Author Topic: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me  (Read 3626 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kingdavid72

  • Guest
zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« on: February 25, 2014, 06:27:51 PM »
I have exact problem like him
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=121678.0

Window 7 stops on logo. rebooting with window 7 repair CD or USB stops at logo or errors (I cannot boot)
but Linux Knoppix or OTLPE CD works fine.
window safe mode stops always at aswRvrt.sys

I did followed what essexboy recommended and I am uploading OTL.txt file.
Plz help me~ Thank you in advance.

PS: I am using Avast pro version on window 7 64 bit

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2014, 06:38:34 PM »
OK from the reatogo desktop select command prompt
Type in the following command and press enter :

chkdsk c: /r

On completion try a normal boot

kingdavid72

  • Guest
Re: Maybe then Not a virus??
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2014, 06:47:49 PM »
I did checkdisk on C: not sure it is C though.... When I see windows loaded on D: ....
I am waiting to boot... logo is on and keep going.
Ho long should I wait ?? may be after lunch?
 

kingdavid72

  • Guest
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2014, 06:52:15 PM »
I guess It is not working Logo ~ forever..

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2014, 07:41:48 PM »
Aargh I am an idiot who cannot read, it is actually E drive  :-[

Make the command :

chkdsk e: /r

kingdavid72

  • Guest
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2014, 09:17:30 PM »
I am doing chkdsk on E: /r but I think it stopped on stage 4 of 5 26% completed. it is still 26%... is it possible?

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2014, 09:42:54 PM »
How many physical drives are there ?  One or two ?   

kingdavid72

  • Guest
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2014, 09:50:11 PM »
one for window
the other for data which I divided to 2. thanks.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2014, 11:12:04 PM »
Could you disconnect the data drive and then try a reboot

kingdavid72

  • Guest
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2014, 08:49:04 PM »
I think HDD fail. I did overnight chksdk ... did not work. I am putting new HDD see what happens. Thanks

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2014, 08:50:24 PM »
Sorry about that

kingdavid72

  • Guest
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2014, 04:21:55 PM »
Got new HDD installed and window 7 also. Looks fine. Old HDD have sound "tick tick" I guess hardware problem. Thank you.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2014, 04:51:32 PM »
Aye the tick tick is the death watch beetle :)

kingdavid72

  • Guest
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2014, 06:45:32 PM »
Finally I bought new HDDs for my old Dell T7400. First I tried SSD 250GB (OCZ)...but failed to boot. I realized that AHCI mode somehow does not support boot up?? it was Ok before. In BIOS set up >> Drive, I changed to SATA then booting problem solved. So a people who hangs system in aswRvrt.sys during safe mode should check  AHCI or SATA mode. Long story to short reinstalling Windows I change back to AHCI mode it was fine and no problem of booting.

I was trying to get my system back by window system image (F8 during boot or window 7 CD >> repair system >> from system image) it keep generated error ~~. Later I have found out I made system image from 1TB HDD. In window repair (Stupid ~~~) image from 1TB can not be recovered to 250 GB SSD although actual data is less than 250GB. So I purchased 2TB HDD then realized that mother board only recognize 1TB. so I split the HDD into two 1TB using my laptop USB port.

Finally my system image was restored back to normal. Thank you so much essexboy.

In summary When you have booting problem (Dell T7400)
1) check BIOS Drive setup ACHI to SATA
2) Check HDD fail (click of death -- Tick Tick)
3) Always make windows system back up image in USB drive
4) when you recover from it use a same size or bigger HDD.

Good luck on your trouble shooting~ I hope you all find right solutions in a seconds.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: zeroaccess problem "essexboy" help me
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2014, 06:51:33 PM »
Unfortunately there are so many variables with this type of problem, from software through to hardware

Other checks would be to remove any second drives ; check Sata/Ide as you did : Run chkdsk  plus there are probably more I am not yet aware of

Thank you for the data though