Author Topic: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start  (Read 14076 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Romagnolo1973

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« on: December 31, 2013, 07:51:36 PM »
this combo has some problems.
This appens with PF 7.0.30.3 (last available) on my win8.1 64bit and for other italians user with win7 64bit
Starting the pc it boots perfectly but when is time to show your desktop screen it remain black and you can only force restart 2 or 3 times untill desktop is showed. Sometimes screen is black but you can see mouse arrow.
I have startet a post on Wilder's about this issue and for me is 100% Avast problem
Look here
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=2323203#post2323203
Please avast devs investigate more

Offline jacemace5005

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2013, 08:34:57 PM »
Just as a poster who replied to you noted in Wilders, it is Avast Emergency update and the runonce command.
If you can open your task manager, you will probably notice under Processes tab that the Disk is at 100%.
I had avast emergency update (32bit) in the background processes running the disk high in multiple instances.
Interestingly, there was also a Windows process that was occurring with this.
The emergency update is explained here in the Ghacks website http://www.ghacks.net/2012/06/30/avast-update-brings-emergency-updater-and-sitecorrect-features/

Some say you can disable it, but most say to let it be.

jwoods301

  • Guest
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2013, 09:35:05 PM »
Try adding the "emupdate" folder to the exclusions list in your firewall program.

Path is Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\setup\emupdate

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2014, 05:51:30 AM »
You cannot add to Privatefirewall's exclusion list an entire folder.And those 2 exe's from that folder are whitelisted already in Privatefirewall.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 05:54:28 AM by JoeBlack40 »
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

jwoods301

  • Guest
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2014, 06:08:35 AM »
Except that the names of those .exe's change...

There should be a "Trusted Vendor" setting (most firewalls have that).

Add Avast to that list and use AvastEmUpdate as the signed .exe.


Offline AdrianH

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 854
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2014, 08:37:31 AM »
AvastEmUpdate is still blocked by MVPS Hosts files (and other hosts lists) .......... they said it would be sorted out last week.

I have a rig using Private firewall and just got so fed up with avast and this nonsense, I ripped it out and changed AV vendor , end of issue.



Win8.1 Pro 64Bit  : KIS2014 : CryptoPrevent : Privazer:

Offline dfxbb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2014, 11:55:13 AM »
Same problem here.

Don't have to reboot, just Ctrl-Alt-Del, logout and then login again.
...

Offline NoelC

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 569
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2014, 02:46:43 PM »
AvastEmUpdate is still blocked by MVPS Hosts files (and other hosts lists) .......... they said it would be sorted out last week.

I realize you may not be back, given that you've "switched brands", but what specifically did you do/see to detect this?

I rebooted Windows 8.1 on the 28th and had no problem whatsoever in getting back to an operational status; it just booted right up.  The GUID-named emergency updater ran, the RunOnce registry entry was removed, and the software says it's up to date. 

I did notice a new GUID-named emergency updater has reappeared in a RunOnce entry.  I'm led to believe that's perfectly normal to see, and doesn't imply anything's out of date or in crisis.

-Noel

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2014, 02:54:01 PM »
Except that the names of those .exe's change...

There should be a "Trusted Vendor" setting (most firewalls have that).

Add Avast to that list and use AvastEmUpdate as the signed .exe.
Avast it's already there.
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2100
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2014, 04:33:24 PM »
AvastEmUpdate is still blocked by MVPS Hosts files (and other hosts lists) .......... they said it would be sorted out last week.

I have a rig using Private firewall and just got so fed up with avast and this nonsense, I ripped it out and changed AV vendor , end of issue.

For me, AvastEmUpdate and the MVPS Hosts file issue has cleared up within the past week.  The emergency updates have been applied, and there are no stray pending emergency updates now.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

jwoods301

  • Guest
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2014, 08:30:32 PM »
Except that the names of those .exe's change...

There should be a "Trusted Vendor" setting (most firewalls have that).

Add Avast to that list and use AvastEmUpdate as the signed .exe.
Avast it's already there.

You may wish to submit a support ticket to Avast...

https://support.avast.com/Tickets/Submit

I use COMODO 6.3 free firewall with Avast free AV and don't have any issues.



Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6713
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2014, 09:46:48 PM »
Within the past year quite a few users have switched from PFW to either Comodo Firewall or Online Armor.
Personally I prefer CFW v5.12 which has fewer issues than v6.0, 6.1, 6.2 or 6.3. v5.12 also has a smaller
footprint and uses less resources.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline AdrianH

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 854
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2014, 08:57:17 AM »
Last night I looked at this again.

I set Private Firewall to training mode and " ask" for all processes.

Installed avast9  ( I used the AIS install, but only selected antivirus, safezone and program updater.)

Install progressed and Private Firewall asked permissions for numerous processes.

Restarted / full shutdown and start many times now ,without any issues.

Win8.1 64Bit .  Acer laptop, Bitlocker.PF. Malwarebytes Pro.

Avast is in the Trusted Publisher list and the processes shown in the image are set to " Filter" within process control.
Win8.1 Pro 64Bit  : KIS2014 : CryptoPrevent : Privazer:

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2014, 12:56:25 PM »
Quote
You may wish to submit a support ticket to Avast...

https://support.avast.com/Tickets/Submit

I use COMODO 6.3 free firewall with Avast free AV and don't have any issues.
I hope that someone from Avast is reading this thread already,no need for another one on the same subject.But thanks for the suggestion.I would use CFW too,but in combo with Avast i get high CPU usage from Comodo.
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

Offline AdrianH

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 854
Re: Avast Free + PrivateFirewall= black screen at start
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2014, 01:09:56 PM »
I have installed avast Free and Private Firewall on a Win81 desktop this morning......... there is no problem.

Just make sure Private Firewall has permissions for all the avast processes.
Win8.1 Pro 64Bit  : KIS2014 : CryptoPrevent : Privazer: