Author Topic: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working  (Read 96747 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nalo89

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #60 on: November 05, 2013, 11:07:18 PM »
Hello TREVOR UK,  I too disabled the Avast Online Security add-on on my 3 computers to stop IE9 and IE 10 from crashing. To help partway the loss of the functions of the add-on I have installed WOT (Web of Trust) and AdFender, both free versions. Any iffy websites which may have been caught by the add-on should be caught by the Web Shield.

Offline NewUserGreg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #61 on: November 06, 2013, 07:21:33 PM »
Win7 IE10 - Just clicked the "update" button on avast and it did in fact update to the latest program version ...2007.  However when I enabled the Online Security Add-On again the issue remains the same as reported in these forum threads.  It hangs up IE and takes several minutes to load a page.  The only solution is to disable the Add-On.  The version of the Add-On says date 10-21-2013 version 9.0.2006.53 - is that the latest version of the Add-On that you have? 

I did not have the Add-On enabled when I updated the software.  Would that have somehow prevented it from updating the Add-On as well?  If so, how would I proceed to update the Add-On at this point?

Thank you very much for any help you might be able to provide with this problem.

My problem has cleared up and I had the add ons disabled but Avast was running updates. I enabled the addons a couple of days ago to see if the issue had been addressed and everything worked as expected. Good luck.

Offline reporting

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #62 on: November 06, 2013, 07:50:23 PM »
Update - The Add-On continued to slow IE down to a crawl every time I tried it again for a couple of hours or so after I had updated the program to the latest version.  Since it seems that Avast updates itself every few hours, I kept trying it.  Eventually, sure enough, Avast must have "phoned home" again WITH the newest program version, and that cleared up the problem with the Add-On.  I'm just guessing here, but the timing was interesting.  So now everything is working as expected.  No problems with the Add-On since then.  Thanks to everyone for their help!

Offline reporting

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #63 on: November 06, 2013, 07:56:19 PM »
The version you quote is the latest.
On my system, there is no slowdown opening IE with the avast! Online Security module enabled.
Thank you for this info on the Add-On version - that is what prompted me to wonder if Avast simply needed to phone home with the latest program version before it would clear up.  Don't know if this is actually what happened, but it appears that it might be.  Anyway, after several hours it did clear up and the Add-On is working fine now.  Thanks again!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 36119
  • 57 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #64 on: November 07, 2013, 12:07:23 AM »
The version you quote is the latest.
On my system, there is no slowdown opening IE with the avast! Online Security module enabled.
Thank you for this info on the Add-On version - that is what prompted me to wonder if Avast simply needed to phone home with the latest program version before it would clear up.  Don't know if this is actually what happened, but it appears that it might be.  Anyway, after several hours it did clear up and the Add-On is working fine now.  Thanks again!
Happy to hear your system is now working as it should. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1703 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 17.6.2307, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline the_doc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #65 on: November 09, 2013, 05:19:07 AM »
The incompatibility issue was cleared up with the latest version of avast!
You should be running avast! version  2014.9.0.2007

err no - the problem still exists
Most current version of program and virus definitions still are noncompliant with Internet Explorer 8 (64bit program).

To ensure that it is understood on 64bit operating systems of Windows, Internet Explorer 8 came in 32bit (default) and 64bit versions.
The 32bit (default) version works fine; it is the 64bit version that is still crashing with the current version of Avast (and virus definitions).

This thread, while it has helped certain users, has deviated from the original post (thread jacked).
This is not a problem with the Avast addon (simple enough fix that I did try even before reading the forums) - this is a problem with IE8 64bit and Avast.

Thank you for your thoughtful consideration.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 36119
  • 57 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #66 on: November 09, 2013, 07:18:20 AM »
I'd still like to know why you are running IE8 when IE11 was just made available for Windows 7 ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1703 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 17.6.2307, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline the_doc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #67 on: November 10, 2013, 01:03:02 AM »
I'd still like to know why you are running IE8 when IE11 was just made available for Windows 7 ???

Let's us think outside of the box for a moment and muse upon why IE8 might still be used.
1) corporate environment
2) incompatibility with a necessary activex addon/program on IE9, IE10 or IE11
3) personal choice
4) forced cleartype on IE9 and greater is unacceptable; cleartype is an engineering failure when compared to proper anti-aliasing algorithms
5) MS's decision to simplify the design has handicapped the UI (on IE9 and greater)

I am sure that there are other reasons, but these are just a few that may be at play.

Before one asks a question, one should exhaust one's internal thought processes.
Have a nice day.

Offline tommytinkroom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • The Dirty Boys
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #68 on: November 10, 2013, 01:27:45 AM »
I'd still like to know why you are running IE8 when IE11 was just made available for Windows 7 ???

I'd still like to know why anyone would want to use Internet explorer,Firefox is far superior! :)
Widows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit/i5 intel processor/8gb Ram/640 harddrive/Graphics intel HD3000/

Offline the_doc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #69 on: November 10, 2013, 02:14:31 AM »
I'd still like to know why you are running IE8 when IE11 was just made available for Windows 7 ???

I'd still like to know why anyone would want to use Internet explorer,Firefox is far superior! :)
amazing --- even with a post conveying plausible rationals another question is posted

Offline bikemanAMD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #70 on: November 10, 2013, 03:58:30 AM »
I use Internet Explorer since it's personal preference, and been using Internet Explorer since Version 4.0, So far Today Avast and Internet Explorer 11 in Windows 8.1 working great together, Even my Google Doc issue is finally solved, I guess thru a streaming update or something, cause today when I tried it again--it worked correctly

Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center- AMD A6-3620 APU/Radeon 6530D, 8gb DDR3 ram, 1tb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018  Windows 8.1  Pro 64bit, Windows 8 Firewall
Secondary Laptop: XP 32bit, 60gb hard drive-Avast 9.0.2018
Acer Netop W7 (32bit) 320gb hard drive, Avast 9.0.2018

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 36119
  • 57 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #71 on: November 10, 2013, 04:17:32 AM »
I'd still like to know why you are running IE8 when IE11 was just made available for Windows 7 ???

Let's us think outside of the box for a moment and muse upon why IE8 might still be used.
1) corporate environment
2) incompatibility with a necessary activex addon/program on IE9, IE10 or IE11
3) personal choice
4) forced cleartype on IE9 and greater is unacceptable; cleartype is an engineering failure when compared to proper anti-aliasing algorithms
5) MS's decision to simplify the design has handicapped the UI (on IE9 and greater)


I am sure that there are other reasons, but these are just a few that may be at play.

Before one asks a question, one should exhaust one's internal thought processes.
Have a nice day.
In my book, these aren't valid reasons but excuses. Mainly excuses to one self for not wanting to update.
Enjoy your day as well. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1703 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 17.6.2307, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline the_doc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #72 on: November 10, 2013, 05:41:35 PM »
In my book, these aren't valid reasons but excuses. Mainly excuses to one self for not wanting to update.
Enjoy your day as well. :)
your comment is a failure to comprehend - it is a significantly short sighted comment
as someone that is listed as a "avast! Überevangelist", that comment detracts from any reasonable form of support and professionalism
« Last Edit: November 10, 2013, 07:29:08 PM by the_doc »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 36119
  • 57 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #73 on: November 11, 2013, 04:37:45 AM »
Quote
it is a significantly short sighted comment
Sorry but if not agreeing with you is being shortsighted then I guess I'm guilty.  :'(
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1703 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 17.6.2307, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline tomfow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast 2014: Internet Explorer has stopped working
« Reply #74 on: November 14, 2013, 12:07:35 AM »
I have the same problem as the firts post. With the latest avast update IE 10/11 are not working even with addons/modules disabled. Only after complete unistallation of avast the IE will run without problems.
I have been able to find some info in logs about this error 1000.

Name of faulting aplication: iexplore.exe, version: 11.0.9600.16428, time stamp: 0x525b66f7
Name of faulting module: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Shift of exception: 0x00000000050b0000
ID of faulting process: 0x2a98
Time of start of faulting app: 0x01cedfe903982298
Path to faulting aplication: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
Path to faulting module: unknown
Message ID: 4319f930-4bdc-11e3-aee6-1c6f65363f7c
 
(I translated text of error from my language, so I hope it´s +/- correct to english version)

appcrashview:

Version=1
EventType=BEX64
EventTime=130287614943753779
ReportType=2
Consent=1
UploadTime=130287614944343812
ReportIdentifier=7cfeb6fc-4bd8-11e3-aee6-1c6f65363f7c
IntegratorReportIdentifier=7cfeb6fb-4bd8-11e3-aee6-1c6f65363f7c
Response.BucketId=3972321598
Response.BucketTable=5
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Název aplikace  (aplication name)
Sig[0].Value=iexplore.exe   
Sig[1].Name=Verze aplikace  (app version)
Sig[1].Value=11.0.9600.16428
Sig[2].Name=Časové razítko aplikace (time stamp)
Sig[2].Value=525b66f7
Sig[3].Name=Název chybného modulu (name fault module)
Sig[3].Value=StackHash_6745
Sig[4].Name=Verze chybného modulu  (version of faulting module)
Sig[4].Value=0.0.0.0
Sig[5].Name=Časové razítko chybného modulu (time stamp of faulting module)
Sig[5].Value=00000000
Sig[6].Name=Posun výjimky  (time shift of exception)
Sig[6].Value=0000000004ee0000
Sig[7].Name=Kód výjimky  (exception code)
Sig[7].Value=c0000005
Sig[8].Name=Data výjimky   (excaption data)
Sig[8].Value=0000000000000008
DynamicSig[1].Name=Verze operačního systému   (system ID)
DynamicSig[1].Value=6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
DynamicSig[2].Name=ID národního prostředí  (ID enviroment?)
DynamicSig[2].Value=1029
DynamicSig[22].Name=Další informace 1 (Another information 1...)
DynamicSig[22].Value=6745
DynamicSig[23].Name=Další informace 2
DynamicSig[23].Value=674562e5401d2659c9a22617889d3693
DynamicSig[24].Name=Další informace 3
DynamicSig[24].Value=05a1
DynamicSig[25].Name=Další informace 4
DynamicSig[25].Value=05a1f579c5dd2253d7a7f358b809745f
UI[2]=C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
UI[3]=Program Internet Explorer přestal pracovat.     (program IE stopped working)
UI[4]=Systém Windows může vyhledat řešení problému online.    (Windows could find solutions online)
UI[5]=Vyhledat řešení online a ukončit program    (find online solutions and quit program)
UI[6]=Vyhledat řešení online později a ukončit program  (finda solutions later and quit program
)UI[7]=Ukončit program  (quit program)
LoadedModule[0]=C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
LoadedModule[1]=C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
LoadedModule[2]=C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\snxhk64.dll
LoadedModule[3]=C:\Windows\system32\KERNEL32.dll
LoadedModule[4]=C:\Windows\system32\KERNELBASE.dll
LoadedModule[5]=C:\Windows\system32\USER32.dll
LoadedModule[6]=C:\Windows\system32\GDI32.dll
LoadedModule[7]=C:\Windows\system32\LPK.dll
LoadedModule[8]=C:\Windows\system32\USP10.dll
LoadedModule[9]=C:\Windows\system32\msvcrt.dll
LoadedModule[10]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-advapi32-l1-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[11]=C:\Windows\system32\advapi32.DLL
LoadedModule[12]=C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\sechost.dll
LoadedModule[13]=C:\Windows\system32\RPCRT4.dll
LoadedModule[14]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-shell32-l1-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[15]=C:\Windows\system32\shell32.DLL
LoadedModule[16]=C:\Windows\system32\SHLWAPI.dll
LoadedModule[17]=C:\Windows\system32\iertutil.dll
LoadedModule[18]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-version-l1-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[19]=C:\Windows\system32\version.DLL
LoadedModule[20]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-user32-l1-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[21]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-normaliz-l1-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[22]=C:\Windows\system32\normaliz.DLL
LoadedModule[23]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-shlwapi-l1-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[24]=C:\Windows\system32\IMM32.DLL
LoadedModule[25]=C:\Windows\system32\MSCTF.dll
LoadedModule[26]=C:\Windows\system32\CRYPTBASE.DLL
LoadedModule[27]=C:\Windows\system32\IEFRAME.dll
LoadedModule[28]=C:\Windows\system32\ole32.dll
LoadedModule[29]=C:\Windows\system32\OLEAUT32.dll
LoadedModule[30]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.7601.17514_none_fa396087175ac9ac\comctl32.dll
LoadedModule[31]=C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEShims.dll
LoadedModule[32]=C:\Windows\system32\comdlg32.dll
LoadedModule[33]=C:\Windows\system32\uxtheme.dll
LoadedModule[34]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-ole32-l1-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[35]=C:\Windows\system32\urlmon.dll
LoadedModule[36]=C:\Windows\system32\WININET.dll
LoadedModule[37]=C:\Windows\system32\dwmapi.dll
LoadedModule[38]=C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\sqmapi.dll
LoadedModule[39]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-advapi32-l2-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[40]=C:\Windows\system32\api-ms-win-downlevel-shlwapi-l2-1-0.dll
LoadedModule[41]=C:\Windows\system32\profapi.dll
LoadedModule[42]=C:\Windows\system32\Secur32.dll
LoadedModule[43]=C:\Windows\system32\SSPICLI.DLL
LoadedModule[44]=C:\Windows\system32\WS2_32.dll
LoadedModule[45]=C:\Windows\system32\NSI.dll
LoadedModule[46]=C:\Windows\system32\mswsock.dll
LoadedModule[47]=C:\Windows\System32\wship6.dll
LoadedModule[48]=C:\Windows\system32\CLBCatQ.DLL
LoadedModule[49]=C:\Windows\system32\IPHLPAPI.DLL
LoadedModule[50]=C:\Windows\system32\WINNSI.DLL
LoadedModule[51]=C:\Windows\System32\netprofm.dll
LoadedModule[52]=C:\Windows\System32\nlaapi.dll
LoadedModule[53]=C:\Windows\system32\CRYPTSP.dll
LoadedModule[54]=C:\Windows\system32\rsaenh.dll
LoadedModule[55]=C:\Windows\system32\RpcRtRemote.dll
LoadedModule[56]=C:\Windows\System32\npmproxy.dll
LoadedModule[57]=C:\Windows\System32\wshtcpip.dll
LoadedModule[58]=C:\Windows\system32\DNSAPI.dll
LoadedModule[59]=C:\Windows\system32\rasadhlp.dll
LoadedModule[60]=C:\Windows\System32\fwpuclnt.dll
LoadedModule[61]=C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\ieproxy.dll
LoadedModule[62]=C:\Windows\system32\apphelp.dll
LoadedModule[63]=C:\Windows\system32\IEUI.dll
LoadedModule[64]=C:\Windows\system32\PROPSYS.dll
LoadedModule[65]=C:\Windows\system32\mssprxy.dll
LoadedModule[66]=C:\Windows\system32\windowscodecs.dll
LoadedModule[67]=C:\Windows\system32\oleacc.dll
LoadedModule[68]=C:\Windows\system32\explorerframe.dll
LoadedModule[69]=C:\Windows\system32\DUser.dll
LoadedModule[70]=C:\Windows\system32\DUI70.dll
LoadedModule[71]=C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\ashShA64.dll
LoadedModule[72]=C:\Windows\system32\msi.dll
LoadedModule[73]=C:\Windows\system32\EhStorShell.dll
LoadedModule[74]=C:\Windows\system32\SETUPAPI.dll
LoadedModule[75]=C:\Windows\system32\CFGMGR32.dll
LoadedModule[76]=C:\Windows\system32\DEVOBJ.dll
LoadedModule[77]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_5.82.7601.18201_none_a4d3b9377117c3df\COMCTL32.dll
LoadedModule[78]=C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office14\GROOVEEX.DLL
LoadedModule[79]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.6161_none_08e61857a83bc251\MSVCR90.dll
LoadedModule[80]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.6161_none_08e61857a83bc251\MSVCP90.dll
LoadedModule[81]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.atl_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.6161_none_0a1fd3a3a768b895\ATL90.DLL
LoadedModule[82]=C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\MICROS~1\OFFICE14\Cultures\office.odf
LoadedModule[83]=C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office14\1029\GrooveIntlResource.dll
LoadedModule[84]=C:\Windows\System32\cscui.dll
LoadedModule[85]=C:\Windows\System32\CSCDLL.dll
LoadedModule[86]=C:\Windows\system32\CSCAPI.dll
LoadedModule[87]=C:\Windows\system32\ntshrui.dll
LoadedModule[88]=C:\Windows\system32\srvcli.dll
LoadedModule[89]=C:\Windows\system32\slc.dll
LoadedModule[90]=C:\Windows\system32\ntmarta.dll
LoadedModule[91]=C:\Windows\system32\WLDAP32.dll
LoadedModule[92]=C:\Windows\system32\MSIMG32.dll
LoadedModule[93]=C:\Windows\system32\MLANG.dll
LoadedModule[94]=C:\Windows\system32\dhcpcsvc6.DLL
LoadedModule[95]=C:\Windows\system32\dhcpcsvc.DLL
LoadedModule[96]=C:\Windows\system32\bcrypt.dll
LoadedModule[97]=C:\Windows\system32\bcryptprimitives.dll
LoadedModule[98]=C:\Windows\system32\jsproxy.dll
LoadedModule[99]=C:\Windows\System32\jscript.dll
LoadedModule[100]=C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\aswJsFlt64.dll
LoadedModule[101]=C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast5\AavmRpch64.dll
LoadedModule[102]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_avast.vc110.crt_2036b14a11e83e4a_11.0.60610.1_none_d58a6d64ab65b396\MSVCR110.dll
LoadedModule[103]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_avast.vc110.crt_2036b14a11e83e4a_11.0.60610.1_none_d58a6d64ab65b396\MSVCP110.dll
State[0].Key=Transport.DoneStage1
State[0].Value=1
FriendlyEventName=Práce zastavena (work halt)
ConsentKey=BEX64
AppName=Internet Explorer
AppPath=C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe