Author Topic: Avast with ZoneAlarm?  (Read 3507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Turtlediver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Avast with ZoneAlarm?
« on: February 03, 2014, 08:10:53 PM »
I keep running across comments that Avast and ZoneAlarm don't play well together.  And perhaps that's responsible for the difficulties I experienced when trying the 2011 and 2013 updates.  (Prior to the 2011 version, I never had a problem running Avast with ZoneAlarm.) 

I apologize if I missed it; but if there's truly an incompatibility between the two programs, shouldn't that be prominently mentioned on Avast's website?  For that matter, I don't even see a "Requirements" section, which is commonly found with other company's programs. 

As much as I like Avast, or at least used to like it, I'm not about to remove a program that's served me well for over a decade just to accommodate a "new and improved" version of someone else's program. 
« Last Edit: February 03, 2014, 08:17:18 PM by Turtlediver »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31130
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast with ZoneAlarm?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2014, 08:25:22 PM »
Not being able to find the requirements?
It is really not that hard to find them: http://www.avast.com/pro-antivirus ;)

www.avast.com > home > select a product > click on "system requirements"

Offline Turtlediver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast with ZoneAlarm?
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2014, 08:35:37 PM »
Thanks, but where are the requirements listed for the free version?  Again, I either missed it or maybe the freebee folks don't deserve to know. 

(Sorry, I guess I'm just a bit peeved that I wasted several hours troubleshooting before going to another av program.  I hope to come back to Avast, which is why I'm still looking and posting.)

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11191
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast with ZoneAlarm?
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2014, 08:39:06 PM »
Requirement will be the same for all versions.

Offline Turtlediver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast with ZoneAlarm?
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2014, 08:46:39 PM »
Yeah, but shouldn't it say?  In any case, is Avast compatible with ZoneAlarm or not?  What's the "official" verdict?  Curious minds want to know!

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11191
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast with ZoneAlarm?
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2014, 08:52:25 PM »
It works for some but not for others so there is no answer as of yet to what the cause is, it could be an avast issue or it could also be a ZoneAlarm problem.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87265
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast with ZoneAlarm?
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2014, 09:46:12 PM »
Yeah, but shouldn't it say?  In any case, is Avast compatible with ZoneAlarm or not?  What's the "official" verdict?  Curious minds want to know!

See my comment in another ZA topic, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=145803.msg1058086#msg1058086.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security