Author Topic: Password  (Read 8179 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sgrbrlnd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Password
« on: October 09, 2003, 06:23:55 PM »

After 278 update when I launch OE I am asked for the password ....and it is not accepted ............

Offline rexdal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Marc Bolan Lives
    • T.Rex- Till Dawn
Re:Password
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2003, 07:41:54 PM »
I am in the same situation
 I was about to un-instal this new version and reinstal the previous one

         the Only waye I can send mail out is too remove avasts 120 ip and put in my reg ISP's mail. otherwise I can't get any mail to go out I just get a box asking for my password over and over

            can anyone help US

    Rick
PS mail coming in is fine with the avast 120 Ip is just going out
Thanks for this great forum -you have helped me in many areas!<br />     So now I know my PC is safe I can go and listen to Patti Smith , Joplin , Bolan and Boy G.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Password
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2003, 10:58:29 PM »
Do you try to run Mail Protection Wizard twice: 1st Disabling protection and trying to get the Mail and 2nd Turning on avast! protection? Please, for more information, see manual configuration of avast! Internet Mail Provider at help...
Btw, which OS are you using?  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline sgrbrlnd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re:Password
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2003, 10:18:15 AM »
I'm OK.
It was because e-mail scanner Ashmaisv.exe wants to access the Internet Dest IP 81.74.232.46....and I have to set this program into the firewall.
Why this change ? May be you are starting to study an anti-spam....
« Last Edit: October 10, 2003, 05:38:05 PM by sgrbrlnd »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Password
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2003, 03:09:48 PM »

I'm OK.
It was because e-mail scanner Ashmaisv.exe wants to access the Internet Dest IP 81.74.232.46....and I have to set this program into the firewall.
Why this change ? May be you are starting to study an anti-spam....

Strange avast! team...
What about the IP posted at FAQs? Is this a new one?

1) Servidores conectados pelo avast!:
URL: http://www.asw.cz/iavs4pro
IP: 195.70.130.34

URL: http://www.avast.com/iavs4pro
IP: 64.246.6.135

URL: http://www.iavs.net/iavs4pro
IP: 207.44.156.15

URL: http://www.iavs.cz/iavs4pro
IP: 62.168.45.69

Strange indeed...  >:(
The best things in life are free.

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Password
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2003, 03:21:24 PM »
There was no such change. Mail Scanner (ashMaiSv.exe) makes connections with mail servers that you use for your mail, and possibly with a DNS server.

These addresses are related to the updater, not the mail scanner.

Offline sgrbrlnd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re:Password
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2003, 03:58:41 PM »
It never happened before  ...........?!?!??
I 've had to add  Ashmaisv.exe (vers. 4,1,274,0) to the programs that can access internet to the firewall .
Before the "278" update was OE to connect to ISP mail server and now is Ashmaisv.exe. No problem,this is the behaviour...

This has allowed OE to work.
 

 
« Last Edit: October 10, 2003, 05:48:24 PM by sgrbrlnd »

Offline rexdal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Marc Bolan Lives
    • T.Rex- Till Dawn
Re:Password
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2003, 08:46:47 PM »
Do you try to run Mail Protection Wizard twice: 1st Disabling protection and trying to get the Mail and 2nd Turning on avast! protection? Please, for more information, see manual configuration of avast! Internet Mail Provider at help...
Btw, which OS are you using?  ;)

         BRAVO
   I don't know how that made it work but it did, cause the first running of the e-mail wizard set it up in the same manner
 and it wasn;t getting mail it was sending mail out - though still there is a slight problem I had to take out in my username everything BUT my username with the wizard it added the rexdal# .........etc

     one other thing , off this topic sorry , but the last 2 through scans I did I came up with 2 infected files and I delted them but I am not getting any warning from my scanner protection when they are coming In ??
       
        thanks
rick
Thanks for this great forum -you have helped me in many areas!<br />     So now I know my PC is safe I can go and listen to Patti Smith , Joplin , Bolan and Boy G.

Offline Pavel

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4305
  • Nostalgia isn't what it used to be...
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Password
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2003, 09:28:07 PM »
Strange avast! team...
What about the IP posted at FAQs? Is this a new one?
...
URL: http://www.avast.com/iavs4pro
IP: 64.246.6.135
...
Strange indeed...  >:(

No, his IP (81.74.232.46) is probably really his DNS server.

The only change we have made is the IP of the server above - we have switched to the new computer recently. The current status of iAVS update servers IP can be found here: http://www.avast.com/i_idt_1366.html

Hope this helps
Pavel
All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Password
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2003, 02:50:09 AM »
No, his IP (81.74.232.46) is probably really his DNS server.
The only change we have made is the IP of the server above - we have switched to the new computer recently. The current status of iAVS update servers IP can be found here: http://www.avast.com/i_idt_1366.html
Hope this helps
Pavel

Sorry for my stupidity Pavel...  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Password
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2003, 02:52:09 AM »
BRAVO
I don't know how that made it work but it did, cause the first running of the e-mail wizard set it up in the same manner
thanks
rick

You're wellcome to the forums...
Sometimes a good shot is the simple way...  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline sgrbrlnd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re:Password
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2003, 04:29:27 PM »
Quote
No, his IP (81.74.232.46) is probably really his DNS server.

Of course yes,  81.74.232.46:DNS  ..........is my ISP .
While now MSIMN.exe (OE) Destination IP is
127.0.0.1 : POP3...
and  IEXPLORE.exe Destination IP is 127.0.0.1:Port xxxx....
It means that a bug in avast! could lock IE.........
« Last Edit: October 13, 2003, 04:31:10 PM by sgrbrlnd »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Password
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2003, 08:49:51 PM »
Quote
No, his IP (81.74.232.46) is probably really his DNS server.

Of course yes,  81.74.232.46:DNS  ..........is my ISP .
While now MSIMN.exe (OE) Destination IP is
127.0.0.1 : POP3...
and  IEXPLORE.exe Destination IP is 127.0.0.1:Port xxxx....
It means that a bug in avast! could lock IE.........

Pavel, could you explain this for me? I didn't understand...
Is it a conflit of ports? Firewall? I cannot "see" a bug in avast!...  :'(
The best things in life are free.