Author Topic: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?  (Read 24569 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2014, 04:52:37 PM »
All, I must have confused folks on my question............I am very sorry.
Let me try again.
I use Avast8 FREE in Active protection......and nightly scans.
I bought lifetime license of MBAM Pro and run Active protection.....and nightly scans (different time than Avast).
Avast & MBAM Pro work fine together.
Avast & MBAM Pro obviously allow for schedule scans and auto updates.

I also use CryptoPrevent + CCleaner.
CryptoPrevent was run once to change the policies
CCLeaner I use daily to remove temp files, etc.

My question on SAS in that I would not plan to buy the Pro, but rather use the FREE.
I'm only researching this because people elude to that SAS covers thing MBAM Pro does not.....true ?
Since I would be using SAS FREE.....not Pro....it appears the scheduler & updater are not included.
So.....my question was that SAS FREE seems to be like MBAM FREE in that you have to manually update/scan ?

Hope that clarifies my question(s).
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2014, 04:53:29 PM »
Quote
Why did you do this on your system and give this answer ?  What is the difference?
since i run AV + MBAM pro i turned off SAS realtime protection.... (SAS pro) so i still got the auto signature and program updates

as i said above, it never found anything malwarebytes did not find so i dont use it anymore....

Thx.....you posted as I was typing........this answers my "main" question.
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37006
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2014, 04:55:30 PM »
Quote
I'm only researching this because people elude to that SAS covers thing MBAM Pro does not.....true ?
yes... tracking cookies.... if that worry you.   ;)


Are cookies really spyware and are they dangerous?    http://superantispyware.com/supportfaqdisplay.html?faq=26




Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2014, 05:12:52 PM »
Quote
I'm only researching this because people elude to that SAS covers thing MBAM Pro does not.....true ?
yes... tracking cookies.... if that worry you.   ;)


Are cookies really spyware and are they dangerous?    http://superantispyware.com/supportfaqdisplay.html?faq=26

Thx, I just use CCLeaner.........instead of "empty" recycle bin I just use CC.
I do make sure within CC to uncheck a lot of things I don't want it to clear.....eg, dump logs.
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline mwsoft

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • Girlz R Us
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2014, 06:12:59 PM »
Wednesday, February 12th, 2014 @ 9:2 AM, [GMT-0800], Day of year = 43

Hi,
As has been said elsewhere, NO one program, no matter how GOOD many think it is,( like our avast program), can protect you on-line from all possible problems. You need a variety of tools to even come close.

I use avast as my #1 running full time, followed by Malwalbytes, Spybot, & Spyware Blaster. They work well together and cover a wide range of possible troubles.

Also, to keep things clean, i use Registry Clean Expert, CCleaner, and Piriform Defraggler. I do a full avast scan daily, and scan & clean my registry weekly, and do a backup.

In addition, i have a huge HOSTS file. If yer not familiar with it, do a search. The Microsoft HOSTS file, tied to use of "Google Alerts," which sends daily info on browser hi-jackers, malicious sites, etc to me, rounds out my overall protection scheme.

Still nothing is perfect, except YOU and ME, and i wonder about YOU? :)

Linda

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2014, 06:26:51 PM »
Wednesday, February 12th, 2014 @ 9:2 AM, [GMT-0800], Day of year = 43

Hi,
As has been said elsewhere, NO one program, no matter how GOOD many think it is,( like our avast program), can protect you on-line from all possible problems. You need a variety of tools to even come close.

I use avast as my #1 running full time, followed by Malwalbytes, Spybot, & Spyware Blaster. They work well together and cover a wide range of possible troubles.

Also, to keep things clean, i use Registry Clean Expert, CCleaner, and Piriform Defraggler. I do a full avast scan daily, and scan & clean my registry weekly, and do a backup.

In addition, i have a huge HOSTS file. If yer not familiar with it, do a search. The Microsoft HOSTS file, tied to use of "Google Alerts," which sends daily info on browser hi-jackers, malicious sites, etc to me, rounds out my overall protection scheme.

Still nothing is perfect, except YOU and ME, and i wonder about YOU? :)

Linda

Wow, you are my type of girl.....safety first. :)
Seriously thx.....and LOL on: Still nothing is perfect, except YOU and ME, and i wonder about YOU?
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline Tangy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2014, 09:55:06 PM »
I run Winxp sp3 pro, Avast 8, Malware bytes free, Windows defender, spyware blaster, superantispyware free and Malwarebytes anti-exploit never had any issues whatsoever. Pondus thanks for the McShield thingy I installed and looks great. I tried to install CryptoPrevent but won't install properly ( Zipped or installer ) so I guess I'll give it a miss. Does anybody know anything about Crystal Anti - exploit ? http://www.crystalaep.com/
 About McShield :
" Pros:  Good program

Cons:  But there is better way to block infections.

Other Thoughts:  I am told that Windows 7 (and I assume Vista/8 as well) do not have to worry about autoruns viruses because of how Microsoft changed the way it works.

That leaves only XP.

XP has a driver that can READ but not WRITE back to UDF formatted drives.

If you want 100% autoruns virus protection in XP, just format your flash drive to UDF under Windows 7 using Rufus or similar.

Add the programs you want.

XP can READ your programs from it, but it cannot write back, so 100% viruses are blocked!!! "

Link : http://www.freewarefiles.com/MCShield_program_78429.html

Is that right ?

OS:Win xpsp3 pro, CPU:2.8 GHz, Ram:4 Gb HD:500 Gb,Avastfree18.8.22356,OSArmor,Basilisk+NewMoon(Roytam1),ublockorigin,Adguard, SystemExplorer, MCShield, MBAM on demand, FW:PC Tools Plus ,WinPat,Decentraleyes,privacy badger,minerblock.
OS : Windows 7 pro 64bits Avast free Malwarebytes antiexploit

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2014, 10:37:51 PM »
I tried to install CryptoPrevent but won't install properly ( Zipped or installer )

Really ?....obviously you to this link and chose the down (EXE) on the bottom ?
http://www.foolishit.com/vb6-projects/cryptoprevent/
Also, Avast Thread on the subject: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=141429.msg1028176#msg1028176
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline hmmmmm123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2014, 10:45:07 PM »
I currently use Avast free and MBAM free.MBAM will catch malware and other malicious files  that Avast misses, I would totally go ahead and get it. Just for the added protection.

Offline Tangy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2014, 11:12:18 PM »
I tried to install CryptoPrevent but won't install properly ( Zipped or installer )

Really ?....obviously you to this link and chose the down (EXE) on the bottom ?
http://www.foolishit.com/vb6-projects/cryptoprevent/
Also, Avast Thread on the subject: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=141429.msg1028176#msg1028176

That's the one. I tried them both. Installed it , then clicked on apply it asked me to reboot and then when I click on test it won't run. I get a message saying that there is something wrong or not installed properly. Can't remember exactly. Go figure.
OS:Win xpsp3 pro, CPU:2.8 GHz, Ram:4 Gb HD:500 Gb,Avastfree18.8.22356,OSArmor,Basilisk+NewMoon(Roytam1),ublockorigin,Adguard, SystemExplorer, MCShield, MBAM on demand, FW:PC Tools Plus ,WinPat,Decentraleyes,privacy badger,minerblock.
OS : Windows 7 pro 64bits Avast free Malwarebytes antiexploit

Offline user905

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2014, 11:13:06 PM »
I've used Malwarebytes Pro as added protection with avast! Internet Security on all of my machines for years without conflicts.
IMHO, it's the perfect insurance policy! Go for it!

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #26 on: February 12, 2014, 11:27:31 PM »
I tried to install CryptoPrevent but won't install properly ( Zipped or installer )

Really ?....obviously you to this link and chose the down (EXE) on the bottom ?
http://www.foolishit.com/vb6-projects/cryptoprevent/
Also, Avast Thread on the subject: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=141429.msg1028176#msg1028176

That's the one. I tried them both. Installed it , then clicked on apply it asked me to reboot and then when I click on test it won't run. I get a message saying that there is something wrong or not installed properly. Can't remember exactly. Go figure.


I would suggest to take the time and go to their Forum and post the issue: http://foolishtech.com/index.php?sid=56b9b4db487d49e341fa8ff324c1f6fe
For me a "virus" or "malware" is a PITA but at least it doesn't cripple you forever.
CryptoLock if it hits you locks everything on your PC and everything your PC is connected to......and there is NO recovery.
Some of the versions corrupt System-Restore too.
Your only fallback is offline image of your PC or offline file backups.
The cryptolock itself is easily removed but by the time it is seen it already has encrypted your files....damage is done.
CryptoPrevent is one-time run util that prevents this........to me worth getting it to work.
Want to be really scared....read this article from Kaspersky: http://blog.kaspersky.com/cryptolocker-is-bad-news/
Article from MBAM: http://blog.malwarebytes.org/intelligence/2013/10/cryptolocker-ransomware-what-you-need-to-know/
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 11:36:03 PM by thekochs »
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37006
Re: I've got Avast; should I get Malwarebtes too?
« Reply #27 on: February 12, 2014, 11:38:13 PM »
I run Winxp sp3 pro, Avast 8, Malware bytes free, Windows defender, spyware blaster, superantispyware free and Malwarebytes anti-exploit never had any issues whatsoever. Pondus thanks for the McShield thingy I installed and looks great. I tried to install CryptoPrevent but won't install properly ( Zipped or installer ) so I guess I'll give it a miss. Does anybody know anything about Crystal Anti - exploit ? http://www.crystalaep.com/
 About McShield :
" Pros:  Good program

Cons:  But there is better way to block infections.

Other Thoughts:  I am told that Windows 7 (and I assume Vista/8 as well) do not have to worry about autoruns viruses because of how Microsoft changed the way it works.

That leaves only XP.

XP has a driver that can READ but not WRITE back to UDF formatted drives.

If you want 100% autoruns virus protection in XP, just format your flash drive to UDF under Windows 7 using Rufus or similar.

Add the programs you want.

XP can READ your programs from it, but it cannot write back, so 100% viruses are blocked!!! "

Link : http://www.freewarefiles.com/MCShield_program_78429.html

Is that right ?
autorun is just one way the malware spread....
those who are interested in MCShield may read this topic.  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=104046.0
see posts from argus, magna86 and dr_bora the creator of the program


Quote
Other Thoughts:  I am told that Windows 7 (and I assume Vista/8 as well) do not have to worry about autoruns viruses because of how Microsoft changed the way it works.
hmmm.....you need to check the viruses and worms forum section here.     ;)

« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 11:43:31 PM by Pondus »

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1439
Re: Avast/MBAM/Superantispyware
« Reply #28 on: February 13, 2014, 12:37:28 AM »
Hello SeeWhy,

You can also use SuperAntiSpyware Free Edition along with MalwareBytes' Antimalware + Avast Free Edition. I have all of these programs in my laptop and in my desktop. All these 3 program works great and awesome :).

P.S.: It is recommended to do a once in every week a full system scan of your entire computer/laptop.

OK.....so from my signature I am using Avast8 + MBAM Pro (active) + CryptoPrevent + CCleaner.
CryptoPrevent was run once to change the policies
CCLeaner I use daily to remove temp files, etc.
Only Avast8 & MBAM Pro are active protection products on my PC.
I'm looking at SuperAntispyware Free: http://www.superantispyware.com/superantispywarefreevspro.html and what I see is somthing like the MBAM Free where you run it manually.....am I correct that like the MBAM Free I would manually update the database, run manual scan, etc. from time to time ?  I actually like this scenario because really don't want a third "active' AV/MW program on my PC.

Thx.


MBAM PRO and FREE has the similar functions, but different in design. PRO version has features that the FREE doesn't have such as automatic updates for malware definitions and program updates, real time protection, automatic scheduler for scans, anti-phising and identity protection, and etc. For me I don't want the risk of running two active antimalware protection. I always run only 1 active antimalware protection and that is Avast and avoid running 2 active malware protection and causing conflicts with one another and causing all sorts of issues on your computer.

Answer to your question is yes, you can do a manual malware definition update and manual quick/full scan of your computer

Like me, just do a weekly scan and manual update for MBAM FREE, SuperAntiSpyware Free, and Avast Free + don't download pirated stuffs, or dangerous downloads, and browse safe and you will be fine :). Glad I got to help you answering your question. :)

Any questions/queries you may have, feel free to ask :)
« Last Edit: February 13, 2014, 12:39:17 AM by Staticguy »
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home 2004 (OS Build 19041.388), Trend Micro Internet Security 2020 (16.0.1391), Avast SecureLine VPN (5.6.4982), Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.2

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6819
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast/MBAM/Superantispyware
« Reply #29 on: February 13, 2014, 12:43:31 AM »
Hello SeeWhy,

You can also use SuperAntiSpyware Free Edition along with MalwareBytes' Antimalware + Avast Free Edition. I have all of these programs in my laptop and in my desktop. All these 3 program works great and awesome :).

P.S.: It is recommended to do a once in every week a full system scan of your entire computer/laptop.

OK.....so from my signature I am using Avast8 + MBAM Pro (active) + CryptoPrevent + CCleaner.
CryptoPrevent was run once to change the policies
CCLeaner I use daily to remove temp files, etc.
Only Avast8 & MBAM Pro are active protection products on my PC.
I'm looking at SuperAntispyware Free: http://www.superantispyware.com/superantispywarefreevspro.html and what I see is somthing like the MBAM Free where you run it manually.....am I correct that like the MBAM Free I would manually update the database, run manual scan, etc. from time to time ?  I actually like this scenario because really don't want a third "active' AV/MW program on my PC.

Thx.


MBAM PRO and FREE has the similar functions, but different in design. PRO version has features that the FREE doesn't have such as automatic updates for malware definitions and program updates, real time protection, automatic scheduler for scans, anti-phising and identity protection, and etc. For me I don't want the risk of running two active antimalware protection. I always run only 1 active antimalware protection and that is Avast and avoid running 2 active malware protection and causing conflicts with one another and causing all sorts of issues on your computer.

Answer to your question is yes, you can do a manual malware definition update and manual quick/full scan of your computer

Like me, just do a weekly scan and manual update for MBAM FREE, SuperAntiSpyware Free, and Avast Free + don't download pirated stuffs, or dangerous downloads, and browse safe and you will be fine :). Glad I got to help you answering your question. :)

Any questions/queries you may have, feel free to ask :)

Don't change the "Subject" heading
This is not your Thread.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.4.2462b/Secureline VPN v.5.11.5502b/ADU v.21.1b/ASB v.90b/ACP 21.1b/ SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.4.2462b/ADU v.21.1b/ACP 21.1b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE