Author Topic: SecureLine (Windows) Auto-connect on system boot  (Read 7962 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xStagGx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
SecureLine (Windows) Auto-connect on system boot
« on: December 13, 2013, 10:40:49 AM »
Hey,
Im using SecureLine for every connection (both home WiFi and public hotspot's) - is it possible, and if so - how do I force SL to automatically connect to selected location on system boot?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7078
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: SecureLine (Windows) Auto-connect on system boot
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2013, 07:07:22 PM »
I'm not sure you can as even when Secureline recognizes an 'unsecure network' it doesn't automatically connect; it will ask first (if option to 'ask' is checked).
I've noticed that when connecting automatically to 'secured wifi network' (your home for example), Secureline doesn't ask to connect. But if you "Disconnect" from your network when shutting down, upon reboot and connecting manually, then Secureline will ask to connect.  :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Billy Sugger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: SecureLine (Windows) Auto-connect on system boot
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2013, 11:16:41 AM »
I have sent a ticket to Avast asking why Secureline does not connect on boot up and why there is no icon to show whether it is connected or not. No reply after 7 days!!

Other VPN sites have an icon to tell you whether it is on or off and you can switch it on or off from the same icon. Can't be rocket science to set this up. For the price paid I would expect an all bells and whistles setup. In it's favour I haven't had any dropped lines or slow speed problems.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7078
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: SecureLine (Windows) Auto-connect on system boot
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2013, 08:03:55 PM »
I have sent a ticket to Avast asking why Secureline does not connect on boot up and why there is no icon to show whether it is connected or not. No reply after 7 days!!

Other VPN sites have an icon to tell you whether it is on or off and you can switch it on or off from the same icon. Can't be rocket science to set this up. For the price paid I would expect an all bells and whistles setup. In it's favour I haven't had any dropped lines or slow speed problems.

Well there is an icon and it appears everytime I choose to connect to an "unsecure network"
It's a drag if icon is not appearing but I have no issue with Secureline here.  :)
Screeshot of icon in tray

Edit:  I was on line, behind Secureline VPN when I post this.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 08:37:49 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Rasmus14

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: SecureLine (Windows) Auto-connect on system boot
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2016, 08:40:33 PM »
Auto connect on system boot would be a great feature to have in all products where secureline is, as it ensures you always are protected from hackers/ISP's - cause your connection is encrypted

Offline gbmtech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: SecureLine (Windows) Auto-connect on system boot
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2018, 10:36:19 PM »
Secureline is in the Windows Startup group but it doesn't automatically connect upon startup. Avast corporate support please reply.