Author Topic: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???  (Read 14896 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10981
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2014, 09:13:10 PM »
Thanks Pondus

Added my 2 cents worth as well :)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 09:26:15 PM by CraigB »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43574
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2014, 09:44:58 PM »
David,
Have you tried changing the screen resolution ???

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83044
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2014, 09:47:23 PM »
quote.  CraigB
Quote
David have you mentioned this on the MBAM forums? that's clearly an issue that requires fixing and adding some options for those with smaller screens.
i posted a link to this topic in mbam forum so guess it will be seen.    ;)

Thanks, generally I don't like posting other forum links as they have to leave their forum to get the information. Though in this case there are a few different issues collated, not to mention we do recommend MBAM as an addition to avast.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83044
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2014, 09:49:21 PM »
David,
Have you tried changing the screen resolution ???



I don't believe you can in the win7 starter edition, it is heavily restricted, can't even change wallpaper. 1024x600 is the native resolution and I think I'm stuck with it. It is using the bog standard Intel graphics (I think it is 3150) on an Intel Atom processor.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 09:51:20 PM by DavidR »
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43574
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2014, 09:52:08 PM »
I was able to accomplish it on my 10.1 Dell.
It may not work for you but I was also told it couldn't be done by Dell:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yM0SQyuk7_4
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83044
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2014, 10:01:55 PM »
I will have a look, but remember this is win7 starter edition not windows 8.

Now searching the registry, this might take a while, not much grunt in a 1.5GHz Atom dual core CPU.
Back in a while.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Simion

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 825
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2014, 10:53:46 PM »
I had tried one of the later betas of v2 and didn't like the feel of it. I uninstalled and went back to 1.75. All was well 'til yesterday when MBAM sent the program update along with the database update. I was notified and agreed to the update, but it was a mistake on my part. The UI is still just as clumsy, and settings are difficult to find and understand. I spent a good five minutes looking for a scan log file link in the UI, gave up, and manually found the log in the MBAM folder. I was never able to get the context menu scanner to work properly: sometimes, MBAM opened but just layed there; other times MBAM never even opened. Shellex and Ccleaner verified MBAM's context menu existence, but it still didn't work.

V2 is still a beta with many bugs to be worked out, IMHO. I just ask that MBAM continues support for v1.75 until these problems are resolved, and doesn't force the upgrade on it's users.

I am currently using SAS and EEK to supplement Avast on my personal XP32 SP3 system.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36642
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #22 on: May 21, 2014, 11:06:10 PM »
Quote
I spent a good five minutes looking for a scan log file link in the UI, gave up,
did you click the log/history tab at top right   ;)

essexboy have some screenshots here.    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 11:14:05 PM by Pondus »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83044
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2014, 11:10:37 PM »
I was able to accomplish it on my 10.1 Dell.
It may not work for you but I was also told it couldn't be done by Dell:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yM0SQyuk7_4

Update:
Well it took some time to find the first registry entry, but that went OK as did the second entry.

A reboot and check the screen resolution options, it also had 1024x768 as you mentioned and also 1152x864. The 1024x768 made things very stretched. But I was able to access all of the MBAM scheduled scans advanced settings.

Thanks for the video, very handy reference guide.

I also tried the 1152x864 resolution whilst that was more like the normal screen layout, it isn't something you wouldn't want to use outside of emergencies. Once you step away from the native resolution of an LCD/LED screen you loose clarity.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43574
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2014, 11:17:43 PM »
Glad to hear that it worked.
I did it out of necessity since Windows 8 would not work on the default max settings
available on my Dell Mini and mainly because Dell said it can't be done. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2298
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #25 on: May 22, 2014, 12:31:18 AM »
With the newest update, most my problems with earlier versions are gone.

The only problem I find now is that MBAM starts automatically at random times. I have been told it happens when it automatically updates.

Offline Simion

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 825
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #26 on: May 22, 2014, 12:42:38 AM »
Quote
I spent a good five minutes looking for a scan log file link in the UI, gave up,
did you click the log/history tab at top right   ;)

essexboy have some screenshots here.    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

Thanks, Pondus. I would have if I could have found it. My scan only alerted on one registry item which I ignored. There was no log-link I could find at that point. If there was a link to History, I would probably not have associated it with scan logs.

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3152
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #27 on: May 22, 2014, 06:10:40 AM »
I found the "threat scan" is more thorough than the old "quick scan".
Yes it is. It's almost a full scan. The Hyper Scan however is much less thorough than Quick was. I was always satisfied with Quick and even the MBAM staff said it was sufficient in most cases. I wish they would have kept it in the free version.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline Callender

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #28 on: June 14, 2014, 09:54:41 PM »
I'm sticking with MBAM v1.75 at the moment. I've tried every new version since 1.75 and none of them haave worked smoothly on my machine. The problem always seems to be that the MBAM driver causes a BSOD during scans. Rather than try to fix the problem I started looking at other similar products and have been impressed with Emsisoft Emergency Kit:

https://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/eek/

I'd suggest trying it as it's free.

Scans are configurable and can be set to exclude files, folders or drives. Can also scan for PUP's.

The only downside is that the update process isn't quite as fast as MBAM's.


Offline TrueIndian

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 434
Re: Malwarebytes 2 - Yes, No or Maybe ???
« Reply #29 on: June 15, 2014, 04:25:51 AM »
MBAM 2 has surely had initial bugs and problems.Over the past weeks their detection rates dropped suddenly.

Luckily a few program updates and the dedication of the developers has fixed everything.Still I think it could have been better program.There is still some issues I have had with it with other AV;s.
Malware Hunter/Tester/Analysis
https://twitter.com/avman1995

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants and murderers, and for a time, they can seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall. Think of it--always.”
― Mahatma Gandhi