Author Topic: [SOLVED] Locked out from Administrator login  (Read 6077 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline david_leigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
[SOLVED] Locked out from Administrator login
« on: January 21, 2014, 09:17:32 AM »
I'm having a problem where I must not be understanding something.  :-[

I've installed the Enterprise Console and server on the same machine - an XP Pro machine dedicated to only running the Avast Console and Server.  I can get in just fine with the "admin" initial password.  I can pretty much do anything I need to do so far, scans, push installs, discover computers, etc.  So far, so good.  Then I signout and I can't sign back in.

I've done this twice.  The first time after a clean install, and doing some work in the Console, I changed the administrator password.  Later when I tried to log in, no password, old or new, worked.  I tried resetting the administrator password with the instructions given on this forum and that appeared to process correctly, but I still could not get in.  So I uninstalled everything - server, console, client, SQL Server, etc.  Rebooted and started over.

This time around, I'm thinking, "not going to change the password - stay safe (if insecure!)".  So I didn't.  After doing some work, I log out.  Now I can't log back in again.  EXACT same problem.  "unable to login as Aministrator or connection error".

Just now, I updated to the latest program based on the announcement in the forum yesterday.  That went fine, but I still can't log in.

Since I've not changed any password, I'm guessing it's the "connection error".  So EVERYTHING is running locally on this machine.  What should I look at to enable this thing to connect (even though it already WAS successfully connected)?

Any help would be welcome.
Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 09:07:02 AM by david_leigh »

Offline bradcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Locked out from Administrator login
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 07:14:31 PM »
Yes I'm having the same problem.  I changed password, and then could not login.  I changed password back to default and now I'm locked out.

Error: "An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host" Unable to login as Administrator or connection error.

2008 R2

Enterprise Administration Console for avast! Endpoint Protection Suite
Education Edition

Offline bradcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Locked out from Administrator login
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 07:23:25 PM »
FYI:

Also, when changing password again I get this error:

"An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine"

unable to login as Administrtor or connection error.

Offline Che Johnson

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 140
Re: Locked out from Administrator login
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 10:48:28 AM »
Check to make sure the services are running (services.msc) and check the SQL services are also running.

Offline bradcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Locked out from Administrator login
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2014, 03:46:35 PM »
SQL Server (AVAST)                                     started       Automatic
SQL Server Agent (AVAST)                          <blank>      Automatic      *tried to manually start, message stated "services started and then stopped"
avast! Enterprise Admin Server                   Stopping    Automatic      *no option to start, grey out*
avast! Enterprise Mirror HTTP Server           Started      Automatic

1.The AEA is open and at the login page

2.Still can not login into the console

Thanks Che for any help

Offline bradcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Locked out from Administrator login
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2014, 03:56:21 PM »
I did get a new error message: (after trying to restart the SQL Agent maually:

Connection lost

"you have been disconnected from the remote host 1/29/2014 9:46am

Then tried log in 2nd time:

the network connection does not exist

However, when testing connection to the SQL Server Instance it shows "ok"  (AEA Maintenance Tool)

Confused    :o

Offline bradcombs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Locked out from Administrator login
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2014, 02:21:41 PM »
I'm having a problem where I must not be understanding something.  :-[

I've installed the Enterprise Console and server on the same machine - an XP Pro machine dedicated to only running the Avast Console and Server.  I can get in just fine with the "admin" initial password.  I can pretty much do anything I need to do so far, scans, push installs, discover computers, etc.  So far, so good.  Then I signout and I can't sign back in.

I've done this twice.  The first time after a clean install, and doing some work in the Console, I changed the administrator password.  Later when I tried to log in, no password, old or new, worked.  I tried resetting the administrator password with the instructions given on this forum and that appeared to process correctly, but I still could not get in.  So I uninstalled everything - server, console, client, SQL Server, etc.  Rebooted and started over.

This time around, I'm thinking, "not going to change the password - stay safe (if insecure!)".  So I didn't.  After doing some work, I log out.  Now I can't log back in again.  EXACT same problem.  "unable to login as Aministrator or connection error".

Just now, I updated to the latest program based on the announcement in the forum yesterday.  That went fine, but I still can't log in.

Since I've not changed any password, I'm guessing it's the "connection error".  So EVERYTHING is running locally on this machine.  What should I look at to enable this thing to connect (even though it already WAS successfully connected)?

Any help would be welcome.
Thanks!



David, did you find a solution to the login issue? 

Offline david_leigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Locked out from Administrator login
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2014, 09:17:58 AM »
After several reboots, the problem disappeared.  SOMETHING was cross-wise but I can't say that I know what it was.  I'm glad for me and hope that everyone else has the same solution - if not, sorry that this was not a more helpful solution.
Thanks.