Author Topic: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages  (Read 2537 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

HillyBop

  • Guest
Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« on: November 16, 2013, 03:51:27 PM »
The available buttons in the orange bar at the top of forum pages change depending on which page is being shown.

Some pages show:

HOME | HELP | SEARCH | PROFILE | MY MESSAGES | LOGOUT

Other pages show:

HOME | HELP | LOGIN | REGISTER

Both versions appear when I am logged in (I would only expect the second one if I was logged out).

Pressing HOME or HELP on the second version will give the first version.

Is it me or is there a problem with the site?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11151
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 03:55:39 PM »
I don't see this, all normal here.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46595
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2013, 03:55:53 PM »
This is all I see:

I've also read another post where someone was missing some expected buttons
so at this point, either of your assumptions could be correct. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

HillyBop

  • Guest
Re: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2013, 04:02:36 PM »
Actually, I'm wrong!!

Pressing HOME or HELP doesn't always give the first version.

Makes it a bit difficult to log out!!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46595
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2013, 04:05:24 PM »
Actually, I'm wrong!!

Pressing HOME or HELP doesn't always give the first version.

Makes it a bit difficult to log out!!
It does for me so the log out button is still there.
(I never log out.)
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 04:13:34 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31299
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2013, 04:09:04 PM »
Everything is working fine for me.
No strange things at all.
Just a guess, but it can be a corrupted download of one or more page(s) and stored in the cache of the browser.
Close the browser, empty the cache and check if the problem is solved.
Or, hold down ctrl and click "reload page", that will force the browser to reload the page from the server and not get it from the cache (if it is there)

Online Luxor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2013, 04:27:53 PM »
Is it me or is there a problem with the site?
Not just you, it's happened at my end a couple of times today.  :-\
Never noticed it before today though.

HillyBop

  • Guest
Re: Odd behaviour of orange bar at top of forum pages
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2013, 04:35:58 PM »
Everything is working fine for me.
No strange things at all.
Just a guess, but it can be a corrupted download of one or more page(s) and stored in the cache of the browser.
Close the browser, empty the cache and check if the problem is solved.
Or, hold down ctrl and click "reload page", that will force the browser to reload the page from the server and not get it from the cache (if it is there)

Excellent!! Thanks Eddy.

That has fixed it!!

Strange because I cleared the cache early this morning and was still getting the problem!!


Don't you just love computers?