Author Topic: Avast is causing system crash.  (Read 1657 times)

Daemon Ryuou

Avast is causing system crash.
« on: January 31, 2014, 10:13:17 AM »
Hello, I'm Daemon. I've been programming for over 10 years and have been a loyal user who swears by Avast to everyone, but have recently been running into some issues.

--- Background ---

About a week or so ago, I was infected with malware that was grinding my system to a halt and ended up having to wipe my computer. As I always do, the very first things I do after booting for the first time are install my drivers using the disk I ordered from the manufacturer, installing Avast, and creating a "clean slate" system restore point (in that order).

After doing so, I installed MinGW64, MSYS, and Netbeans to begin working on a project. It built properly without any warnings, but when I tried to run the application, my system froze for about 2 minutes and I was greeted with the blue screen of death. I figured perhaps it was a bug in the toolchain, and just in case I inadvertently caused damage to my pc, I used my clean restore point and installed MinGW/MSYS 32-bit as I have always used it and trust the source. Instead of Netbeans, I was now using Notepad and building my applications manually from the terminal.

When I ran the applications I built, I was confused because they were ran twice. The first time was within a sandbox environment which I assumed is a new feature avast recently added, and the second was the default execution. A little aggravating, but bigger issue was that 1 out of 5 times, the application would freeze before it even started and I would have to kill both processes from the task manager. The issue became even more problematic when I tried to write a small assembly stub for the entry point of one of my projects. Then it escalated to the point were it would crash half the time.