Author Topic: Competency of AVAST?  (Read 3374 times)

anon32028

Competency of AVAST?
« on: December 29, 2013, 03:26:28 PM »
Get a cup of joe, this is going to be long.

I've been using AVAST for about 3 years now, and until recently, I thought it was better than the invention of sliced bread.  However, now I question AVAST's competency.  Why?  Let me explain.

This year, I started to learn C#/Visual Basic in Visual Studio after programming on Borland's CBuilder Pro since 1995 (I've programmed in one form or another for almost 40 years, both professionally and non-professionally).  A few months ago, I wrote a program that accessed Access databases, and I got the error Win32:Evo [Susp] on several programs, after I had compiled them, and used them for some time during internal testing.

Then I compiled the programs successfully, uploaded them to the Internet, and asked a friend download them.  He was using the same version of Avast (and definitions) I was, and he got the Win32:Evo [Susp] error.  No matter what I did (I accessed his system with Teamviewer), I couldn't get the file to download, all because AVAST kept flagging the Win32:Evo [Susp] error.  But yet I could download it just fine to my computer as well as my wife's and our definitions were the same.

A couple of days after this, I finally got the Win32:Evo [Susp] error on a download of the same file.  Like before, our definations were the same.  The funny (strange) thing about the whole situation is that on download or copy, the error came up, but on a regular scan of the specific folder the program was in (dev folver), AVAST didn't flag anything.