Author Topic: DSL modem with firewall???  (Read 8451 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
DSL modem with firewall???
« on: June 09, 2005, 04:11:47 PM »
I have a little question here. As I am new on DSL. At my modem package is written "Build in firewall to efficiently prevent hackers from intrusions" Maybe someone can explain me how does it works, and is it effective? Is it something like hardware firewall? Thanks pals!  ;)
« Last Edit: June 09, 2005, 04:48:06 PM by Ylap »

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: DSL modem wit firewall???
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2005, 04:18:36 PM »
Hey Ylap!Could you tell us the model of the modem?We really need that  to tell you more!But i think it's safe to say that  the hardware firewall is  blocking incoming traffic but not outgoing!

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: DSL modem wit firewall???
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2005, 04:21:23 PM »
Look below message.  ;D Huawei SmartAX MT820

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: DSL modem wit firewall???
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2005, 04:31:34 PM »
Sorry Ylap i didn't see your sig!I can't find anything useful on google about your modem but here are some sites where you can test your firewall(just turn off your software firewall and test):www.pcflank.com/test.htmwww.symantec.com/cgi-bin/securitycheck.cgi
https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 your ports should be all STEALTH!

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2005, 04:52:16 PM »
Checked with symantec, but left Kerio running. And have good results.  ;D
« Last Edit: June 10, 2005, 04:26:17 PM by Ylap »

Offline StopMe

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1200
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2005, 04:56:42 AM »
Your DSL had a built in firewall?  Hmm interesting, my DSL didn't have that.  You must have a ISP that cares about you.   ;D

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2005, 10:35:04 AM »
What about pcflank?Oh and can you access your modems settings like if you have a router?I'd be really interested to know  cause i newer saw a dsl modem with firewall!!!

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2005, 04:24:30 PM »
Your DSL had a built in firewall?  Hmm interesting, my DSL didn't have that.  You must have a ISP that cares about you.   ;D

What about pcflank?Oh and can you access your modems settings like if you have a router?I'd be really interested to know cause i newer saw a dsl modem with firewall!!!

If you are so interested, look here. it should answer your questions.  ;D

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2005, 08:51:41 PM »
Nice so it's actually a router with built in DSL modem! :D Seems to be OK though.I have a linksys router myself the modem is just a regular one.So what is your line speed?

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2005, 09:16:14 PM »
Just 256/128 kbits, but I can use ISP FTP with 512/256 kbits. After 56kbit dial up it's fast enough. And it's unlimited on weekends and weekdays from 7 PM till 8 AM.

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2005, 09:27:40 PM »
And it's unlimited on weekends and weekdays from 7 PM till 8 AM.
What do you mean by that?

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2005, 09:34:24 PM »
What do you mean by that?

Sorry for misunderstanding.
I have no sent/received data limits on weekends. On working days it's unlimited from 7 PM till 8 AM. It means that on working days from 8 AM till 7 PM I have to pay 0.12 Lt/MB, so on this time I'm not connected to save my money. It's enough time I have on evening and weekends!  ;D

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2005, 09:38:33 PM »
Ok i get it know ;) how interesting is that.I only have to pay once a month(around 40 euro) and no limits whatsoever!Isn't that cool?

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: DSL modem with firewall???
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2005, 09:49:46 PM »
I pay 8 euro per month (in current exchange rate). But with telephones' line monthly charge it gets 14 euro total.