Author Topic: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy  (Read 12288 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mpec82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • I'm a llama!
    • mpec82.net
ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« on: June 02, 2005, 11:32:53 PM »
It has crashed a few times when closing the pc, but the real problem comes when the pc goes in power saving mode.

1. pc goes in power saving mode and the monitor deactivates itself
2. cpu usage goes at 64-84 and the service has high priority and i can't change it (access denied)
3. i can try pausing the module (ashServ is standard protection, right?) but when i try to reactivate it the system freeze and i can't access task manager


Any idea? :(

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2005, 05:03:37 AM »
Are you using Windows XP?
If so, please, go to folder \windows\minidump and send the newest (recent) .mdmp files for analysis.
Better if you can compress (zip) them and add some information about the error and the link for this thread.  ;)

Send an email to any of these addresses:
vlk (at) avast.com
rypacek (at) asw.cz

Or upload to the any of these anonymous ftp servers:
ftp://ftp.asw.cz/incoming
ftp://www2.asw.cz/incoming

Eddy's links for minidump issues:
http://www.jsiinc.com/SUBJ/tip4900/rh4981.htm
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtools/debugging/default.mspx
The best things in life are free.

Offline mpec82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • I'm a llama!
    • mpec82.net
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2005, 03:16:48 PM »
sent to vlk AT avast.com

Let me know, i don't want to change avast with others av, avast is great.

Offline mpec82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • I'm a llama!
    • mpec82.net
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2005, 02:26:45 PM »
argh, again

after 3-5 minutes ashServ.exe cpu use returned normal, mboh

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2005, 10:50:24 PM »
after 3-5 minutes ashServ.exe cpu use returned normal, mboh
Are you using the Pro (or the Trial) version?
Did you schedule any scanning (on-demmand) in background?
Which firewall do you use? Can any other program in your computer conflicting with avast?
The best things in life are free.

Offline mpec82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • I'm a llama!
    • mpec82.net
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2005, 02:44:19 PM »
i'm using the home version
as firewall i'm using winxp firewall + hardware firewall of the router
i have scheduled nothing


it's strange when this thing happens if i try to pause and restart the system freeze, if i terminate and then start the module again it conitnue using 64-86 of cpu for others 1-3 minutes and then it goes ok.

next week i'll get the new computer (now i have a notebbok), if this thing happens also on that one i'll let you know.

let me know if you find something :D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2005, 03:00:22 PM »
Do you use avast screensaver module?
Can you make sure to delete your temporary internet files (cache) and see if it is anything strange into your c:\windows\temp and c:\documents and settings\ ... \Local Configuration\Temp there is anything strange?
The best things in life are free.

Offline mpec82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • I'm a llama!
    • mpec82.net
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2005, 03:11:38 PM »
cache cleared, i don't use the screensaver


i let you know if it happens again

Offline mike s

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2005, 06:00:48 PM »
Hi, folks!  I just joined your forum (thanks for having me) because, you guessed it, for the past few days "ashServ.exe" has been taking 100% cpu usage upon logon.

Prior to this morning the only work around I could find was to disable virus protection, but I have made a discovery that leads me to believe that "ashserv.exe" may not be the culprit.

I am running Windows XP Home SP2 on an AMD Athlon XP 2500+ machine with 1.5GB RAM and 3000MB Pagefile.  I am using Windows XP Firewall and have installed avast! v4.6.655 Home Edition Anti-Virus and (thank you once again Bill Gates!) Microsoft Anti-Spyware (Beta-1) v1.0.0.509.  I discovered this morning that "ashServ.exe" shifts into high-heat overdrive only when it and the Microsoft real-time security agents ("gcasServ.exe") are enabled at the same time.  Since the  anti-spyware software has been acting somewhat (understatement) strangely lately, i.e.,  alerting that the NetBios Messenger Service is running when in fact it is disabled and also stopping the alerter and messenger services at seemingly random instances,  I'm beginning to believe that the antispyware software may be the problem.

If any of you can offer me and insight, tips or advice on this pesky little problem I would really appreciate it, and if any of these little tidbits help, I am more than happy to share.

Anyway (and wish me luck on this), right now I'm going to brave the trip into Microsoft Support and see what I can find out there.  If I survive the trip I'll check in later.

Thanks, and may the gods of binary code be with you. -- mike s

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2005, 08:58:04 PM »
Since theĀ anti-spyware software has been acting somewhat (understatement) strangely lately
For me too... Icon appears and disappears... gcasServ.exe crashes and is reloaded... takes all CPU...
Right now I disable the resident guard of it.
I have had no trouble with both using (AntiSpyware + avast) but as you said they could be related I decided to post...  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2005, 11:59:48 AM »
If ashServ.exe is taking up CPU, it's important to find out if the avast blue ball (the tray icon) is spinning or not. If it is, avast is scanning something (might be triggered e.g. by a background scan of another program, which keeps opening the files).


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline mpec82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • I'm a llama!
    • mpec82.net
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2005, 11:54:34 PM »
mine is spinnig, something about net framework.log or similar

but i don't know why.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11801
    • AVAST Software
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2005, 09:56:34 AM »
Can you check the full path, please? (also, make sure it's really scanned for longer time, i.e. not just a random access)
Thanks.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2005, 12:26:41 PM »
Scanning a log file? Sounds like moving the sensitivity slider from High to Normal should have benefical effect in your case...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline mpec82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • I'm a llama!
    • mpec82.net
Re: ashServ.exe is driving me crazy
« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2005, 05:13:47 PM »
the file is framework.log and is in c:\windows\system32\webm\logs

every time the "problem" happens i find avast scanning this file


next week (i hope) i'll have the new pc, i'll let you know.