Author Topic: New Skype Worm ANNOYING  (Read 21796 times)

rhat0

New Skype Worm ANNOYING
« on: December 17, 2013, 06:37:29 AM »
So, I get back from school today to awake my computer system. Upon waking my system from sleep(Win 7 64bit updated, had Avast running).. a Skype notification appears at the bottom right of my screen.

Next thing I know explorer.exe all of the sudden crashes within seconds of waking my system from sleep. Now whenever I'm using Skype it appears that somehow Skype is forcefully hooked into and Skype's RAM usage jumps from the normal 70-80,000 up to 300,000. Along with that the CPU idles around 25-50 for me, which the normal is about 2.

It is very evident to me that this worm is attempting to spread. It looks like this:
X

Those image files are mine from the default selected receiving folder path for my Skype. I'm still not entirely sure how I was infected nor what is infected. I'm guessing explore.exe is being hooked by something.

I'm not very good with reverse engineering malware/worms, but I understand a lot of the terminology and will figure out what to do if someone can provide me with a set/short list of tools. I just want this damn worm off my system.

I've switched from Avast to BitDefender in hopes of BD picking it up. No luck at all, I'll be switching back to Avast. I'm guessing this thing is crypted to bypass AV detections.

Anyone's help would be greatly appreciated. I want this Skype worm halted quick by Avast and I'm willing to help however I can.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2013, 12:35:24 PM by rhat0 »

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
Re: New Skype Worm ANNOYING
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2013, 07:20:40 AM »
we need some logs from you..... attach not copy and paste
Malwarebytes / OTL / aswMBR.     http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

removal experts are notified,  be patient as it may take some hours before thay are online

rhat0

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2013, 07:38:26 AM »