Author Topic: No known virus protection soft ware foun...  (Read 6474 times)

torozoka

No known virus protection soft ware foun...
« on: May 30, 2005, 10:50:25 PM »
Hi guys, I'm a newbie all the way around and I'm still learning about computers, I've been  using Avast home edition for the last 15 day and happy with it, it's amazing how faster my machine runs now.
Guys I'm very confused, I did a symantec security check this morning and they are saying ----warning! no known virus protection software found,then I checked the windows security center and that's showing ---avast!antivirus 4.6.665[VPS 0522-0] reports that it is up to date and virus scanning is on, like I said before I'm very comfused and I would like to now what's going on. Thank's in advance guys.

hp pavilionze4400---windows xp/sp2--dial up connection--sygate personal firewall---Avast AV home edition Ad-Adware se personal--spybot s&d---microsoft antyspyware--IE and firefox browsers.

Thank's again   :).

MFB

Re: No known virus protection soft ware foun...
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2005, 10:52:35 PM »
Ignore symantec security check, they only detect major antivirus programs such as McAfee and Panda, they won't detect AVG, avast! and some other antivirus programs. 

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2005, 11:03:18 PM »
Marketing, marketing, marketing, warning! no known virus protection software found, we would be happy to sell you one ;D

If windows security center recognises avast, what does that tell you?

Ignor the Symantec marketing, when they tell you you aren't protected.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2005, 12:15:40 AM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot