Author Topic: Hardened Mode  (Read 52684 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline skinnypops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • backup, backup, backup
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2014, 05:07:24 PM »
@David R

i saw problem of very brief popups from hardened mode when using avast 9. set info popups to 7 seconds or above solved that problem. apparently hardened mode relies on info popups. not using hardened mode on v.10, so don't know if this still works.
give it a try.

hope it works for you
skinnypops
new HP , amd a10-8700p quad core @ 1.8 gig radeon r6 graphics ,dedicated radeon r8 2gb graphics card, 8 gig ddr3-1600 memory, 1 tb hdd, win 10x64 home 1607 build 14393.1066, avast free 17.3.2291,  windows firewall, mbae free, mbam free, open dns, cryptoprevent, mcshield, paragon bu & recovery 2015,system explorer

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87445
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2014, 05:19:10 PM »
@ skinnypops
Thanks, I suspected that might be the case, I have my info popup set at 2 sec, for the most part that is what you want. Though I'm surprised that avast would have considered Hardened Mode popups as informative, rather than something more severe.

Now that the Add an exclusion option works, it isn't to much of an issue, if you are quick, hover the mouse over the window/popup it doesn't close.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.1.6049 (build 23.1.7883.774) UI 1.0.746/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline 1234ava

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #17 on: May 03, 2015, 03:21:36 AM »
Just a question about Hardened Mode: after you set an exclusion (in the pop-up), can you revoke it later, in case you change your mind?

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #18 on: May 03, 2015, 03:51:08 AM »
Yes. Just open Avast > SETTINGS > General > Exclusions > Hardened mode > Look for the excluded file and delete.

Offline 1234ava

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2015, 05:14:13 AM »
Thanks! I was looking in the wrong place (Settings - General - Hardened Mode)!   :-[

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2015, 11:11:53 PM »
Thanks! I was looking in the wrong place (Settings - General - Hardened Mode)!   :-[

You are welcome ;)

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2015, 05:53:52 AM »
I have a question. Can hardened Mode affect some games?

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2015, 04:27:59 PM »
I have a question. Can hardened Mode affect some games?

No. Why ? Hardened mode just verify the file/s against an Avast criteria ei. Poor reputation ( Moderate ) or a white list ( aggressive ). After the file/s has/have been confirmed as good, Avast does not do anything else with them.  Now, if Hardened mode shows you an alert, from a game you just executed, and you do not exclude the file, depending on the file, the game may not work.

Offline greyowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
Re: Hardened Mode
« Reply #23 on: May 27, 2017, 08:04:19 PM »
@David R

i saw problem of very brief popups from hardened mode when using avast 9. set info popups to 7 seconds or above solved that problem. apparently hardened mode relies on info popups. not using hardened mode on v.10, so don't know if this still works.
give it a try.

hope it works for you
skinnypops

I know this is an old thread, but I have a relevant question.

Is the duration of the Hardened Mode popups still set by the Info Popups setting or has it been changed to one of the other settings?

I think the Hardened Mode Popups should be determined by the popup setting for Warning Popups or Alert Popups. 

If it is still determined by the Info Popup, could someone recommend to Avast that it be changed to Warnings Popups or Alert Popups?

Thanks
Dell Laptop, 1.6Ghz, 1.5GB RAM, XPsp3, Avast Free, Windows Firewall