Author Topic: ashWebSv.exe keeps closing  (Read 5568 times)

TURTLE

ashWebSv.exe keeps closing
« on: June 06, 2005, 10:10:52 AM »
Hi, I am new to all of this, and I'm not sure where to post this question. I have just installed avast 4.6 home and I am having a problem with something. I have windows XP with SP 2 installed.

I am repeatedly getting this message = ashWebSv.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close.

I had Norton Antivirus 2005 installed when this happened the first few times. I have un-installed Norton and the problem is still there.

Can anyone give me any ideas as to the cause of this problem? Please feel free to email me as I'm not at all sure that I will ever be able to find my way back to this post.

Thank for any help. Mickey

Offline Vlk

• Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ashWebSv.exe keeps closing
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2005, 10:47:54 AM »
Are there any files in the <avast>\data\log folder called unpXXXX (XXXX is a random number)? If so, please ZIP them up and send them to my email address.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

TURTLE

« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2005, 11:44:45 PM »
Hi, Thank you for responding to my question. Like I said at the start, I am new to all of this, and I'm going to need some help. Yes there are several of those "upnxxxxx.mdmp" files in that folder. I have never had to do this before, so please bare with me. I will need a walk through on how to go about getting those files zipped up and into an email. Then I am not too sure of how to find your email address. Please tell me where to look for it. Thank you for any help. Mickey

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2005, 03:44:47 AM »
Yes there are several of those "upnxxxxx.mdmp" files in that folder.
Choose the last (newer) two ones, for instance.