else have this problem and know a solution?
thanks.

Hi jneveaux,

Normally your upgrade has to be 2014.9.0.2007.

Did you upgraded in the avast! control panel? > adjustment > general > update (attachments)

Grtz,  André.

Offline GreggH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #81 on: November 11, 2013, 10:31:08 PM »
Normally your upgrade has to be 2014.9.0.2007.

Andre....

Actually, as of now, the update should be to 2014.9.0.2008. :) Sometimes, they come fast and furious, and one should always check at the top of the forum listing for the latest version announcement.

Gregg
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, AIS2016 SP1(12.3.2280)

Offline -André-

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #82 on: November 11, 2013, 10:43:48 PM »
Normally your upgrade has to be 2014.9.0.2007.

Andre....

Actually, as of now, the update should be to 2014.9.0.2008. :) Sometimes, they come fast and furious, and one should always check at the top of the forum listing for the latest version announcement.

Gregg

Hi Gregg, Thanks.

I just saw it.

Updated my PC's to 2014.9.0.2008 and tested them.  Everything is OK, also the printing.

@ jneveaux,

Here it works perfectly.

If you don't want Google Chrome/-Toolbar, be sure to uncheck after the reboot. (attachments).

Grtz,  André.

Offline daneyuleb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #83 on: November 21, 2013, 01:50:32 AM »
 Installed new on two computers after updating them to 8.1:  On Internet Security version 2014.9.0.2008

And, as long as the Firewall is on, File sharing between those computers is dead.  Can't "find the path" when they try to see each other's shares.

Turn it off and it's fine.

So, as of 2014.9.0.2008, for me at least....  Not.  Fixed.

Offline -André-

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #84 on: November 21, 2013, 02:29:45 AM »
Hi daneyuleb,

Here with my avast Firewall ON, everything still is fine. I don't have any problems since the update 2014.9.0.2007 (attachments).

Perhaps the avast! Technical Support can help you.

Grtz,  André.

Offline -André-

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #85 on: November 21, 2013, 04:12:16 PM »
Installed new on two computers after updating them to 8.1:  On Internet Security version 2014.9.0.2008

And, as long as the Firewall is on, File sharing between those computers is dead.  Can't "find the path" when they try to see each other's shares.

Turn it off and it's fine.

So, as of 2014.9.0.2008, for me at least....  Not.  Fixed.

Hi daneyuleb,

I forgot to mention that you can repair, or maybe better re-install avast! after an avastclear.

See the topic : AVAST 2014 Program update (9.0.2008) from pavels.

This could solve your problem.

Grtz,  André.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2013, 04:15:17 PM by -André- »

Offline daneyuleb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #86 on: November 24, 2013, 03:57:24 PM »
Hi Andre,

Thanks for that.  I did the removal reinstall on both systems, lo and behold, they could file share again with the firewall on.  But.. the next day, after rebooting, computer a fails again to see the file share on computer b (strangely, the b can see a just fine).  Turn the firewall off on b, and it's fine again.  It worked for two days and I made no changes to the systems or network in the interim.

I think -something- is still hosed in Avast w/Win 8.1. 

Not sure what, though.  Looking forward to try the next update.

-Daniel

Offline DylanC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #87 on: November 29, 2013, 07:06:25 AM »
RESOLVED!!!!!!!! UPDATE AVAST SOFTWARE!

I struggled with this issue for the month, tried everything. Avast has updated the software, not sure when. I did not receive a notification, however, I clicked on update software and low and behold there was an update and the changelog had a lot of network detection changes and mentioned that it now fully supports IPv6 which Homegroup uses to communicate. 

It now works fine like before avast!

Offline -André-

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: A.I.S. 2014 still blocks my home network
« Reply #88 on: November 29, 2013, 07:23:19 AM »
RESOLVED!!!!!!!! UPDATE AVAST SOFTWARE!

I struggled with this issue for the month, tried everything. Avast has updated the software, not sure when. I did not receive a notification, however, I clicked on update software and low and behold there was an update and the changelog had a lot of network detection changes and mentioned that it now fully supports IPv6 which Homegroup uses to communicate. 

It now works fine like before avast!

Glad to read this DylanC,

Grtz,  André.