Author Topic: Free backup software  (Read 14375 times)

Dch48

Free backup software
« on: December 27, 2013, 09:54:07 PM »
I respect the opinions of the people here even though I don't always follow them so I have a question. I have never done system images before because I never had a HDD big enough to hold them. I recently bought a 500gb Toshiba USB 3.0 drive and it works great. I have done a few images with the free version of EaseUS Todo backup and it seems to work fine. I had narrowed down my choices to that one or the free Macrium Reflect. I do not want to use the built in Windows utility because I have read that the restoration from it's backups don't always work well.

Which one do you feel is the better option, EaseUS or Macrium? They both get good reviews.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Free backup software
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2013, 10:16:40 PM »
You don't need a hd to create a image of the system (main drive).
You can also use cd(rw)'s/dvd(rw)'s and (although you need a lot of them) even floppies and such.
With image software it depends on the compression you choose.
But you will need about 20% (or less) of the amount of data on the media that you choose to put the image on.

Dch48

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2013, 10:29:15 PM »
You can also use cd(rw)'s/dvd(rw)'s and (although you need a lot of them) even floppies and such.
But you will need about 20% (or less) of the amount of data on the media that you choose to put the image on.
I know that but that would go too slow. EaseUS does a full backup of 170GB in 32 minutes. That's pretty fast. That's using a 3.0 port. Using 2.0, my other computer takes the same amount of time to back up 21GB.