Author Topic: Can't boot after executing grimefighter  (Read 6509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline williamcheng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« on: April 16, 2014, 02:49:35 PM »
After executing grimefighter and reboot the system , the system can't reboot successfully . It show ""BIOS : Drivex0 , H=1,S=1 "

What should I do ? Or I need to change BIOS parameter ?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31341
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2014, 02:52:44 PM »
If you can choose to run GrimeFighter again, do so.
Select undo last changes.

Offline williamcheng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2014, 04:01:35 PM »
If you can choose to run GrimeFighter again, do so.
Select undo last changes.

I think I need to explain this error message ......

When execute grimefighter.exe , the SW will ask to reboot system to start system optimization .
This error message happened before GF working.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2014, 04:15:18 PM by williamcheng »

Offline Stevostin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2014, 03:16:10 PM »
I have the exact same issue. Can someone help, or shall I ask for a refund ?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6646
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2014, 06:30:33 PM »
As was suggested in the #1 first reply, is there an option, does an option appear in the process to Run Grimefighter again and choose to "Undo last changes"?
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/Secureline VPN v.5.9.5322b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/ASB v.87.1b/SANDBOXIE-plus/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTIO

Offline Stevostin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2014, 08:23:50 PM »
Hi Schmidthouse,

Nope. The message appears with the BIOS display just after the computer says it will load Windows (7, 64bits in my case) but before it can briefly black screen to change to Windows resolution for the blue gradiant loading screen.

Once in Windows there is no option at all (except the scan related ones) regarding Grimefighter.

I should have mentionned I have an i7 with a Radeon 6970, 8Go Ram, SSD on C: then various Sata 3 HD. Also a Cintiq (so that is dual monitor) and an ESI Juli@ audio interface. And, as mentionned above, Windows 7 64bit professionnal. I can't think of any similar or close enough issue with anything else.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6646
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2014, 11:13:17 PM »
Hi Schmidthouse,

Nope. The message appears with the BIOS display just after the computer says it will load Windows (7, 64bits in my case) but before it can briefly black screen to change to Windows resolution for the blue gradiant loading screen.

Once in Windows there is no option at all (except the scan related ones) regarding Grimefighter.

I should have mentionned I have an i7 with a Radeon 6970, 8Go Ram, SSD on C: then various Sata 3 HD. Also a Cintiq (so that is dual monitor) and an ESI Juli@ audio interface. And, as mentionned above, Windows 7 64bit professionnal. I can't think of any similar or close enough issue with anything else.

Ok, I wasn't sure as I run W8.1 on my production LT and this GrimeFighter Module is not compatible.
As far as a Refund, there are folks going that route.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/Secureline VPN v.5.9.5322b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/ASB v.87.1b/SANDBOXIE-plus/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTIO

Offline gidigolan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2014, 09:44:12 AM »
Experiencing the same problem exactly.

Though I have dual boot for the moment (10 preview), so at least i have another OS to work with at the moment.


Very annoying to find you paid for a software supposed to fix your PC, and it does exactly the opposite...

Offline thorndahl.nielsen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2014, 09:25:59 PM »
What is happing.. i also have the same problem.. is this "program" gonna work or is it wast of money??  :-[

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6646
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2014, 09:55:13 PM »
Hi Schmidthouse,

Nope. The message appears with the BIOS display just after the computer says it will load Windows (7, 64bits in my case) but before it can briefly black screen to change to Windows resolution for the blue gradiant loading screen.

Once in Windows there is no option at all (except the scan related ones) regarding Grimefighter.

I should have mentionned I have an i7 with a Radeon 6970, 8Go Ram, SSD on C: then various Sata 3 HD. Also a Cintiq (so that is dual monitor) and an ESI Juli@ audio interface. And, as mentionned above, Windows 7 64bit professionnal. I can't think of any similar or close enough issue with anything else.

Ok, I wasn't sure as I run W8.1 on my production LT and this GrimeFighter Module is not compatible.
As far as a Refund, there are folks going that route.

GrimeFighter has now been tested and is compatible with Win 8.1

As for the specific issue with Stevostin I am unaware of the solution.
Possibly Avast team member will respond. :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/Secureline VPN v.5.9.5322b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/ASB v.87.1b/SANDBOXIE-plus/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTIO

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6646
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2014, 05:47:20 PM »
There has been NO Official announcement, that I'm aware of, that has confirmed that GrimeFighter is in deed fully compatible with Win 8.1
 One of our Long time users and forum contributor has created this video of Grimefighter working on Win 8.1 32Bit
http://youtu.be/XZ8hmQgXY2M

Possibly one of  Avast Team is aware of an official announcement.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2014, 05:49:48 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/Secureline VPN v.5.9.5322b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/ASB v.87.1b/SANDBOXIE-plus/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTIO

Offline Davidek

  • Avast team
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 405
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2014, 10:06:16 AM »
Hi,

Regarding Windows 8.1 support, GrimeFighter does run on some Win8 and 8.1 systems that run BIOS and not UEFI.  Avast does a hardware check of users PCs and is able to determine which of these is present.  If UEFI is present, we do not offer GrimeFighter, if BIOS is then users will see a GrimeFighter offer.

Hope this info helps :-)

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6646
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Can't boot after executing grimefighter
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2014, 05:50:22 PM »
Thanks Davidek for the added information and Confirmation on Win 8 and 8.1 compatibility with GrimeFighter  :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/Secureline VPN v.5.9.5322b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/ASB v.87.1b/SANDBOXIE-plus/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2443b/ADU v.20.2.1042b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTIO