Author Topic: No User Interface  (Read 16883 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
No User Interface
« on: October 27, 2013, 04:09:45 PM »
I installed Avast anti virus free on my Windows 7 Home premium 32bit  system.  The install reported successful, Windows 7 reported the Avast product was the active anti-virus, the user interface was available to set scans, updates and other tool options. The next time I rebooted the system, all of the above was the same, but no links or shortcuts would bring the user interface up.  I went to the resident folder and tried to invoke the exe, no user interface.  I tried to uninstall the product and that would not execute.  I downloaded the avastclean utility and that did remove the product.  I ran a registry and file cleaner and reinstalled the product.  No joy.  I still can't bring up the user interface.  I'm using Windows firewall and Windows Defender is turned off.

i purchased Avast Total Support subscription, they work over my system and the Avast Anti-virus is still not working.

Not a happy camper,
HankJS
Newark, DE

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5410
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 04:53:04 PM »
hi HankJS,

Not a happy camper is understandable.

Any chance you used and uninstalled another antivirus program before installing avast!?  If so, what was it?  Are you currently running another a/v at this time?

...I ran a registry and file cleaner and reinstalled the product.  No joy.  I still can't bring up the user interface.  I'm using Windows firewall and Windows Defender is turned off.

i purchased Avast Total Support subscription, they work over my system and the Avast Anti-virus is still not working.

Not a happy camper,
HankJS
Newark, DE
Unfortunately, use of any registry cleaner can cause issues such as above.  If you've automatically saved the registry before making any changes (cleaning the registry of all found errors) suggest restoring all backups made to hopefully find the one or two or more entries removed that may be the cause of your issue. 

However, this step may not be needed if the below is done first.  sfc /scannow command can repair missing or damaged Windows files and restore them to original configuration when run.

By using the command "sfc /scannow" first (without the quotes) after opening the cmd window as Administrator while in your administrator account may resolve your issue as it may find and restore/repair any needed/missing Windows file when it is run.  Type sfc /scannow command in the cmd window and press Enter and allow it to completely finish.  Do not interrupt the scan whilst it is in progress.  Type exit when done and press Enter to close the cmd window.

[EDIT:]  You can get the Administrator cmd window by right-clicking the cmd.exe at the top of the menu screen in .jpeg 1.

See .jpeg below for more info.   Enter your command syntax like this:  C:\Windows\System32>sfc /scannow  (Bold used for emphasis only)

Note that there is a space between sfc and the slash /   This space must be there for sfc to run correctly.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2013, 04:56:23 PM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1809 Avast Premier Security version 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI version 1.0.415.  Current version is back to Avast Internet Security.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2013, 06:36:53 PM »
Hi, mchain

I ran sfc and it found no integrity violations.  I've also run the avast "repair" and that still hasn't fixed the problem.

I have no registry restore files dated after yesterday's Avast total support's work on my system.  They got rid of many things that an earlier registry restore file would have references for.

This system most recently had System Mechanic Pro, that was uninstalled because the subscription was getting near to ending and didn't want to renew it on this system.

HankJS
Newark, DE

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5410
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2013, 05:59:47 AM »
I'm thinking System Mechanic Pro somehow could have made a mess of your operating system, plus the work of the total support people may not have helped you that much, if at all.

Under the care of a certified malware expert, you might be able to repair the damage, plus he will be able to look for anomalies (missing Windows files?) and maybe run a specialised repair program or two.  Would contacting such an expert help you here if I contacted him for you?

Your issue is, unfortunately, a rare one, in that the gui apparently does not appear to start anymore.  The fact that shortcuts to the program appear not to work points to standard Windows operation as not functioning in the way it should.

Again, have you ever run a different antivirus program in the past?  How did you remove it?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1809 Avast Premier Security version 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI version 1.0.415.  Current version is back to Avast Internet Security.

Offline drummerman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2013, 08:26:27 AM »


Your issue is, unfortunately, a rare one, in that the gui apparently does not appear to start anymore.  The fact that shortcuts to the program appear not to work points to standard Windows operation as not functioning in the way it should.


Hardly. The issue of not being able to access the GUI (usually accompanied by a missing taskbar icon) is not unique. Go through the threads over the last few days and you will see.

regards

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2013, 04:22:58 PM »
The system involved with this problem is 6 years old.  I've already violated rationality by buying an expensive service contract to fix a freeware anti virus. So, if that service can't fix it or there isn't something I can do myself, i will have to more to another product that doesn't have the same problem.

As far as things I can do myself and sfc /scannow reported no problems, would a repair install be a waste of time?

Regards,
HankJS
Newark, DE

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2226
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Internet Security (latest stable version) • Malwarebytes 3 Premium (latest) • Google Chrome • CCleaner •

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5410
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2013, 06:27:37 PM »
I'd concur with the above advice.

Do note that some information as to os version, previous antivirus programs installed/removed, any antivirus programs that came with the system when new but never used/or used, how uninstalled, etc., is missing, so going off on a tangent is to be expected.  Glad that sfc reported no errors, so that's good.  Guessing never seems to work well so...

Failing if the fresh clean install does not work, then one can get the older 8.0.1497 free stable free version here:  http://www.filehippo.com/download_avast_antivirus/15860/

Be careful what links you click here.  Seems filehippo has the main link re-directed to version 9.0 instead of 8.0, so use the mirror link instead to get what you need.

See attached .jepg below re which link to click to get the older stable version of avast! 8.0.1497 below:
Second attachment is about a setting to change to prevent either automatic updating or pop-up nags to upgrade/update after either downgrading to 8.0 or successfully installing 9.0 versions: 

[EDIT:]  Fixed typo.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2013, 06:41:04 PM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1809 Avast Premier Security version 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI version 1.0.415.  Current version is back to Avast Internet Security.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2013, 07:16:33 PM »
I tried the above advice to use the Avast online install.
First I used the Avastclean in safe mode to remove Avast anti virus free.  Then ran the online install link.  After some time the program installed and functioned as expected including a system scan that revealed no problems.  Window control panel reported Avast the active anti virus and malware software.  Various dedsktop and systray linls brought up the UI.  I registered the program and rebooted the system.

After the reboot, the Avast icons were present, but the icon in the systray was not there.  I clicked on the desktop icon the the UI popped up and indicated the anti-virus was operational.

Before clicking the shortcut, I checked the Windows control panel, Avast was running.  I looked at MSCONFIG startup and there was an Avast item in the startup list.  But entry has "/nogui" at the end of the command line.

HankJS
Newark,DE

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82544
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2013, 07:23:25 PM »
That is for the avast User Interface, ordinarily if you ran the command C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\avastui.exe it would open the avast User Interface, the /nogui at the end of the command suppresses the opening of the avast UI. The avast tray icon however, should be there the /nogui parameter doesn't suppress that.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2013, 07:33:14 PM »
Hi, DavidR

Is there any way to get around the "kick start" I have to do by clicking on the desktop icon, which does bring up the GUI and put the Avast "spinning ball" in the systray.  It's not there before I do this.

HankJS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82544
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2013, 07:58:02 PM »
I can't understand why the tray icon isn't displayed on/shortly after startup.

Do you have any other security based software (firewall, anti-spyware, etc.), as some have been known to block new startup entries ?
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2013, 09:11:09 PM »
The only firewall reported by Windows is ZoneAlarm free firewall.  That's the one I have installed.   I've "allowed" all in/out requests by AVAST.  I have the exact same setup on my other system running Win7-Pro 64bit and no problems.

HankJS
Newark, DE

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82544
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2013, 09:49:52 PM »
ZA has form for blocking whilst supposedly allowed. I would suggest deleting the entries for avast in ZA on the troublesome system and forcing ZA to ask permission again.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2013, 10:02:06 PM »
Hi, DavidR

The start problem was happening when the only firewall was Windows firewall.  But I'll try your ZA suggestion.