Author Topic: Firefox 27 and AOS issue  (Read 10005 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline giogio

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4113
Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« on: February 07, 2014, 07:58:47 PM »
Hi,
seems that from the new firefox release is not possible anymore to open the setting menu under aos plugin (9.0.2013.75) see image attached
I've reported also here
https://feedback.avast.com/responses/firefox-27-and-aos-issue
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 08:31:45 PM by giogio »
Prima di scrivere sul forum per favore leggi le istruzioni qui https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=144453.0
Non inviatemi MP per supporto,grazie-No support PM please
Home: E8400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win10.0.15063x64-Avast! Free 17.3.2291-CryptoPrevent-MBAM 2.2free-Chrome 57(uBlock origin)-TB52
Work: i5-2400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win 7sp1x64-Avast!Business Security 12.3.2515,     
Cloud Console 2.18
-FF52-TB52

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2014, 08:05:45 PM »
giogio have you rebooted since updating Firefox ? if you have can you also perform a repair if not done already please.

Offline giogio

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4113
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2014, 08:08:16 PM »
giogio have you rebooted since updating Firefox ? if you have can you also perform a repair if not done already please.
Hi Craig
Yes reboot many times..
I've also tryed a repair of avast and remove/add the browser protection.
Do you not have this problem? Maybe can be a problem on localized aos plugin...
The problem  is reported also by another person in italian board
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 08:10:16 PM by giogio »
Prima di scrivere sul forum per favore leggi le istruzioni qui https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=144453.0
Non inviatemi MP per supporto,grazie-No support PM please
Home: E8400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win10.0.15063x64-Avast! Free 17.3.2291-CryptoPrevent-MBAM 2.2free-Chrome 57(uBlock origin)-TB52
Work: i5-2400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win 7sp1x64-Avast!Business Security 12.3.2515,     
Cloud Console 2.18
-FF52-TB52

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2014, 08:13:01 PM »
I don't use Firefox but I thought I'd just throw a quick couple of suggestions at you but you have already done those, one of the other Firefox uses may be able to shed some more light on this.

Offline Gandalf1369

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2014, 08:27:24 PM »
I don't use Firefox but I thought I'd just throw a quick couple of suggestions at you but you have already done those, one of the other Firefox uses may be able to shed some more light on this.

I can confirm that the settings menu does not open under Firefox 27.0.
Windows 10 (64bit); 8GB RAM; Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Pro; avast Free (latest version)

Offline giogio

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4113
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2014, 08:28:50 PM »
I don't use Firefox but I thought I'd just throw a quick couple of suggestions at you but you have already done those, one of the other Firefox uses may be able to shed some more light on this.
Thanks Craig..
Also my virtual machine XP has the same problem with FF27..

however I've found a trick to fix temporary:
Just copy in the adress bar the following link
Code: [Select]
chrome://wrc/content/options.htmland bookmark it

@Gandalf
thanks to confirm it
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 08:35:25 PM by giogio »
Prima di scrivere sul forum per favore leggi le istruzioni qui https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=144453.0
Non inviatemi MP per supporto,grazie-No support PM please
Home: E8400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win10.0.15063x64-Avast! Free 17.3.2291-CryptoPrevent-MBAM 2.2free-Chrome 57(uBlock origin)-TB52
Work: i5-2400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win 7sp1x64-Avast!Business Security 12.3.2515,     
Cloud Console 2.18
-FF52-TB52

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7458
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2014, 11:33:13 PM »
It is happening to me too. FF 27 on Windows XP_86 Spk 3. AOS options ( Settings ) not opening. AOS version 9.0.2013.75.

Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2014, 12:24:54 AM »
From what I've read there seems to be an issue with AOS and FF v27
That's all I know. I can't confirm nor can I deny this, I don't use AOS.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline sabbatha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2014, 01:02:47 AM »
I confirm people, i was the one who reported this issue into the avast Italian board.
Nice to meet you all anyway.
Also my sister, she has my same system windows vista home edition has this issue with AOS sidebar, she's using also FF27.
The image Giogio is showing to you was made by me yesterday, when i incurred in the issue.
Maybe a new version of FF could solve this issue?
Just saying..
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 01:10:54 AM by sabbatha »

Offline giogio

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4113
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2014, 01:05:40 PM »
Maybe a new version of FF could solve this issue?
Maybe.. but probably we may expect a fix for this from AOS, not from firefox.
Regards
Prima di scrivere sul forum per favore leggi le istruzioni qui https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=144453.0
Non inviatemi MP per supporto,grazie-No support PM please
Home: E8400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win10.0.15063x64-Avast! Free 17.3.2291-CryptoPrevent-MBAM 2.2free-Chrome 57(uBlock origin)-TB52
Work: i5-2400-4GB RAM-500GB HDD-Win 7sp1x64-Avast!Business Security 12.3.2515,     
Cloud Console 2.18
-FF52-TB52

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85967
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2014, 02:33:55 PM »
Generally I'm not using the AOS add-on, only for General testing and it was working on this XP Pro system.

However, Firefox 27.0 is causing issues with some other add-ons (TabMix Plus the main one) and for me that is causing a lot more grief as it is messing with the firefox functionality.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7458
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2014, 02:47:12 PM »
However, Firefox 27.0 is causing issues with some other add-ons (TabMix Plus the main one) and for me that is causing a lot more grief as it is messing with the firefox functionality.

OT
FF 27 has problems not only with AOS and other add-ons, but with Sandboxie too and XP users. Forum full of complains:
http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=18072
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2014, 03:16:19 PM »
Generally I'm not using the AOS add-on, only for General testing and it was working on this XP Pro system.

However, Firefox 27.0 is causing issues with some other add-ons (TabMix Plus the main one) and for me that is causing a lot more grief as it is messing with the firefox functionality.

There' a new Tab Mix Plus version 0.4.1.3, which fixes the problem. However, it is in the TMP development channel, not yet vetted by Mozilla.  See https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tab-mix-plus/versions/.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85967
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2014, 05:24:48 PM »
<snip>
However, Firefox 27.0 is causing issues with some other add-ons (TabMix Plus the main one) and for me that is causing a lot more grief as it is messing with the firefox functionality.

There' a new Tab Mix Plus version 0.4.1.3, which fixes the problem. However, it is in the TMP development channel, not yet vetted by Mozilla.  See https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tab-mix-plus/versions/.

Thanks for that, hopefully it won't be long to regular release or I may just give this a try.

I suspect there are many other issues with firefox 27.0 than the more popular ones we see messed up including AOS.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72968
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Firefox 27 and AOS issue
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2014, 05:29:47 PM »
However, Firefox 27.0 is causing issues with some other add-ons (TabMix Plus the main one) and for me that is causing a lot more grief as it is messing with the firefox functionality.

There's the FF ESR version, in case you or anyone else would need it.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.11.6787.IBC [UI.683] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.4 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.4
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0