Author Topic: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB  (Read 10778 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« on: December 23, 2013, 10:53:09 PM »
I am running on the latest Avast Internet Security 9.0.2011  and since that time i have i high memory use of the Avast service , it uses about 80 and 110 MB all the time. I didn't have this problem with the 9.0.2008 version. I hope the problem will be solved soon.

Greats,

rnuis
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 602
  • Warrior Forospyware
    • Forospyware
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 11:49:33 PM »
I am running on the latest Avast Internet Security 9.0.2011  and since that time i have i high memory use of the Avast service , it uses about 80 and 110 MB all the time. I didn't have this problem with the 9.0.2008 version. I hope the problem will be solved soon.

Greats,

rnuis

idem...+1  it seems to be a problem with the new web shield
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Internet explorer 11 y firefox latest-Seguridad:Avast Internet Security- Malwarebytes Premiun- Hitman Pro alert

Offline propheticus

  • Common sense is the best safety feature
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2013, 01:00:42 AM »
Strange, while surfing and torrenting the service only uses 19MB here... (I don't have firewall, mail and spam shield though. Only web and filesystem shield.)

Might be worth trying a repair install or better yet a clean install. See this post for avastclear.exe to uninstall completely and download/install AIS anew. If that doesn't fix anything my money is on the firewall...

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2234
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2013, 01:11:14 AM »
Could you guys send the process dump?

Also, increase in memory usage by avastSvc.exe. Someone said that it is by design, but it has reached even 89 MB in my system.

I honestly think it's a memory leak...

That's what I thought too, since  the memory usage apparently keeps increasing.

could you send us process dump?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7467
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2013, 01:14:52 AM »
That's right Alikhan. Thanks. lukas.hasik is asking for avastSvc.exe process dump to be sent to avast!.

Code: [Select]
ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=142936.msg1038224#msg1038224

I sent mine before yesterday. Please send yours. The more dumps they have the fastest they can fix the issue.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=142936.msg1038380#msg1038380
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 602
  • Warrior Forospyware
    • Forospyware
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2013, 01:48:45 AM »
That's right Alikhan. Thanks. lukas.hasik is asking for avastSvc.exe process dump to be sent to avast!.

Code: [Select]
ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=142936.msg1038224#msg1038224

I sent mine before yesterday. Please send yours. The more dumps they have the fastest they can fix the issue.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=142936.msg1038380#msg1038380

do as I upload the file from dump to avast?

miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Internet explorer 11 y firefox latest-Seguridad:Avast Internet Security- Malwarebytes Premiun- Hitman Pro alert

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2013, 01:43:07 PM »
How do i make a memory dump??
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 602
  • Warrior Forospyware
    • Forospyware
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 01:46:51 PM »
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Internet explorer 11 y firefox latest-Seguridad:Avast Internet Security- Malwarebytes Premiun- Hitman Pro alert

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2013, 01:50:13 PM »
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 602
  • Warrior Forospyware
    • Forospyware
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2013, 01:56:52 PM »
How do i make a memory dump??



And how and where do i upload it


You can also send it; Start > Run and copy and paste this command:
Code: [Select]
explorer ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
moves and releases the file in the window.
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Internet explorer 11 y firefox latest-Seguridad:Avast Internet Security- Malwarebytes Premiun- Hitman Pro alert

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2013, 02:06:21 PM »
How do i make a memory dump??



And how and where do i upload it


You can also send it; Start > Run and copy and paste this command:
Code: [Select]
explorer ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming
moves and releases the file in the window.

Ok i am uploading it right now.
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2013, 02:18:02 PM »
Here is a screenshot of the memory use it is getting higher and it is high all the time.
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit

Offline Lord Ami

  • Avast translator
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • My site
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2013, 02:21:18 PM »
For me, it went over 500MB during the extracting of a game from .zip
It almost finished, but stuck at 99% for quite some time and then I saw that avastsvc.exe uses ~650MB of memory at peak...

W7 32bit, no SP1.

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 602
  • Warrior Forospyware
    • Forospyware
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2013, 02:25:09 PM »
Here is a screenshot of the memory use it is getting higher and it is high all the time.

idem... :o
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Internet explorer 11 y firefox latest-Seguridad:Avast Internet Security- Malwarebytes Premiun- Hitman Pro alert

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7467
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: High Memory use Avast service 104 MB
« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2013, 02:40:52 PM »
@rnuis

The dump file is for avastSvc.exe and give it a unique name. Do not forget to give the names of the dumps sent here in the topic so that avast! tweam member know what they are looking for.

@miguelgrado.

Same for you. What is the name of the dump file you sent ?

@lukas.hasik

Any news ? This is happening to Xp and 7 alike, but not all. So it must be a program or driver. Even some hardware or setting we have in common.
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie