Author Topic: Windows 8  (Read 12464 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2416
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2013, 01:23:52 PM »
How do I uninstall McAfee Antivirus?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11159
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2013, 01:32:54 PM »
Remove via Programs and feature first, reboot then run the removal tool http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/MCPR.exe

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2416
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2013, 01:37:32 PM »
It's not listed in the control panel.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11159
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2013, 01:43:55 PM »
You might still have the default view ( category ) set on control panel, on the control panel screen click the view icon up top right to change the view to large icons.

You can also right click the start menu icon  ( bottom left corner ) and at the top of the menu screen is Programs and Features.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2013, 04:18:10 PM by craigb »

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2416
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2013, 04:13:19 PM »
I still couldn't find it.  I did manage to download Classic Shell.  It's much easier to use now.

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2416
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #20 on: December 29, 2013, 08:19:35 PM »
How can I make Windows 8.1 look like Windows 7?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11159
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2013, 08:24:58 PM »
Once you set it to boot to desktop then basically it is win7, maybe you could post some images of what features you are trying to change.

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2416
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #22 on: December 29, 2013, 08:39:49 PM »
I don't have anything to post images right now and I can't remember what the one I used before was called.

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3649
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #23 on: December 29, 2013, 08:42:08 PM »
You can use snipping tool from Windows.

Just open the charms bar on the right and click search, then search for snipping tool.

When its loaded on desktop right click on the icon the taskbar and pin it to the taskbar.
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11159
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #24 on: December 29, 2013, 08:45:24 PM »
Well you can explain what features you want to change in more detail and that would help.

I'm off to bed now as it's 3.45am here so someone else should be able to step in and help with your dilemma.

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2416
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #25 on: December 29, 2013, 09:02:54 PM »
You can use snipping tool from Windows.

Just open the charms bar on the right and click search, then search for snipping tool.

When its loaded on desktop right click on the icon the taskbar and pin it to the taskbar.

This is what I did with snipping tool.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47038
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #26 on: December 30, 2013, 07:03:42 PM »
You can use snipping tool from Windows.

Just open the charms bar on the right and click search, then search for snipping tool.

When its loaded on desktop right click on the icon the taskbar and pin it to the taskbar.

This is what I did with snipping tool.
No need to put it onto the desktop. The option is there when you've done your search. Simply right click and select your option>

Almost all of the questions your asking are already covered in the following topic:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=85094.0

« Last Edit: December 30, 2013, 07:06:41 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

Offline -midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2416
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #27 on: December 31, 2013, 12:05:53 AM »
@bob3160

I'm going to be using Greenshot.

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2498
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #28 on: December 31, 2013, 12:38:54 AM »
I'm going to attach a couple pics of how I have my Win 8.1 set up.

First pic - Right click on the taskbar and select properties then the Navigation tab. Under Start screen, I have both set to send me to the desktop instead of the Start screen.

Second pic - In Internet Explorer, left click the gear icon then select Internet Options. Go to the programs tab. Select, "Always in Internet Explorer on the desktop". Then check, "Open Internet Explorer tiles on the desktop".

You can also use the Windows logo key + D to show the desktop, and Windows logo key + C to show the charms bar. There is a list of these type of shortcuts. Just Google or Bing Windows 8 logo key.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2013, 12:54:10 AM by Charyb »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47038
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Windows 8
« Reply #29 on: January 02, 2014, 01:36:22 AM »
I personally find the charm bar activation by pointing to the top or bottom right corner very distracting.
I have those boxes unchecked.
If I want to see the charm bar, I simply use the shortcut keys : Windows Key and C
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi