Author Topic: avast doesn't tell me program update  (Read 15621 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mantra

  • Guest
avast doesn't tell me program update
« on: July 09, 2005, 04:07:37 PM »
hi
i noticed about the new program update with the blue pannel

my setting
Code: [Select]
[AAVM]
DefaultResTask=resident evil
CheckFloppies=0
SuppressUpdatedInfo=1
CheckCDRom=0
CheckRemovables=0
EventLogAnalysed=1
is there a option to let avast advises me when a new program update is avaible?


by the way , the new icons in the resident shield are ugly, the old are better
ciao

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2005, 04:10:40 PM »
i noticed about the new program update with the blue pannel
is there a option to let avast advises me when a new program update is avaible?
Sure, the blue panel itself... this is why we have the blue pannel.
Alwil warns the ones that set it into settings spreding the warning over one week to avoid flooding of the update site.
If you check for automatic updates, they will be spread over a week too  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9408
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2005, 04:13:16 PM »
I agree about provider icons. Glass design icons were much nicer (like Network and Web Shield still are). And letter "a" inside shield looks weird.
I know Alwil is changing all logos and fonts,but this high tech font is terrible.

But font used for word "ENGINE" here:
http://www.avast.com/eng/technology/oem_products.html
kick ass. Looks very high tech and it's actually readable.

Oh,program update will come up,but it will have some "lag" behind actual update on Alwil servers,because they lower servers hammering on new program releases.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

mantra

  • Guest
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2005, 04:22:18 PM »
sorry mate
i want that avast update the virus database without the blue pannel ok...

but i would like to see the blue pannel when an program update is avaible

my setting of update are
virus database -- automatic
program update -- ask whenn..

did u understand mates :-[

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2005, 04:24:20 PM »
If you have v691, just use the Update Details button (on the Updating (Basic) page) and there's a check box that does exactly this.


BTW the icons are just how Martin wanted them to be. That's it. ;)
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

mantra

  • Guest
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2005, 04:47:22 PM »
If you have v691, just use the Update Details button (on the Updating (Basic) page) and there's a check box that does exactly this.


BTW the icons are just how Martin wanted them to be. That's it. ;)

yes i saw
but i want to see the blue pannel only when there is a program update avaible!

i don't want to see the blue pannel after a virus database update

ps. nice avatar Andrea

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2005, 04:54:42 PM »
Yes, and that's exactly what the "Show sliding box after automatic update" option does.
It does not turn off the notification about the new version, if you have the ASK option set.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

mantra

  • Guest
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2005, 05:09:39 PM »
thanks dude!


by the way with the last version it suppress the blue screen in every condiction

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2005, 05:17:38 PM »
Not really, that's another INI setting. This one does (and always has been) disabling just the popups when an auto-update took place...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

mantra

  • Guest
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2005, 07:06:06 PM »
yes
but read the start of my post
with this SuppressUpdatedInfo=1 avast will never show a blue pannel

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2005, 07:12:09 PM »
Oh yeah, it will, but it always takes up to a week after the update is released. This is to distribute the load on our updating servers. :P
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

mantra

  • Guest
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2005, 07:19:59 PM »
great!!

nice pic! Anrea

Avast rules!

MFB

  • Guest
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2005, 12:24:52 AM »
I kinda agree that I like the old tradition icons for the shields, don't get me wrong cause I still feel comfortable with the new icons too  ;D, but avast! should show it's traditional shield as it's Standard Shield.

I'm pretty sure that you already know how to turn on program updates from all of these guys.   :)



Offline Abraxas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 730
  • Perseverance Furthers...
    • PCLinuxOS-Forums
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2005, 10:22:47 AM »
While we're on the subject of "Updates" I'm not getting a popup dialogue box anymore ?
 with auto Update enabled in settings / Update  Basic  page / " Avast! Settings ".
 Or a summary box after the update.
 This has only just happened after the new program update  on  my  Win98 SE system. I get the updating Icon in the task bar, but no info /summary dialogue boxes.
I note if I do a manual update the info. and summary boxes do appear  ???
Have I missed something, or is this a new feature ?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: avast doesn't tell me program update
« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2005, 11:47:06 AM »
So, on that config page, do you have it set to "Normal" or "Silent"?
Previously, Silent didn't prevent the Summary box from being shown. This has changed (=been fixed) in the latest version.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.