Author Topic: Switching Servers  (Read 2524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SCA TECH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Switching Servers
« on: April 15, 2014, 10:37:01 PM »
Hello all,

I have avast! on a server that I am getting ready to decommission and need to put it on a virtual server that I have for it.. How do I do this easily? 

Offline Max Marak

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Switching Servers
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 04:08:23 PM »
It depends on which console you're using.

If you're using EA, you can backup the database and migrate it over. If you're using SOA, then I'd just uninstall entirely here, and reinstall fresh over there. There isn't much config to SOA, so backing up would likely take longer than the reconfiguration process.

There's a section regarding backup in the user manual, here:
http://www.avastedition.com/download/Documentation_Avast_Business_Protection/avast_Administration_console_Admnistrator_Guide.pdf

Offline nabberuk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Switching Servers
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2014, 12:30:17 PM »
I'm in the same boat and would like to migrate the Enterprise Admin Console from an old server to a new one. The link you posted doesn't work.

Offline nabberuk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Switching Servers
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2014, 12:34:40 PM »
Think i've found it at: http://files.avast.com/files/documentation/enterprise-administration-user-guide.pdf

It talks about how to backup the database and restore it.

Offline Max Marak

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Switching Servers
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2014, 05:12:21 PM »
Yep, that's it.

Offline Felix5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Switching Servers
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2014, 11:45:51 AM »
Max Marak, the effort to backup and restore SOA settings does not seem to be really big... See https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=141665.msg1029267#msg1029267  :-)

Regards, Felix